Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great ZZ on TOP!
Wow, finally, after 29 years of waiting we got here the legendary Rockpalast concert of ZZ Top on a great dvd. Image is OK. Sound is fantastic. Superb dolby digital stereo and DTS surround mixes are included. If you like the old ZZ Top sound, get this dvd! ZZ Top never played better than on this night. All the great old songs are passing by: Waitin For The Bus, Jesus Just...
Published on 19 Oct 2009 by L. Ketzer

versus
18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars ZZ TOP - A disc of two halves - part trasure, part fool's gold.
Disc 1 is a 1980 Rockpalast show, dating from just before they discovered those naughty synthesisers and almost cartoon-image videos that made ZZ Top into a commercial monster. The first disc alone is superb and is well worth the price of admission. It has a whopping 22 songs and is arguably illustrative of the band at their live peak.

Disc 2 by comparison is...
Published on 28 Nov 2009 by 12stringbassist


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars ZZ TOP - A disc of two halves - part trasure, part fool's gold., 28 Nov 2009
By 
12stringbassist "....." (NorthWest, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Double Down Live [DVD] [2009] [NTSC] (DVD)
Disc 1 is a 1980 Rockpalast show, dating from just before they discovered those naughty synthesisers and almost cartoon-image videos that made ZZ Top into a commercial monster. The first disc alone is superb and is well worth the price of admission. It has a whopping 22 songs and is arguably illustrative of the band at their live peak.

Disc 2 by comparison is surprisingly poor. It has a meagre 11 songs - still played with immense spirit and enthusiasm - ZZ Top admittedly do a faultless show - but.... the 11 songs are just about all interrupted or ruined by additional footage and interviews, split screens with images of roadies messing with stage lights. Why? If we buy a ZZ TOP DVD, then it surely naturally follows that want to watch ZZ TOP...... not a roadies cabaret, the view of clouds from an aeroplane window, or even the deepest thoughts of the admittedly marvelous Billy Gibbons.

The 'Live In Texas' DVD that is also available covers the latter period of their career admirably with a fairly recent and truly beautifully filmed show. I advise you to buy both this set and the 'Live In Texas' DVD and when you have them, just skip the second disc of this set, as the constant interruptions are really irritating.

Interviews are meant to be extras, not placed between songs in the main feature. When will they ever learn?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great ZZ on TOP!, 19 Oct 2009
By 
L. Ketzer (Ottenstein, Germany) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Double Down Live [DVD] [2009] [NTSC] (DVD)
Wow, finally, after 29 years of waiting we got here the legendary Rockpalast concert of ZZ Top on a great dvd. Image is OK. Sound is fantastic. Superb dolby digital stereo and DTS surround mixes are included. If you like the old ZZ Top sound, get this dvd! ZZ Top never played better than on this night. All the great old songs are passing by: Waitin For The Bus, Jesus Just Left Chicago, Precious And Grace, Heard It On The X, Nasty Dogs And Funky Kings, Beer Drinkers And Hell Raisers, La Grange, Tush, Just Got Paid and many more! Disc 2 has a interesting view on the 2008 tour but disc 1, the Rockpalast concert is the one to get!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb!, 24 Oct 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Double Down Live [DVD] [2009] [NTSC] (DVD)
The way this video is made is just perfect. The first dvd is from their brilliant gig for German TV in 1980 so the picture quality isn't perfect ut you won't notice. The sound is loud raw and brilliant! Billy hops about the stage and they really put on a greaty show with a maximum attack style of playing many classics. It's an unpolished way about things that ends up being great. Every song is done in a classic way on this first dvd.

The second DVD has a good on the road feel to it. It was done with just one camera so the sound from one performence from 08 is heard of the images from many (particularly like the compilation of security having to pull fans out of the crowd during La Grange) different gigs throughout the 08 double down tour. One thing worth noticing is that Billy has grown alot as a guitarist between the two. Although being more polished isn't necasserily better he can do great things effortlessly(notice his one handed guitar solo in I need you tonight)! The shots of stages being built, planes taking off and little interview snippets make it like a ZZ Top movie about the joy of performing. Although the first DVD's the gem in this thing, the second one shows beyond any doubt that they still love what they do. enjoy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars 33 great ZZ Top Tracks, 24 Dec 2009
This review is from: Double Down Live [DVD] [2009] [NTSC] (DVD)
The Definitely Then disc from 1980 is as a few reviews have said, was shot for television, it loses nothing for this, but like the Wanted DVD is limited to a few angles. But this aside, it was shot in the 80's when you see the size of the video camera then its easy to see why the angles were limited. But with music the sound is so important and its spot on here, the right mix of voice, guitar, bass and drums. And has that genuine live feel, like being there. I never got the chance to see the Top in this period I was only 5, its amazing how much BG moves around the stage, leaps, jumps, bounces all sorts are there and when the time comes the special timed moves between BG and DH are locked in so tight its amazing. About 9 of the 18 tracks are from the Deguello album and sound great live, the only one missing is Ester, would have been nice to hear that live.
Almost Now disc, is a combination of interviews between the songs, songs that have live and getting there, touring and backsatage footage, but that aside is still great, La Grange is amazing on this disc.

I also got the Eliminator special CD/DVD at the same time as the Double Down dvd, its has four amazing live smoking tracks from tv, even on a small stage they tear it up. Got me under pressure, gimme all your lovin, sharp dressed man, tube snake boogie, this is also essential top viewing for the top fans.

I just wonder why it took them so long to release a dvd.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ZZTOP DOUBLE DOWN LIVE, 10 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Double Down Live [DVD] [2009] [NTSC] (DVD)
Great DOUBLE DVD that let you get to know the styles of ZZ Top from the '80s to 2008, how they changed through the years, but it's ALL kicking ass rock-blues from Texas, great buy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars love it, 26 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Double Down Live [DVD] [2009] [NTSC] (DVD)
we enjoy this sort of music as it makes a nice change to what you hear on the radio.
they and just different
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars JUST AS GREAT NOW AS THEN - THE FANTASTIC ZZ TOP, 22 Nov 2009
By 
This review is from: Double Down Live [DVD] [2009] [NTSC] (DVD)
ZZ TOP are just a once in a lifetime band that are so good you would be a fool to miss their brilliant brand of blues rock, and in leader Billy Gibbons a pure genius with immense firepower, both discs are great, but having seen them live twice this year, and being in their age group I prefer them now. I hope they go on forever!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 19 Jan 2010
This review is from: Double Down Live [DVD] [2009] [NTSC] (DVD)
i bought this dvd for my mother for xmas, i decided to watch it before wrapping and i must say it was fantastic, i've always been a zztop fan, this is well recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars What Can you say?, 14 Jan 2010
This review is from: Double Down Live [DVD] [2009] [NTSC] (DVD)
Lets be clear I am not a ZZ Top fan.
I like the sounds and numbers that bands or musicians make.
Just Got Paid played by Joe Bonamassa took me to ZZ Top.
Gov't Mule also played it and some of Warren Haynes numbers
are very Billy Gibbons in the riffs he chooses.
However when you play "Just Got Paid" by ZZ Top at the Rockpalast in 1980
you appreciate the nerve of the other guys who cover it.
If you want to see how its done by the originators watch these DVD's.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars MaRZIPan, 1 Feb 2010
By 
John Banks (Speke) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Double Down Live [DVD] [2009] [NTSC] (DVD)
The Rockpalast gig is stuff of legend, and rightly so

The other gig was shot by a 3-year-old hyperactive child

Probably the last truly great band in The World to be unrepresented by any decent live product
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Double Down Live [DVD] [2009] [NTSC]
£13.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews