Customer Reviews


103 Reviews
5 star:
 (89)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


61 of 63 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An animated series that maintains a high quality over 3 films
These films provide three highly entertaining animated comedies for both young and old.

The first film is an unexpected delight. Several mismatched animals from the Palaeolithic age of a mammoth, a sloth and a sabre-toothed tiger end up travelling together when they come across an abandoned human child. The comedy never lets up and the film manages to avoid...
Published on 12 Oct 2009 by Blackhorse47

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars great film for kids but digital downloads all invalid
Only played dvds once before and until my grandson wanted to watch it this week then realized your meant to be able to download digital copies of all 3 to your pc, tried but all numbers listed come up invalid. So if your buying it for this reason don,t bother. As for films he loves them
Published 4 months ago by C. Hilton


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

61 of 63 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An animated series that maintains a high quality over 3 films, 12 Oct 2009
This review is from: Ice Age 1-3 [DVD] (DVD)
These films provide three highly entertaining animated comedies for both young and old.

The first film is an unexpected delight. Several mismatched animals from the Palaeolithic age of a mammoth, a sloth and a sabre-toothed tiger end up travelling together when they come across an abandoned human child. The comedy never lets up and the film manages to avoid descending into cutesy schmaltz as it delivers a strong story involving the child being pursued by a pack of tigers, culminating in a moving ending. There are numerous comic set-pieces, not all of which are relevant to the story. Some of these sections work such as the squirrel Scrat and his endless pursuit of nuts and some don't such as the kamikaze dodos, an idea that was probably hilarious on paper, but not on screen. But even when they don't work there's some fun to be had. Especially good is the voices. With Ray Romano playing the not-so-obvious role from his sitcom persona as the mammoth, and Dennis Leary making good use of his small role as the tiger. John Leguizamo as Sid, the annoying Sloth steals the bits of the film that don't involve Scrat.

The second movie sadly presents an inevitable drop in entertainment value that usually happens with sequels. New good voices and characters are added such as Queen Latifah's Ellie the mammoth, and the animation takes a massive leap forward, but the story is slight. The animals must go from A to B to avoid a big flood, while learning valuable lessons about life and friendship and all those things that get forced into these type of films, although usually in a subtler manner than here. As with the first one there are some fine comic interludes, usually involving the persistent Scrat and his nutty exploits that are pure Tex Avery. And the relationship between the mammoths is both funny and actually quite touching, but too much time is taken up with elements that are designed for only the kids. Making something that works for both adults and kids is hard and in many sections the film fails as the animals face complicated dangers that are meant to provide roller-coaster excitement but which rapidly become tedious.

Any fears that the series would go down the diminishing returns route that Shrek did are put to rest with the third movie. Again the animation leaps forward in quality, and so does the story. The mammoths' relationship moves on as you'd expect with Ellie expecting, but this time the tiger and Sid have more to do when Sid finds some dinosaur eggs and is plunged into danger in a jungle filled with non-extinct dinosaurs. Any thought of the film playing too loose with history is cleverly and quickly dealt with, and with Simon Pegg voicing another new character that works there's little time for the many interludes that marred the earlier film. The format of the story also splits up the herd, and although that was viewed previously as the worst thing that could happen, it actually works well as it keeps the story rattling along. And Scrat is back again and his parts avoids the danger of repetition by the addition of his very own Scratette as a sparring partner.

So, three films in and I'm already looking forward to Ice Age 4.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ICE AGE really cool on Blu Ray, 26 Jan 2011
Had the ice age 1 and 3 on dvd and took the plunge to replace the two films i had for the 3 film box set on blu ray...................Wow what a difference, each film is so much better sound and picture quality, especially the last film in the trilogy.............do not have any problem in giving these films a five star review as they are real great family fun and look totally fantastic on blu ray! and at under 20.00 quid a real bargain.........now where did i leave that acorn?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ice Age 1 - 3 (DVD), 5 April 2010
By 
Grampa (Ayrshire, Scotland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ice Age 1-3 [DVD] (DVD)
Brilliant! The humour in these films operates at several levels. Cute animals for the youngsters and a more subtle type for the older viewer. It also comes with a free download of each film so I can now carry and watch them wherever I want on my iPod.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Animation at it's best, 22 Jan 2010
By 
Best Crime Books "Best Crime Books" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ice Age 1-3 [DVD] (DVD)
The DVD contains three discs with a film on each disc. The first Disc is Ice Age and its sequels are Ice Age 2 - The Meltdown and Ice Age 3 - Dawn of Dinosaurs. For those that maybe haven't seen all or any of them I will explain a little about each film.

~Ice Age~

This film is set in the Ice Age. The three animals who are Manfred (better know as Manny), a depressed woolly mammoth, Sid who is a sloth and Diego, a mischievous tiger, find an abandoned baby. They realise that the baby's father is still alive and they are determined to make sure he is returned to him safe and sound. Sid is a little bit crazy and like a loveable naughty child, and slowly but surely he wins round Manny. Diego on the other hand has plans of his own and Manny isn't too sure about him but agrees that he can help them find the way back to the child's father. Diego has other plans but along the way he can't help but become friends with this strange pride and finds himself turning against his fellow tigers in favour of Manny and Sid. Along the way they are joined by a squirrel named Scratte, who is constantly trying to bury his much-loved acorn.

~Ice Age 2 - The Meltdown~

Once again we meet the friends Manny the mammoth, Diego the tiger, and Sid the sloth as they set out to find a boat that they think is at the other end of the valley. As the ice is melting this is their only chance of survival. They along with all the other animals start the trek towards the supposed boat but the journey is not that simple. On their journey they meet Ellie, a mammoth who is convinced she is actually a Possum (?!?), and her 2 brothers Crash and Eddie. The Pride gets a little bigger as they all try to tackle their way across to the boat with some of them facing their fears along the way. We also see the return of Scratte who is still searching for the ultimate prize....the amazing Acorn. His usual antics find him constantly just out of reach of his ultimate prize.

~Ice Age 3 - Dawn of the Dinosaurs~

Manny, Sid, Diego, Ellie, Crash and Eddie are back in this third film in the Ice Age series. Ellie and Manny are now a family and expecting a little one of their own. With this is mind Sid decides that he would make a great dad and comes across three eggs. With this in mind he waits patiently for his new ready made family. Only when they arrive, they are a little bigger than he expected and he soon realises that there Mummy is even bigger. With the help of Manny, Ellie and Diego they all decide to make the effort to return the dinosaurs to their rightful home. When they, along with Crash and Eddie make their way to the dinosaurs underground home they have no idea what they have let themselves in for. Thankfully they meet Buck who decides that he will help them return the babies and get them safely back to their over ground lives.

There are some special features on these DVD's and they are:-

Bunny Short
Walk the Dinosaur Music Video
Falling for Scratte
Buck: From Easel to Weasel

You also get a digital copy of the films for portable players. Personally, I was a little disappointed that there weren't more extras on this DVD as it would have been interesting to see how the writers developed the main characters like Manny, Sid and Diego. However, I did watch Buck: From Easel to Weasel and it is well worth watching. Not only do they show you how the characters are created and then used with computer graphics, but you also get to see the actor Simon Pegg reading his lines whilst they run the scenes alongside him. What I wasn't aware of is that the people who create these characters actually film the actors reading their lines. The reason for this is that sometimes they use the actor's mannerisms to develop the current character.

I know that this film is ultimately aimed at children but don't think that they had any idea it would be such a hit with the adults too. I personally have loved all the Ice Age films with the most recent being my favourite. The characters are loveable and all have their flaws with each film trying to convey a decent moral across. Personally the reason I enjoyed Ice Age 3 so much was the introduction of Buck, the crazy weasel who lived underground in the crazy world of dinosaurs. The fact that he is English adds to the charm of an American casting and also makes his character that bit more amusing. The animation itself is fantastic, no I am not an expert on animation at all but I find it astounding the amount of detail and work that goes into a production like this. The dinosaur world itself is full of prehistoric creatures that Manny's little gang had never come across before which made for some very funny scenes and the occasional cracking one liners (this helps when you have a childish sense of humour). Sid is the loveable little sloth that always manages to get himself into trouble and Diego is the calming influence on the group as well as being the protector. With Manny and Ellie being the mother and father figures of the group it only leaves Crash and Eddie that are the naughty little school-kids of the pack. The pack works well and I can truly say that I enjoyed al three films immensely. This is animation at its best. It makes a refreshing change to watch something with great casting, a nice little storyline and no violence, swearing or sex. Alright it's aimed at kids but I suppose I am a big kid at heart anyway.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good value, 23 Feb 2010
By 
This is a good set that gives you both Blu Ray and ordinary versions of the DVDs, at a great price. Only slight cricism is that when it states it plays anywhere, it doesn't mean other regions! We took ours to the USA to enjoy on holiday but it wouldn't play there.

If you like modern animations, you will love this box set.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars awesome, fantastic, and laugh out loud funny!, 10 Jan 2010
firstly i am a 22year old male who refuses to grow up, so your choice if you take any notice of my opinion.
I am the youngest in my family (oldest being almost 60) but that didn't stop the others falling about in fits of giggles as we watched these films over christmas, i pre ordered this box set and had no idea that it was also going to come with a DVD/Download copy aswell! so i can still take the films around friends who don't have blu ray players. (that keeps them happy!)

Now on to the BLU RAY, the animation suites blu ray down to the ground, the sound and image quality is second to none easily the best blu ray experience i have had so far, these films actually brings me out in goose bumps, the realism of the ice is just "fantastic!" and for Scrat fans which i know alot of you are, blu ray scrat on a hi def tv, is something really special!
Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Value for Money, 13 Mar 2012
This review is from: Ice Age 1-3 [DVD] (DVD)
The Ice Age 1 to 3 Box Set is great. Good fun and entertainment for any age. Very good for grandparents when looking after chilren on a rainy dayto keep them occupied. Highly Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ICE AGE 1. 2. AND 3, 21 Feb 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ice Age 1-3 [DVD] (DVD)
i TREATED MY GRANDCHILDREN TO THESE VERY GOOD FILMS AND THEY LOVED THEM HAVE PLAYED THEM OVER AND OVER AGAIN MOST THEY LOVED ICE AGE 3.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Ice Age movies, 20 Feb 2012
This review is from: Ice Age 1-3 [DVD] (DVD)
These terrific animations are for any age, as they are both witty and thought-provoking. Also highly inventive, laugh-out-loud hilarious, and touching on themes of love, friendship and finding new families when you lose your first ones. They don't need 3D to be enjoyed to the full, either.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic!, 10 Feb 2012
This review is from: Ice Age 1-3 [DVD] (DVD)
This trilogy is great. My son loves all three films and watches them alot. The best thing is that all 3 discs come in just one case, very handy for storage or taking out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Ice Age 1-3 [DVD]
Ice Age 1-3 [DVD] by Mike Thurmeier (DVD - 2009)
7.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews