Customer Reviews


134 Reviews
5 star:
 (53)
4 star:
 (29)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:
 (17)
1 star:
 (24)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


52 of 53 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Easy to use and reliable
Very reliable, it'll keep its timer settings if you move it round to another socket in the house, or through a powercut. The big on/off/auto button is handy if you want to override it, some of these types of timers' buttons are so fiddley but this one is good. Its simple to set, I lost the instructions but its still easy and obvious to programme. Invaluable for Christmas...
Published on 9 Jan 2011 by Fluzy

versus
45 of 46 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars BE WARNED!
These are NOT Timeguard TG77 timers, but cheap, unreliable imitations. I'm pleased that the photo has now been changed to represent the product you'll received - compare this with the Timeguard website and you'll see the difference. Still a slimline electronic timer, but you get what you pay for. I have 2 of thes, and within a month of use they were not working correctly...
Published on 20 May 2012 by JamesB


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

52 of 53 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Easy to use and reliable, 9 Jan 2011
This review is from: Timeguard TG77 Day Compact Electronic Timeswitch (DIY & Tools)
Very reliable, it'll keep its timer settings if you move it round to another socket in the house, or through a powercut. The big on/off/auto button is handy if you want to override it, some of these types of timers' buttons are so fiddley but this one is good. Its simple to set, I lost the instructions but its still easy and obvious to programme. Invaluable for Christmas tree lights, saves bending down to turn them on and off every day. It so useful that I'm buying an extra one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


45 of 46 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars BE WARNED!, 20 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Timeguard TG77 Day Compact Electronic Timeswitch (DIY & Tools)
These are NOT Timeguard TG77 timers, but cheap, unreliable imitations. I'm pleased that the photo has now been changed to represent the product you'll received - compare this with the Timeguard website and you'll see the difference. Still a slimline electronic timer, but you get what you pay for. I have 2 of thes, and within a month of use they were not working correctly - not switching off or not switching on or wiping the clock & timer programmes. I'm sure that there are laws of misrepresentation being broken here, but for a tier you an trust, stick with the GENUINE Tieguard timers
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Fine, but not the described product., 15 Dec 2012
By 
Gareth Waterman "GW" (Kent, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Timeguard TG77 Day Compact Electronic Timeswitch (DIY & Tools)
This isn't the Timeguard TG77. You'll receive a sub-standard product which has ten programs (rather than twenty) and only On/Off/Auto (as opposed to these plus Auto On and Auto Off which the Timeguard does). It's a perfectly decent timer plug and is the one pictured, but it's not the (superior) Timeguard model in the title.

Added Jan 2013: I have tried to return this product. The supplier has ignored me. Does't bode well when they sell you a product different from (and inferior to) the one described and then won't allow you to return it. My personal opinion is that you should avoid both this product and GVC digital.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Totally switched on, 2 Dec 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Timeguard TG77 Day Compact Electronic Timeswitch (DIY & Tools)
Having used these TG77 electronic time-switches to control oil filled radiators in my previous London flat for several years, I can vouch for their reliability and easy programming. I also received them from the supplier within two days of ordering, which is excellent service. I re-familiarized myself with the programming procedure quite easily and programmed the two time-switches I received in 10 minutes. Providing that you remember to press 'SET' with each programming option as described in the instructions, there should be no problem.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Waste of money, 11 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Timeguard TG77 Day Compact Electronic Timeswitch (DIY & Tools)
This product is a total waste of money. My star rating has nothing to do with the supplier they were very helpful with the problems.
The timers loses the programs that were set, also the 24 hour clock crashed. I sent a timer back and got full credit. My wife then went out and bought 2 timers from a shop that happened to be the same timers, and the same problems happened they are just a bad product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Time Out, 30 Sep 2011
This review is from: Timeguard TG77 Day Compact Electronic Timeswitch (DIY & Tools)
Nice concept. Simple operation. But .... if the time clock keeps resetting every 3 or 4 days then its a waste of space ....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good timer for the price, 12 May 2011
By 
C. Mcnabb (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Timeguard TG77 Day Compact Electronic Timeswitch (DIY & Tools)
Fast delivery,
Resonable price,
Reliable,
Easy to set up,
Easy to edit,
Compact size,
What more can I say.
Will most likely purchase again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Be carefull you may not get what you order., 22 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Timeguard TG77 Day Compact Electronic Timeswitch (DIY & Tools)
I don't like when people write "reviews" and then talk about the delivery etc but in this case I'm going to and also about the product.

As this product was not sold by Amazon(at the time of me buying), it seems to be pot luck with what you will receive.

I thought I would buy from Maplin as a 3rd party Amazon seller, as it is a well known store, it costs more from them so I was thinking I would get the real Timegaurd Timer, as some people say they are getting fake Timegaurd Timers from some of the other (cheaper)3rd party sellers, well good on Maplin it was a real Timer but just not a Timegaurd one, it's a totally different make, I checked on the Maplin site and they don't sell this timer, so unless they stock them just for Amazon, and have sent me the wrong one, maybe? but I doubt it.

So now I have to mess about with "asking" them for a return number, waiting for that, then printing the address label, then waiting again for the correct timer to be sent but I'm guessing they don't even stock it, so I'm ordering elsewhere, found one on John Lewis, a bit more money with postage but it's sure to be the real thing!

Edit, Received the timer from John Lewis and it's great, even has a quick change time function for British summer time,looks well made, setting is fairly straight forward, I did find that if you make a mistake when setting either the on or off time, eg setting 8pm instead of 9pm and just correcting that part instead of going back and setting the date and both on and off times again, during the setting mode, it tended not to work, to get round this I would just start from the beginning again instead of part way through the setting process.
Also if you were to pull the plug/timer out it tended to throw the timer off it's game, so it would not go on or off when it should, until the next days scheduled time, took me awhile to understand how to correct this, there is a button on the timer, press this and a very small "auto on" or "auto off" will show on the display, so if you pull the plug/timer out and the timer should be off, just check the "auto off" is showing on the display and not just "off", if it isn't, just press the big button to scroll through the on/off/auto options(with the pointing finger) I guess this maybe why some reviews say the timer doesn't work...oh and it also has a override button, so if you want to turn the appliance on when the timer is telling it to be off or off when the timer is telling the appliance to be on, just press this button (again the big buttom with the pointing finger)but remember to check the correct "auto on" if meant to be on or "auto off" if the appliance is meant to be off, is selected on the display when you have finished, or again the timer tends to not work correctly until the next scheduled setting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Be very careful..., 17 Dec 2011
By 
Orrery (Bedford, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Timeguard TG77 Day Compact Electronic Timeswitch (DIY & Tools)
Check the product against the Timeguard website - I was sent products that clearly weren't by Timeguard.
Timeguard are a very reputable manufacturer and it would be a shame if the products being sold weren't genuine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Poor quality. Not user friendly, 19 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Timeguard TG77 Day Compact Electronic Timeswitch (DIY & Tools)
The lcd screen has worked for 10 minutes and then broke, very poor quality. Also i tried to program it and the instructions are poor. very difficult to use,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews