Customer Reviews


32 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A convincing and unusual journey
Played the original Silent Hill? Want to play a remake? Don't buy this game. It shares the location, character names and the initial premise that Harry Mason has lost his daughter. Beyond that it bears little resemblance.

This game stands on its own as a genre defying work of art. I would go as far as saying it barely qualifies as a game. This is more like a...
Published on 21 Jun 2010 by Someone

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Boring
Maybe I just don't 'get it' but this is one boring game! Also gave me a headache trying to see things with just a virtual torch!
Published 22 months ago by Miss E L Webster


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A convincing and unusual journey, 21 Jun 2010
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Silent Hill: Shattered Memories (Wii) (Video Game)
Played the original Silent Hill? Want to play a remake? Don't buy this game. It shares the location, character names and the initial premise that Harry Mason has lost his daughter. Beyond that it bears little resemblance.

This game stands on its own as a genre defying work of art. I would go as far as saying it barely qualifies as a game. This is more like a work of interactive fiction. You experience it rather than play it. But it's a worthwhile experience.

The town of Silent Hill has never been better realised. Detail has been lovingly lavished on every corner of every room regardless of whether you are likely to see it. Giving Silent Hill an eerie lived in feel that makes its deserted state all the more disturbing. The detail carries over into the technical aspects. The characters are detailed, animation realistic, lip sync spot on, Harry's breath creates little condensation clouds, his torch casts believable shadows and illuminates individual snowflakes as they fall. Every effort has been made to make this a completely immersive experience. Your disbelief will be suspended. You will believe Silent Hill is a real place and you will wander around in unsettled awe as the story unfolds to the sound of Akira Yamaoka's excellent subdued soundtrack.

The story as it pans is smart and adult oriented with strong sexual themes. I would not call it normal either. There's no gore to speak of but Shattered Memories is heavy in twisted psychology. Some might find it distasteful. If you have a stomach for these things you will find a simple but surprisingly human story that will surprise and move you.

In conclusion. Don't buy this as a game. Buy it if you will as a work of art and as a story that you will want to experience a few times over like you would a might a really good book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Innovative and Scary, 7 Jan 2011
By 
James (Somerset, England) - See all my reviews
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Silent Hill: Shattered Memories (Wii) (Video Game)
This series has always impressed me with the atmosphere it manages to create, taking survival horror to the next level and this title is no exception. The new moves they've pulled out for this one have earned it it's five stars. Here are they key things that bring the world to life and create that all important mood:

1. NO WEAPONS. At first this might serve to put you off as it did me. DON'T LET IT! The fact that the wii remote becomes a flashlight means that you feel more immersed and more conscious of your vulnerability. If you're in to survival horrors THIS IS A GOOD THING!

2. THE CELLPHONE. Make sure you've got your wii remote speaker switched on for this all important mood setter (I didn't for the first hour of the game and thought there was a bug when I couldn't hear anything!). This is quite frankly genius in terms of player immersement in the world. The game turns the remote in your hand into the cellphone meaning you have to put it up to your ear to listen to calls. Amazing! (Plus that classic static that freaked you out from game one now starts coming from right there with you in the real world...CREEPY!)

3. EVOLVING PLOT. I'm on my first fun through, so I don't know how much it shifts, but the franchise has always loved it's multiple endings, so I'm assuming a lot. The clever thing this time is all the decisions come from therepy sessions with a psychologist that occur frequently throughout the game (also immediately making the player question the reality of what is going on and an intriguing psychological element to the proceedings.

Anyway, I've babbled on enough. If you're a fan of Silent Hill or survival horror in general then BUY THIS GAME.

If you scare easy and like unicorns in place of faceless monsters hunting you through a maze of ice, probably best you give it a miss.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very unsettling, 23 Mar 2010
By 
I Like Cheese - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Silent Hill: Shattered Memories (Wii) (Video Game)
Silent Hill: Shattered Memories on the Wii follows our protagonist Harry Mason as he searches the deserted streets of Silent Hill, looking for his daughter, Cheryl, who has disappeared after a car accident. Sound familiar? Well think again - this is not a remake by any means, it is more of a complete reboot or re-imagining of the series, replacing the ash-covered streets with a blizzard-struck ones. The town is cut off from the rest of the world by fifteen foot high snow drifts this time.

The first thing that I thought when starting this game was how good it looked - for a Wii game, I don't think I have seen a game that looks as detailed and sharp as this one. If you look at posters on the walls, objects that are littered about and just the environment all around you, you can really see how much effort has been put into this. It is very atmospheric too, in fact is one of the most atmospheric games I can remember playing. The subtle yet haunting soundtrack by returning Akira Yamaoka adds to this perfectly too.

Next, the controls - the Nintendo Wii Controller (Wii) is mainly used as Harry's torch and also controls where you look. In the Nightmare sections, it is used to shake off the creatures and knock down obstacles to block their path. It is also used as his phone, used to look at the map, save the game, call people, take photos and receive messages. When you receive or make a voice call, the person on the other end of the line can only be heard by putting the Wii Remote up to your ear and hearing them through its speaker, making it feel like you're really on the call. The Nintendo Wii Nunchuk Controller add-on (Wii) is used to walk about and run.

The story is the best thing about this game - as well as the gripping main story, as you explore you'll come across many mini stories telling you some of the tragic tales of the town. This is where it becomes very creepy. You'll need to take photos of the static ghosts that you'll catch a glimpse of in the corner of your eye, or look very closely at certain areas when the radio-static starts crackling on your Wii Remote and then you get a text message or voicemail revealing another part of the story. Some of these (especially the voice calls) are very disturbing and this is where the game hit me as being very scary indeed, (rather than the usual shock-scares that all of the previous games went for), making everything feel even that bit more sinister and unsettling. If you're after cheap frights then you'll likely to be disappointed here.

The Nightmare scenes happen every hour or so, where the whole town turns to ice, as opposed to the usual decaying environment in all the previous games. Here you need to basically just run. You have a goal to get to to escape the Nightmare, where you'll need to dodge and shake off the creatures that chase Harry. There is no combat in the game, which may not be too everyone's taste but I personally thought that it is better than constant combat, like there was in the recent Silent Hill Homecoming (PS3).

In a summary -

PROS:
- Some of the best graphics and presentation I've seen on the Wii so far.
- Very responsive and easy to use controls.
- Extremely creepy and a very unsettling story.
- Breathes fresh new life in the long-running series.
- Multiple endings.
- Makes the most out of all of the Wii's capabilities.

CONS:
- It's a little too short.
- The Nightmare sequences sometimes drag on a bit too long.

I've played all of the games in this series and I personally think that Silent Hill :Shattered Memories is the best since the original Silent Hill Platinum (PS) and Silent Hill 2 (PS2). It is probably the best single player game I've played on the Wii so far and is one that I will definite play through again and again to view the various endings (which I believe are based on the therapy sessions that you get between the game). I highly recommend this to anyone who is a fan of the series, likes survival horror or is just after a very good Wii game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unmissable, 1 Mar 2010
By 
R Boyd (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Silent Hill: Shattered Memories (Wii) (Video Game)
This game has had a mixed reception but for me it is one of the best games in the series and one of the finest adventures available on the Wii.

The nightmare sequences have divided reviewers and players alike but I thought that they captured the feeling of panic and desperation perfectly. Another criticism levelled at the game is the perceived lack of variety of the monsters. To understand the nature of the monsters you have to play it all the way through. For me, being chased was scary, what was chasing me was largely immaterial!

The true emphasis in the game is on story and exploration. You can blast through the game in a matter of hours but by doing so you'll miss the immense amount of detail that has gone into this game. Go into the diner and you can read the menus. See a phone number on a bill board and you can phone it. The town feels like a town rather than a collection of locked doors. If a character offers to drive you somewhere then you actually get in the car with them and they'll talk to you. It adds to that immersive sense that you wouldn't get if it was done as a simple cutscene and then cut to location.

The game is short by modern standards but I think people are missing the point. The game length is just right to tell the story. Any more would be padding and detract from the atmosphere of the game.

What makes the game is the replay value. Contrary to what some reviewers have said your choices do matter. Your answers to the tests, how you interact with characters and even what you look at and who you phone will have an impact on your game and ending. You can only really appreciate this on a second playthrough. I've met different characters and faced different puzzles. Harry's reactions have changed and even the messages I receive have changed in character and tone.

Highly recommended for fans of atmospheric games. It's more a psychological thriller than a standard horror game. It's unsettling rather than scary but it will get under your skin far more than any set of cheap scares could.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Boring, 1 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Silent Hill: Shattered Memories (Wii) (Video Game)
Maybe I just don't 'get it' but this is one boring game! Also gave me a headache trying to see things with just a virtual torch!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Twisted & Terrifying, 14 Feb 2011
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Silent Hill: Shattered Memories (Wii) (Video Game)
For me, I am a big fan of horror based games, but I found it difficult finding very good horror games for the Wii, either because it lacks the atmosphere that the higher consoles can control or the graphics are just too appalling, but I was extremely surprised and very happy with this game.

Firstly, it is quite scary - not in a gory, grotesque way. But in a hair raising, spine chilling and downright creepy way. If it doesn't make you feel very very on edge then I commend your braveness, it is incredibly twisted and weird. And with the echoing background music and sometimes only your torch as a light you'll get the feeling of severe isolation.

Not only that, but the storyline is incredibly muddled and complicated, continuingly making you question yourself, and it makes you think. Along with fighting the nightmares, Harry's past and trying to find Cheryl, you will also come across some strange puzzles that you need to decipher.

The nightmares: yes, there is no combat - but I DO like this in a game. It's different and makes you think for defense, not attack. But the throwing controls to try and get the monsters off you are difficult, but I find it more realistic.

And when it says psychological, it really is. When I reached the end and it analysised me, it was amazing how it got my personality completely perfect, beware if those things scare you.

Yes, I do find it too short, but I find that is really the only downside.

Really, it is an amazing game that will terrify you over and over. I highly reccommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent., 12 May 2010
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Silent Hill: Shattered Memories (Wii) (Video Game)
Having waited impatiently for this to be released, I wasn't disappointed when I got it. Essentially, this is more an 'experience' than a game (I think, anyway), which is what appealed to me about it.

You control Harry Mason through the desolate streets of Silent Hill and through the nightmare realities that hinder his journey. I won't go on too much about the story as you can find that anywhere.

If you just like games where you shoot things all the time then don't waste your money; this is not for you. This is a psychological experience where you need to be prepared to immerse yourself in the story, the same as you would if you read a book or got really into a film. If you do this you will find yourself feeling part of what happens in the game and part of the mystery, trauma and wretchedness that appears to be Harry's life in Silent Hill.

As you will be aware, the game's characters change clothes and personalities based on the decisions you make during the game. This gives the game playability long after you have completed it. You interact far more with the environment in this game than in any other I've played, for example, through dialling phone numbers on Harry's phone and listening to them on the Wii remote like its a phone.

Don't be tempted to download walkthrough videos as this will ruin the storyline for you. You also need to pay attention to the messages that Harry receives; unlike other games where you don't need to bother reading notes and messages. If you read them you will understand the story more.

This is quite eerie when you get into it so would highly recommend for dark nights....!

I would agree with another reviewer that the only criticism would be that the nightmare sequences do drag on some times, but this is my only criticism. Graphics are top notch for the Wii.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's been a very bad few days for Harry Mason, 29 May 2010
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Silent Hill: Shattered Memories (Wii) (Video Game)
I am an die-hard fan of the Silent Hill franchise. I loved the original series, even number 4 had its merits, but as of late the quality has gone down hill. The most recent additions, from origins onwards, have not been terrible but they were no where near the nightmarish perfection of the likes of Silent Hill 2. It was because of this i went into SH:SM with a degree of apprehension. I must say that I am really happy to admit I have been pleasantly surprised.
The total removal of combat has been criticized but I think that having no combat actually works quite well. It makes the fear of the monsters more intense since all you can do is run. The best idea of SM is the psychoanalysis of the player. It gives the game replay value and allows for a different experience for players, even if only slight like the colour of a character's shirt. The graphics are great but my only complaint is that they are a bit to 'clean', the originals had a feeling of dirt and grime that this lacks.
As you most likely know SM is a re-imagining of the first game in which Harry Mason looses his young daughter and begins to search the haunting town of Silent Hill. This game is so much more like the original series with the emphasis on atmosphere rather than combat, and what an atmosphere, so classically Silent Hill. The most bizarre thing about this game that I still can't get my head around is that it is on the Wii. I had almost given up on the Wii ever getting any serious adult games, that did not have their tongues firmly in their cheeks, but the latest addition to the Silent Hill franchise has begun to convert me to the idea of the Wii as an actual console.
This is a great installment, not the best but still better than the other more recent installments.
So but it, try it and welcome back to Silent Hill.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great game!, 22 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Silent Hill: Shattered Memories (Wii) (Video Game)
If you like the resident evil type genre of game then you will love this one! Only downside is that it doesn't take long to complete game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars its very creepy and atmospheric., 27 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Silent Hill: Shattered Memories (Wii) (Video Game)
its got good graphics it has a atmospheric story line i recommend it to phychological horror game fans good and scary.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Silent Hill: Shattered Memories (Wii)
Silent Hill: Shattered Memories (Wii) by Konami (Nintendo Wii)
Used & New from: 19.98
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews