Customer Reviews


196 Reviews
5 star:
 (135)
4 star:
 (32)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (14)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Supremely Superb
already a huge, massive doctor who and torchwood fan i was so excited when this was originally broadcast, five episodes in total and shown over one week, monday to friday... bought it on blu ray and even though i still knew the story i was amazed to find i was still completely hooked... it was and is an instant classic but still fresh... u don't have to be a previous...
Published on 26 Dec. 2011 by LimerickBear

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars ok version of a great show.
i don't know why they dropped the old premise. Other than the fact that this was supposed to be a seperate sci fi movie and then it was adapted to Torchwood. The original series should have had 10 seasons before getting to this point. But like usual the bbc cut a successful series down to two series and didn't make enough episodes like they do in the U.S. (this show was a...
Published on 2 July 2012 by Michael Dobey


‹ Previous | 1 220 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Supremely Superb, 26 Dec. 2011
already a huge, massive doctor who and torchwood fan i was so excited when this was originally broadcast, five episodes in total and shown over one week, monday to friday... bought it on blu ray and even though i still knew the story i was amazed to find i was still completely hooked... it was and is an instant classic but still fresh... u don't have to be a previous fan of the series to jump straight in... it is a total emotional rollercoaster, u laugh, u cry, u are totally hooked into the stories and characters... even one particularly disagreeable character i ended up just loving them towards the end and ended up being so bloody upset for them...

i enjoyed series 4 also but for me, this series was amazing... 5 hours long and it just didn't pull any punches drama wise... an excellent story expertly told... to this day there are a few scenes i find damn hard to watch without a lump in my throat... magnificent performances from everyone involved....

this story could come with a money back guarantee!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing!, 28 Aug. 2010
I am a fan of the first two Torchwood series, but when watching them I always felt that they were lacking something slightly, but this feeling is lost quickly in the 3rd series. Brilliantly crafted and well written this drama pulls you in and really affects you, I gon't want to give anything away but at several points in Episode 4 and 5 I was in floods. When it was first broadcast people were worried that the 5-part drama would not work as well as a full series, but luckily they were proved wrong and it really works. I would definitely recommend this to any fans of Torchwood or sci-fi but would warn you that if you are used to the upbeat, happy-go-lucky tone of Doctor Who you are in for a shock, as this has a much darker tone, but is still worth a watch and I would say that it is the best Torchwood series but I think it also would appeal to people who are not as clued up on the "who-verse" as me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Utterly compelling emotional rollercoaster, 23 Aug. 2009
When it was announced that the new series of the Doctor Who spin-off would be a five part story broadcast on consecutive nights, I have to admit that I was pretty disappointed. However, being abroad when it was transmitted I have just watched the DVD and have been completely blown away.

Without spoiling it for those who haven't watched it yet, this mini-series is darker, more savage, and packs a greater emotional punch than anything seen in the first two series'. The action takes the three remaining Torchwood operatives - dashing and indestructible sex-machine Captain Jack Harkness, suave coffee expert Ianto Jones, and feisty ex-police officer Gwen Cooper - with Gwen's dopey husband Rhys in tow - out of The Hub, and sees them not only fighting the insidious alien presence known only as `The 456', but also battling for their reputations and being hunted by their own government.

There are occasional flashes of Russell T Davies' overly sentimental tendencies here, but this is ultimately a thrilling and compelling adventure, with myriad twists and turns, and a climax that will leave Torchwood fans desperate for more but wondering if their heroes will ever return...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


43 of 51 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best drama this year, 19 July 2009
Torchwood. The show that started off as a spin-off to the juggernaut that is Doctor Who. That is no longer the case, as Torchwood manages to find it's own feet in this series, which can only be described as a masterpiece of television.

Firstly, I have watched all of season one and two of Torchwood. Although I enjoyed them all, there is definitely a feel that the show was inconsistent with it's writing and acting. You'd often have a great episode, and then you'd be left with something rather like a damp squid. To someone who is not a long term fan, this would have left a sour taste in their mouths. However, all of that is shoved aside with 'Children of Earth', the 5 part television event that was originally broadcast over 5 consecutive days. There is not one episode in this series that you could describe as weak - each part added to the story and kept the flow running nicely along.

Secondly, the acting. Oh the praise I have regarding this subject. Not only do the original cast members manage to 'up their game', but the guest stars in this series are where the show shined. One man in particular, Peter Capaldi (who plays John Frobisher) totally out-acted the rest of the cast. Wonderful on all accounts. You want to hate him, but find it impossible to do so as Capaldi manages to pull in viewer sympathy in light of the outrageously wrong things he is plotting to do. A guy who perfectly portrays the family man who will do anything, no matter how awful, to protect his family. Never before have I seen such beautiful acting in a British sci-fi drama.

Another thing to mention is that this series of Torchwood, which happens to be the third, is not just accessible for people who have watched the previous series. Any new viewer can easily begin watching this series, having not watched any of the previous, and enjoy what is on offer. Yes, perhaps long term fans can garner more from this series, but new viewers can just as easily love it.

For a show that is in it's third series, it is very surprising that it continues to impress and shock the viewers. As a matter of fact, 'Children of Earth' is much better than over 90% of new doctor who stories. This is from a show that spawned as a 'spin off', and has now managed to be better than most of it's older brother.

Finally, if you are looking at this product and wondering whether it would be worth watching if you've never watched Torchwood before, then my advice is to just do it. You will not regret it. As far as British sci-fi goes, this package is up there with the best of the bunch. I promise you, you will feel horrified, shocked, amazed, surprised, excited, upset, devastated and angry all at once when you watch this.

5/5 on all fronts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A radical change in direction, 6 Mar. 2012
By 
M. Kidger "bristolcity" (Madrid, Spain) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This series is a complete change in direction for Torchwood. Rather than a series of standalone stories, this is a short series recounting one story in 5 episodes. The original cast has been killed off, save for Captain Jack (and we have discovered that this is his second generation crew anyway, after his previous Cardiff team was also killed off!!) and the Hub gets destroyed. Torchwood is found to have potent enemies, both in space and, more alarmingly, close to home. Although the cynical and sneering Owen was never my cup of tea - far and away my least favourite team member - losing Tosh was a blow to the series: she is very much missed in this series. The absence of these two members leaves the long-suffering Rhys becoming a de-facto team member. Although in the cutdowns Russell T. Grant justifies getting rid of the Hub, which allows the team to have far more action outside, the existence of the Hub gives a familiarity and solidity to the series. Doing away with the Hub and almost all the original cast has led to the rather disastrous diversion of Series 4, which was by far the weakest and a near-fatal blow to Torchwood.

The story is a very good one, but also disturbing. It is an insight into just how far a ruthless Prime Minister and desperate Minister will go to try to keep their names clean and cover up past events. Some of the debate amd discussion in government is pretty disconcerting and sounds all too plausible. There are also some huge surprises at different moments - one or two pretty unexpected - and some touching scenes, such as the desperation of Ianto to save Captain Jack from a fate that looked pretty terminal.

The series ends on a cliff-hanger of sorts. Just one member of Torchwood remains: the rest are dead or fled. There is no base and some pretty unpleasant things have happened to the Torchwood team as their own government hunted them down in an attempt to eliminate them. Where can they go from here? Can Torchwood even survive? In a way it looks like this ending was an attempt to finish the series, leaving me wondering if making series 4 was just an afterthought.

All in all, a very good series but, with so many changes, the lack of comforting familiarity loses it one star for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Simply The Best, 8 Jan. 2014
By 
J. Ritchie (Sheffield, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
There have been 4 series of Torchwood, and it's unlikely that there will ever be a 5th. This DVD contains the entire 3rd series, actually 5 programmes broadcast on consecutive nights originally. It's not a DVD you can watch and understand without knowing what Torchwood is, how it is connected to Dr Who and why Torchwood has been reduced to just 3 people. However, for anyone who's seen Dr Who and not watched Torchwood, or has seen some of the earlier programmes, THIS is the one to watch. There's a single story line, involving powerful aliens, scared politicians, secrets from the past, and great performances from all the cast members.

If this DVD doesn't move you or affect you in any way, then you're probably dead. When aliens can control all of your children, how do you say no when they ask for a 'Gift'? If you're a child, the idea of an alien taking you over will scare you, and if you're a parent the idea of having your children taken away from you is a nightmare. Torchwood 3 handles the concept with more sensitivity than you expect in a sci-fi prfogramme, and the deaths are real, present and moving.

As a bonus, Torchwood 3 has Peter Capaldi in it as a civil servant caught in the middle of the whole mess. His performance is mesmerizing and bodes well for his stint as the 12th Doctor.

If you haven't seen Torchwood 3 then you're in for a treat. Everybody else will relish a chance to see this story again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars TV Sci-FI drama at it's highest level... Amazing!, 30 July 2014
I have loved Torchwood, from it's start in October 2006 to a strong second series and now for season 3 we have a new twist, 13 episodes, now 5 parts, shown in one week and based on one story rather than many. Now Torchwood is really Doctor Who for adults, and from season one we had the swearing, violence and it was a really good series, still my favorite. Season two went to BBC Two from BBC Three and became a little more family but kept that real sense of drama. But now we have moved to prime time BBC One and drama is really back.

The story revolves around children and I will give nothing away because for any person who has not seen Children Of Earth, then it will be a new drama for them and all the shocks and wow moments will come to them and they will get a good viewing. For me Children of Earth had some moments which were so good and so shocking, as we march towards the finale two episodes there are some scenes which are so terrible, I mean awful and are executed perfectly.

It is true drama, telling a real story and showing true emotion and characters, one of the best sci-fi drama's of all time is seen here. Perfect acting, perfect storytelling and perfect scenes.

Torchwood is just superb.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Torchwood - Children of Earth, 9 Dec. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Being a lover of science fiction and indeed a Torchwood addict, this was a "must have" and with it available to show friends and family on tap is brilliant. If like me you love the sky, moon and stars and are hooked on the "alien" possibility, this certainly takes you to another plant. Being a John Barrowman fan helps, he is brilliant! Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Never a dull moment on any level, 11 July 2009
By 
Pablo (Co. Down/ Navarra) - See all my reviews
Torchwood returns for a five-hour single-story drama which is more watchable than ever. Lots of highly improbable action and suspense combine with a very topical critique of our self-interested political establishment, as aliens come to earth with large-scale child abduction plans. In an interesting deviation from the archetypal alien invasion movie in which the government automatically fights, the (British) government opts for collaboration with the aliens. The vacuousness of (electoral) democracy is revealed as politicians seek to do deals with the aliens, shamefully looking after their own interests while selling out the people, and the people's children, starting with the most vulnerable and defenceless. The nepotism and classism in British politics is portrayed with consummate irony and the darkly comic depiction of politicians' spin/lies is most appropriate at this point in time. The politicians' focus on preserving image and power at all costs is mockingly portrayed, as the unelected and unaccountable Torchwood team fight for an ethical approach to the issue of alien terrorism. And all this with an all-action plot which keeps you guessing, and lots of last-minute escapes which make the Bond movies seem banal and unimaginative in comparison. Wonderful stuff. Don't miss it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars ok version of a great show., 2 July 2012
By 
Michael Dobey (colorado springs) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
i don't know why they dropped the old premise. Other than the fact that this was supposed to be a seperate sci fi movie and then it was adapted to Torchwood. The original series should have had 10 seasons before getting to this point. But like usual the bbc cut a successful series down to two series and didn't make enough episodes like they do in the U.S. (this show was a huge hit over in the states too). So they ditch the series and do a miniseries which is ok but lacks the charm of the original. And this is a very depressing miniseries too. Still it's a version of torchwood so I had to have it in my collection. The blu ray looks great and the acting is fine too. I just wish the uk would stop destroying hit shows too soon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 220 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Torchwood - Kinder der Erde
£10.78
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews