Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
This HDD has obviously been designed with style and portability as a priority. Very small and light and with a striking graphic on the top of the case, it certainly has the 'wow' factor aesthetically and when you realise that it holds 500GB and can easily fit in your pocket,it looks all the more impressive.'Funky' said CC junior and I must agree it is the most stylish external HDD I have seen.

Style is however useless without substance but I am pleased to say this little unit is also a very good performer.

OK, it actually holds slightly less than that (showing 465GB free when installed but that also includes the 'free'software (McAfee, NTI, pdf of the manual etc.)but is essentially ready to plug and play on Windows.

Installed on a W7 machine, it was recognised straight away. No power supply (takes its power from the host machine via the short USB connector cable), my one concern would be that laptop users recognise that it will draw power from your host machine's battery. I have tested it on a desktop so cannot honestly comment as to whether that is an issue.

Personally wish manufacturers would stop bundling so called free trial software with hardware and I deleted the McAfee but many might welcome its inclusion so very much a personal choice as to what to do with it. NTI backup is also provided although I haven't used it, personally preferring the W7 and conventional back up methods.

Manual is on a pre-loaded pdf but frankly there is not a lot of interest in it other than noting the warning to utilise 'safely remove hardware' before disconnecting from the host machine's USB port.

Very quiet and hardly any noise audible even when working hard.No heat build up obvious and with two rubber 'ridges' on its base which stop it sliding around (essential when it is so small and light), I can see this sitting easily on any workspace and getting a lot of favourable comments on its size and appearance. Add the impressive performance, obvious portability and it seems a winner, save the comment re it using the host machine's power.

If physical size,style and portability are not key buying issues, better value external HDD drives would probably be best looked at but given that proviso, I would give this 5/5. Well done Toshiba....
0Comment|16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 April 2010
Very, very impressive. Small, solid build, nice design. Almost completely silent in operation. Decent speed - slightly faster than my 1Tb Western Digital 3.5in HDD, in fact. Running off a single USB port for power is a real boon for laptop use.

Despite what the description implies, this drive works perfectly well with a Mac. The bundled software won't, obviously, but it's just the usual pointless crapware and can cheerfully be deleted.
0Comment|19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 December 2009
Have recently filled my old 160GB HP external hard drive I was looking for a quality replacement - and the Toshiba 500GB doesn't disappoint.

The Toshiba drive is small, well-built and works straight out of the box. My PC detected the drive instantly and I began the back-up process - first using a straight file transfer, then experimenting with the EZ software it comes with.

Overall I'm pretty impressed - this looks like a quality piece of kit that will last. No massive noise or heating up evident yet.

Of course, the first back-up takes quite a while but you just let it run and then the subsequent ones just happen briefly and in the background. Very happy with this purchase.
0Comment|13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 January 2010
Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
A great little portable drive which gives you lots of storage in a lightweight and compact little package. The only possible criticism is it's a little on the slow side, but that's the case with most drives this size as they tend to be based on laptop drives and most people won't notice unless they're transferring hundreds of gigabytes in one go.

If speed isn't a concern for you then there's no reason not to pick one of these up.
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 November 2010
Fantastic little hard drive. I had been searching around for a long time trying to find the right hard drive for me especially as there are a lot of negative reviews going around regarding the equivalent WD and Seagate Drives.

Originally i wanted the 1TB but settled for 500GB purely because of what i could afford at the time.
The software it comes with seemed okay (nothing special) but i deleted straight away and just use it for plug and play.
Its super fast to install, no cd software needed.
My windows 7, xp and vista computers pick it up almost instantly.

It looks great and is really small, i transferred 400gb worth of stuff as soon as i purchased and it had finished the lot in about 3-4hours which i thought was also pretty quick. It also never even gets remotely warm...runs perfectly cool even if left on all day as it enters standby mode after 10 mins or so.

It comes pre-formatted to FAT32 making it ideal for use with my PS3 as well...dont need to do anything to it to get it to work :)

I cannot fault this drive in any way...so much so i'll be buying another one for future backups :)
Would recommend this drive to anyone, especially if you're unsure and worried about all the negative reviews out there.

Well done Toshiba i say :)

Also as a side if you're looking for a case to go with this drive the iGadgitz one is the best i have come across.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 October 2009
I just bought this hard drive for about a week and already i can tell it was the right choice. I'd been searching for a portable hard drive for months now and i finally decided to give the Toshiba HDDR a try. I was split between this and a Neso 500Gb but after witnessing how hot it would get due to its aluminium casing i was worried it could burn up quite easily so i went with the trusted Toshiba Brand and the moment i plugged it in, it worked instantly...no need to install and CD software, just simple plug and play. For a 500GB portable hard drive i must say it is extremely quite. When i was transferring a couple hundreds of GB onto it i barely heard anything from it and the heat is kept under control.

Finally, the design on the hard drive makes it look fashionable, with a sleek gloss front face and a designer wave with a deep red colour makes it a great edition to my laptop, PC, monitor etc.
0Comment|27 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 June 2010
On opening the package I was immediately impressed by the mirror finish case sporting the distinctive red and black design. Plugging in was no problem, it simply worked on Vista. I did not attempt to use the preloaded software, because I wanted to backup the important files not everything.

I have also successfully used it on Fedora 12 and 13 and if you use a standard format there is no problem transferring data between Windows and Linux machines. Data transfer is brisk, considering the limitations of USB and the host machines (laptops of various ages) and is almost completely silent. Only the unobtrusive blue LED gives you much of an indication the drive is in use.

Finally, I recommend you buy a case to protect the drive and your data. The Caselogic case (Caselogic Small Hard Drive Case - Black) is ideal for this. Don't be put off by some complaining it is too large for the drives, for the Toshiba the rubber feet make it fit perfectly.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 March 2010
I bought two of these external hard drives so I could offsite important data. They are small, neat and exceptionally quiet. I am very happy so far with these. They fit great in the case logic Caselogic Small Hard Drive Case - Black.

Only negatives are:

* they come formatted as FAT 32 so when you plug them in you don't appear to have anywhere near half a terrabyte. So just copy off the Tosh software (alhtough I have never used it) and format the drive as NTFS. In this day and age it would have been sensible to format them as NTFS in the first place.

* stupidly short USB lead. It won't even let you balance the drive on top of a PC with it plugged in the front. The capable is fine for a laptop but for anything else you will have to get a USB extension lead.

But don't let the couple of niggles put you off.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 January 2010
I often see reviews complaining of 'false advertising' for portable USB type disc drives in reference to their rated capacity, compared to their actual capacity. This problem occurs as manufacturers tend to count the capacity of the drive in decimal rather than binary. Because binary only uses two digits to represent numbers, 0 and 1, the nearest representation to 1000 in decimal is a slightly bigger number 1024. It's this odd extra 24, when compared to the entire decimal capacity of a drive that reduces its overall capacity to a binary equivalent. Why a manufacturer makes a computer product an initially references it to decimal instead a binary it another question?

Recently, I purchase a Toshiba 500GB HDDR500E04ER USB external disc drive because I was fed up with having external drives that required a separate power supply. This unit it perfect for carrying about, with a large enough capacity for most current needs, and can easily be connected to a laptop, without having to carry an additional PSU. One just plugs it in and uses it as one would a small USB flash drive. The software on the drive can be used or just deleted to make extra space, it does not automatically load itself on your computer, but gives you the option to do so. Note that the instruction book is also included on the drive itself, however, it is easy to copy this to ones computer since it is just a PDF file. Since the purchase of a Toshiba LCD TV I have been converted to the brand.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 August 2010
Great little Hard Drive. Small, and very quiet.
I have backed up my desktop & laptop on this.
So far, it's been 100% reliable.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)