Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars495
4.8 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 25 December 2013
In a complicated world, we can all learn a few things from Forrest Gump! I feel privileged to have watched this film and it made me realise where I have been going wrong in life! There comes a time in a man's life when he needs to take stock of what he has achieved, loved, lost and really focused on what is important in life.

The story of Forrest really puts life into perspective and in this overly, noisy complicated world; we can all take a leaf out of this amazing film. Hanks, who superbly plays Gump, leaves amazing clues on how to be successful in life, even for those of us who are fortunate enough to have an IQ above 75 - Learn to love everyone unconditionally, focus on what you are good at and focus on one aspect of success at a time, i.e. if you are good at running, give all your energy to running and becoming the best in that particular field.

Don't be a dork like me and neglect this film like I have for several years... no matter how down you are at this moment or even if life is treating you well, I believe that Gump will make you see life from a different angle all together. Peace, love and happiness for 2015.
11 comment|18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
'Forest' is a simple soul seeing the world through rose coloured glasses
so to speak.
Growing up he only had one true friend 'Jenny'(Robin Wright)young -
(Hanna Hall)
with the exception of that one friend he was regarded as different.
Little changed in this respect during adulthood.....but...this is Forest's
story as told to complete strangers who seemed to listen.
A stunning performance from 'Tom Hanks' star of many great movies such as
'The Green Mile'- 'Saving Private Ryan'- 'Castaway' and 'Big' to name just
a few of his on-screen achievements .
This film in which 'Tom Hanks' won an Oscar is simply 'a beautiful film'
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 April 2013
Forrest gump arguably one of the greatest movies of all time, so this alone I gave it 5 stars. Also in terms of the picture quality, film looks like it was only made yesterday! Stunning re-mastering of the film with great audio aswell. Honestly cant have any negatives with Gump on Blu-ray. Certainly recommend!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 April 2013
Just about everybody knows this film. And they should, because its one of those that always pops into your mind now and again.

Tom Hanks plays Forrest to perfection, being very fitting for the character. This film is genuinely funny as well as the story being told really well, with a bit of everything in it. It pulls on your heart strings in a variety of ways. Gump himself made an impact on lots of people, he is inspiring and shows how people with slight disadvantages can always find a place in our hearts.

A really good film, I recommend it to anyone who wants a good laugh and a moving story.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 May 2016
When you think about Forrest Gump the first thing that springs to your mind is the iconic box of chocolates line that Forrest is told by his mother. This shows straight away that it is a memorable film because of the iconic story line following this simplistic man through the history of our modern world. Although the film may recieve criticism because it somehow beat Shawshank Redemption to the 1995 Oscar (I think) do not believe all the storys they may tell you as a result about this film. Much like Shawshank this is a film which captivates the hearts of audiences and makes us think about all aspects of our lives. However it is a film which can be watched over and over again and you'll still get the same enjoyment out of watching it as you did the first time round. It is advised that if you do not like films containing flashbacks and ones that jump around in time a lot this probably isn't the film for view as although it does follow some order it can be interpreted as very jumpy at times.

Now to the product. The disc itself is of course round in shape as it should be and there are an acceptable amount of bonus features on it which are a good watch. The synopsis on the back is descriptive yet brief so it does not ruin the film for you and contains a lot more information about the presentation of the film as well (sound settings, languages, etc).

So overall i give this item 5 stars because it's a film that can be watched for genereations to come and suits all audiences (although i would pay attention to the certificate it has been given!!). Hope that you can enjoy this film as much as I do. J
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 May 2013
Tom Hanks performs wonders in this film. As a simple minded fellow from the deep south, USA who is called up for military service. His growing up years were spent wearing leg irons to support his very weak legs. He is constantly bullied and his only real friend is a girl called Jenny. The exploits that Forrest gets into are hilarious. When he is demobbed, he gets to meet the President and starts an enterprise as a shrimp boat captain. The tender hearted viewer will often shed tears of both joy and sadness during this quite fantastic film. 5***** and Highly recommended.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 November 2013
A film which is great for everyone! This is a film that makes you feel good and smile, Tom Hanks portrays Forrest perfectly as his performance is real and believeable. You are left remembering some very funny quotes and moments that do make you chuckle even after watching it. Everyone should watch Forrest Gump as we can all take something from it whether it is his positivity or his defiance to beat the odds. You will be left smiling I promise.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 April 2015
The mixed messages pleased and undermined people in equal measure: was the exploration of different cultures and values a faddish, bad thing? Was staying at home as the local idiot-savant the way forward? Forrest Gump seemed to value the latter, while the female antagonist spiralled into a world of drugs and AIDS.

Definite points for making people think... and George W. Bush did make it to the Whitehouse.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 December 2012
Fantastic story - but a long one.
Had this on VHS so thought id buy it on DVD.
The storyline touches you on every level - at times its weepy, others your sitting on the edge of your seat willing him to get away.
the ups and downs of Forrest Gump will have you entralled at the twist and turn as his life unfolds.
A good flim for those sunday afternoons or when your not doing anything.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 August 2013
Wonderful film a classic .... Teaches us a lot about humanity and makes one feel quite humble ... Tom Hanks amazing as usual
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)