Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


27 of 28 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not perfect, but still the best football game on the PC. 5 Stars pending community patches
Konami are trying, I'll give them that. The company acknowledged that 2008/09 were both sub-par for the series and attempted to rectify some of their past mistakes. I'll try to mention Fifa as little as possible in this review, as its PC version is so poor that it doesn't merit consideration.

Good:

The game has an immediacy of control that is lacking...
Published on 23 Oct 2009 by Amazon Customer

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars OK,but not as good as I was expecting.
Game play is good, very dissapointed with the atmosphere and the general polish of the game. both the crowd moise and the commentry is annoying. Not being able to play with your favorite team, although it may seem to be a small issue, really does detract from the game in general. After paying full price for a game I do not want to mess around with patches for teams and so...
Published on 11 Mar 2010 by black country schmand


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

27 of 28 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not perfect, but still the best football game on the PC. 5 Stars pending community patches, 23 Oct 2009
By 
Amazon Customer (Aberdeen, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pro Evolution Soccer 2010 (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
Konami are trying, I'll give them that. The company acknowledged that 2008/09 were both sub-par for the series and attempted to rectify some of their past mistakes. I'll try to mention Fifa as little as possible in this review, as its PC version is so poor that it doesn't merit consideration.

Good:

The game has an immediacy of control that is lacking in other football games. The players feel solid and responsive to button presses.

The ball physics are weighty and crisp. The passing may not have the subtle nuances that a more sophisticated system can produce, but it is compelling in its snappiness.

Player likenesses are unmatched. For some reason, they just have a great deal of character. Whether this is via the animation styles or simply the accuracy of the stats they are given, I don't know. What I do know is that it is easy to tell who a player is by his movement. Players do not become "units" when viewed from a long camera angle.

The Master League is the most compelling and damnably addictive singleplayer experience around. Want a league with the top clubs from all around the world? Easy. You can transform a team of unknowns (in this edition, I think the lucky club will be Aberdeen!) with first touches like rubber jackhammers and shooting accuracy worthy of the stormtrooper academy into a squad of cultured football aesthetes via the RPG-like player development and canny transfers. Granted, it isn't realistic, but there isn't a football campaign with more depth and fun.

There are some interesting additions to the Master League this year: real money, youth academies, board expectations, sponsorship, coaching. These all have an impact on the way the league is played, though the core of the experience remains familiar.

Mediocre things about PES:

Licensing - this is in the mediocre section because community made option files will be released in coming months to correctly label every player and team within the game. It will be a non-issue by January, I expect. Still, the game comes largely unlicensed as it ships, and this may upset some people.

Konami added a lot of licensed music that I either dislike or am apathetic towards. I judge this to be a matter of taste, so this point is entirely subjective.

Bad:

It remains obvious that the game is built on an animation engine created before the Iraq War began. Konami always promise to deliver an all new engine, and again they fail. The "next gen" consoles are no longer cutting edge tech, yet PES doesn't exploit their horsepower. Gorgeous textures will never hide the crudeness of the player movements. It is even worse when one considers how much faster a decent PC is than the consoles.

The commentary is the same.
Goalkeeper AI is still an outrage.

System requirements and my PC:

It runs at a good clip on my old, but still serviceable PC:
4200 AM2 X2 @ 2.8ghz
2gb RAM
HD4850 with 512 RAM
Windows XP

I had an opportunity to try the demo on a PC with integrated graphics and it still ran smoothly, so the final version should run fine on systems with integrated graphics like the 780G mobos.

Overall: This is the football game to get if you are a PC gamer. The story might be different on consoles, but I can't comment on that. This is a solid offering from Konami, much improved from the previous version, yet it isn't the return of the King, not quite yet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars On PC, Pro Evolution Soccer is still the game to beat, 27 Oct 2009
By 
tws45 (W Yorks, UK) - See all my reviews
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pro Evolution Soccer 2010 (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
I can't comment on how PES 2010 compares to 2008 or 2009 because the last football game I bought was PES6, but it is certainly an advance over PES6 (and the demo that Konami released last month, which suffered from most of the same glitches). First of all, the difficulty settings are more balanced. In earlier PES games I always found there to be a massive gap between Amateur and Regular (2 and 3 stars), with teleporting defenders being a regular issue at 3-5 stars, but in PES 2010 the increase in difficulty is pretty uniform between the categories. On the other hand, the higher difficulties are easier than their earlier PES counterparts- so maybe the more "seasoned" PES players may find matches against the computer too easy.

The graphics are vastly improved, and the presentation is also much better, if not quite up to FIFA levels. There is also a better sense of being in control than in earlier PES games. Gone are the teleporting defenders and the magical barriers that used to surround the goalkeeper and throw-in takers. The range of football moves has increased, and the greater control over penalties is a very welcome step- in earlier PES games it was near-impossible to miss a penalty, whereas here, you need to show some element of skill to execute a penalty effectively. Crowd noises are realistic, if a little muted.

The edit mode is more user-friendly than in PES6 and also includes the option to import player faces and emblems from your hard drive. There is also a wider range of tactical options that players can explore in tailoring teams to their needs.

The main downsides, preventing the product from getting 5 stars, are the poor commentary (nowhere near as good as the FIFA commentary) and the fact that the product doesn't contain many official licenses (and therefore real team names, kits and badges) out of the box. But in a couple of months' time there will no doubt be plenty of fan releases to address the latter problem. Regarding DRM, PES 2010 requires Games for Windows to play online, but no online activation is required to install or to play offline, so nothing unreasonable there. The only potential problem is the usual DVD copy protection which might cause issues on some PCs.

Many reviewers say FIFA Soccer 10 is the best football game on the market- and on the XBox and Playstation that may well be true. But not on PC.

EDIT: After two months of owning the game, I found that while the Community Mode has some improvements over the "Konami Cup" of earlier incarnations of PES, it also removes the customisability regarding players vs CPU control:
* In previous versions, when a user team was pitted against a CPU team, it allowed a second player to play as the CPU team. PES 2010 does not.
* In previous versions, it was possible for a player to play as multiple teams and when they were pitted against each other, you could play as one team and have the CPU play as the other. PES 2010 doesn't let you do this, demanding that you must have 2 controllers (and they must be gamepad controllers- it doesn't let you use the keyboard as a second controller).
If this is an issue for you (as it was for me) then it may be worth skipping this version of PES, though I still think the product overall is still worth four stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars its a good game better then fifa10, 6 Feb 2010
By 
P. chhetri "pravin" (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Pro Evolution Soccer 2010 (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
i love this game...its really a good game and i enjoyed a lot...it hasnt got a original kit but i downloaded it and had got a original kit for english premiere league and has made really a lot intresting for me....thanx pes i hope that u gone give more in coming future......last wanna say that pes10 is 100 percent better than fifa10 in pc...so buy pes10.xx
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars OK,but not as good as I was expecting., 11 Mar 2010
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Pro Evolution Soccer 2010 (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
Game play is good, very dissapointed with the atmosphere and the general polish of the game. both the crowd moise and the commentry is annoying. Not being able to play with your favorite team, although it may seem to be a small issue, really does detract from the game in general. After paying full price for a game I do not want to mess around with patches for teams and so on, although if someone could point me to a full teams and cups etc patch that would improve the game tremendously

So, for a game of footy on your PC this is a good one to get. I prefere FIFA10 however because it is just more polished.

Each to there own.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars PES 2010, 29 Dec 2009
By 
W. Bennett (england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Pro Evolution Soccer 2010 (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
I have bought this game but was unsure because a previous version wouldn't work on my PC, however this works fine. This game looks and plays fantastic, fluid controls, beautiful graphics and a degree of satisfaction with every goal you score. If you have set it to the correct level then each match will be a challenge, just like football is supposed to be. Only down side is having to do lots of editing (teams and kits), commentry is ok much like it is with other games. When I play fifa games they look good but I always get bored, pick up the ball and run through and score, PES 2010 requires you to play football and pass, sometimes to even go backwards to go forwards. Brilliant game, cant comment on Master League as I have never played it, if want football management I play Football Manager makes sense to me. If you are unsure find a mate who has a copy go round his house, try it out... you'll be hooked.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Don't judge the game on the Demo!!, 1 Nov 2009
By 
Matthew Blakemore "matt" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Pro Evolution Soccer 2010 (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
Don't decide not to buy this game after to playing the demo. The other guy who reviewed saying the demo was an old code of the game was right. The full game with the final version is much more improved when it comes to animation and a smoother more realistic football game. The graphics are brilliant playing at 1920x1080 you couldn't ask for more realistic faces and hair compared to FIFA console it destroys it in that department. Konami have almost nailed it, Its the best Pro Evolution game yet but does need work on the players animation. The players almost feel like bricks they need to loosen up a little bit stop making them fell like robots. And the commentary tho improved still not very good and the crowd are just awful.

Konami are on the right track to fight back at FIFA (console) if they fix those little things i mentioned they will be a serious contender. Definitely worth a buy for any football fan or just a Fan of Pro Evolution.

Graphics 5/5
Gameplay 5/5
Sound 2/5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Game, good improvements, 27 Oct 2009
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pro Evolution Soccer 2010 (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
I just got the game yesterday and I am addicted already. The game play has improved from the previous one.
If you played the demo, the full version is different, BETTER. To be honest I wasn't impressed with the demo
the game play wasn't very good, but the full version is much better. They improved the game play by offering
more options to control your team and players.

The game graphics have obviously improved, it does require a decent computer to run this game smoothly.
I have a gaming PC with A Quad Core Processor, 8GB of RAM and a 896MB NVidia Graphics Card and I think
I can say it works perfectly... You can download the demo and give it a try first, if you are not
too sure if your PC is powerful enough.

Enjoy PES 2010!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars What the Hell have they done to my beloved game?!, 28 Nov 2009
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Pro Evolution Soccer 2010 (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
...If I wanted the PC game to look like a PS version or an XBox360 version then I'd've bought either version for said gaming console, but I prefer to play my games on the PC. I really liked the way pes2009 handled itself for the PC and how it looked as well, and so having played it for nigh-on a year each and every day, I was really looking forward to 2010, especally when I read and saw the enhancements made from the previous release, but instead I was to be hugely disappointed.

For instance: I really enjoyed the Wide Vertical view/Ball in 2009 in Become a Legend, especially at corners, but the view you get in 2010 is, for me, a joke in comparison. In 2009 you got a slightly elevated view of the game, so you could see a lot more of what's going on around your player. You also got a great view at corners (you knew which was your player without having to rely on the arrow above his head) so you had a chance to run in and head the ball in the goal and so on.

However, the same view in 2010 has been dropped so you get an almost tunnel visioned view of the play around your player - and the view when lining up for a corner really is a joke to be honest. I only knew where my player was because of the arrow above his head, and how I'm supposed to control him from that point on so I get a chance at a header is beyond me to be honest.

I also agree with the other 2 star reviewer in that the response to a command from my gamepad (Xbox 360 for Windows) seems far more stickier than for the 2009, which, to be honest, I also found in Fifa10 the Xbox version.

Yes, the faces are more life-like in 2010 than in 2009, but the looks of the kits and the grounds seems to have been sacrificed in order to achieve such a thing. Also the special effects are practically non-existent now, as in, I can vaguely hear them.

It has to be said that I'm not much of a gamer, so I look for enjoyment rather than honing tricks and skills and so on during a game of football. (Besides how many players in real-life do tricks twenty-four-seven during a game?) So, all in all, I have to say that sadly, because of Konami's competition with EA Fifa, they have now ruined a really enjoyable game for me.

Having said all that though, I shan't be doing anything like switching to Fifa. I've played that on the Xbox and dislike it for the exact same reasons I dislike this latest version of Pes2010.

I gave five stars for Fun because playing a game of Footie is fun, but 2 stars ovrall because I really dislike this version of PES.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars better than newer versions, 27 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pro Evolution Soccer 2010 (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
This game is no good on the computer. You cant use any hand controls to operate your movements. You have to use the keyboard.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good, not great, 4 Sep 2011
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Pro Evolution Soccer 2010 (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
Pes 2010 is a good game, full stop. It has a good feel to movement while your playing and players react exactly to your commands. Although that said, it aint great. The lack of license's are annoying, and players take a five minute break sometimes after bumping into another player on the pitch. The levels of difficulty go from easy peasy to crazy hard in one leap, but stick with it and you'll get the hang of it. It has a better international experience that FIFA, but without the correct titles. ie the world cup is named the international cup, small rant i know but its still a flaw. I've played Pes 2011 and i think this one is the better buy, and its a lot cheaper at the moment, so if your looking for a good soccer game that aint gonna break the bank this will fill the hole.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Pro Evolution Soccer 2010 (PC DVD)
Pro Evolution Soccer 2010 (PC DVD) by Konami (Windows Vista / XP)
Used & New from: 3.39
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews