Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Linkin park singer does credible side project.
This album has been a long time coming and many of the songs have been circulating in some form on the internet since about 2005, so regardless of why it took so long is it worth the wait? well I suppose it depends on hether you like the material, ok thats a rubbish thing to say in a review but chances are that if you are reading this you have some interest in hearing...
Published on 27 Oct 2009 by genejoke

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Vinyl Let Down.
A great sounding LP.But let down by the thin vinyl pressing.We as vinyl lovers love it now because most do 180g pressings.But this release has gone back to the bad days,thin and cheap.
Published on 21 Jan 2010 by Paul Robinson


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Linkin park singer does credible side project., 27 Oct 2009
This review is from: Out Of Ashes (Audio CD)
This album has been a long time coming and many of the songs have been circulating in some form on the internet since about 2005, so regardless of why it took so long is it worth the wait? well I suppose it depends on hether you like the material, ok thats a rubbish thing to say in a review but chances are that if you are reading this you have some interest in hearing the album. I had heard a number of the songs a long time ago and was a little indifferent to them so I was sceptical about picking up this album, this is what I think after several listens over a week or two.

Track one. Fire
The opening track, called Fire isn't a bad song but hardly the greatest. musically it is fairly staight forward and chorus aside the lyrics are pretty good. the rhyming in the chorus seems a little basic but it serves its purpose. I do like the sentiment to the song. The song is very much like Chester Benningtons old band grey daze.

Track two. Crawl back in.
Most people will have heard Crawl back in by now i dont feel the need to say a lot about it. It is one of the more Linkin park sounding tracks present. I really like the lyrics of it.

Track three. Too late.
Too late is also one of the tracks that would fit well on a Linkin Park album, it is slower and a little vague but it has a good feel.

Track Four. Inside of me.
Interestingly while writing this review I am hearing things in the song i had not noticed before. Inside of me is a faster track and has a guiar riff a little like given up on the LP album minutes to midnight. Lyrically it is a pretty strong track, about a feeling rather than tell a story a common theme with chester it seems.

Track five. Let down.
This is one of the first tracks I heard way back in 2005, it is essentially the same but the production is far superior. I wasn't too keen back then and here it is and the little changes make a big differences. It is a grower and it is the lyrics that are the highlight, easy to relate too and the tracks really conveys that feeling well.

Track six. Give me your name.
Musically it is very far from linkin park, it reminds me of guns and roses and bon jovi for some reason. probably the guitar sound. The similarities pretty much end there though, it is beatifully sung and while it isnt instant it is certainly a grower. I imagine some will love it others will skip it.

Track seven. My suffering.
One of the strogest tracks, certainly a LP sounding track but as a whole the bands do sound different enough, dead by sunrise sound a little more raw as a whole. A great song

Track Eight. Condemned.
Keeping up with being heavy, but less like LP, condemned is an intense track with its fair share of screaming and a great guitar riff. All that and it is still catchy.

Track Nine. Into you.
Out goes the heavy and we have a nice mellow track, well for most of it anyway. Lyrically it is about a relationship and how it is an emotional safety net for him. The song builds slowly and erupts mid way before settling down more active than before.

Track Ten. End of the world.
Would make a good single, lyrically it says what many of us our thinking about the state of society. Musically it is a good rockin track and ideal for radio play, combining good lyics and a catchy tune.

Track Eleven. Walking in circles.
Again it sounds much more like grey daze than Linkin Park, a slow burner again, I am not completely sold on this one, but I like it enough that i imagine it will work into me.

Track Twelve. In the darkness.
Almost guaranteed to end up on a vampire movie soundtrack, i may even look a few up in case it already is. it is a love song but with the poetic sounding lyrics and all the darkness in the lyrics it is very an rice. Musically it is a slow bleak sounding song that builds up as it goes with layered vocals. I do wonder if Chester bennington actually wrote this in the hope it would be used in a twilight sequal. A love song called in the darkness by a band called dead by sunrise featuring on a film about vampire love, it's too fitting. The song has an interesting outro as well

Track Thirteen. Morning after (not on all versions I believe)
This is an upbeat track and also one that has been circulating for some time and and was actually released before on the underworld evolution soundtrack under chester bennington featuring julian K. It is a solid track and is easy to pick up but not as good as most of the album.

Overall it is a very strong album but it did take me a few listens to really appreciate.
If you like linkin Park it is a must if you don't then i recommend you give it a try anyway.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Album, 1 Jan 2010
By 
Deb1991 (Coventry, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Out Of Ashes (Audio CD)
If you are a fan of Linkin Park, you are sure to like this. Whilst it is different from Linkin Park's normal material, it is still an amazing album. Some may be skeptical about the fact that it just another "side project" - but if you have listened to Fort Minor's (Mike Shinoda's side project) "The Rising Tied", then you shouldn't be. Every track has sense, it has a purpose, unlike a lot of mainstream bands.

And whilst I miss the rap element of Linkin Park, and Dead By Sunrise has no MC, they make up for it with the loud, distorted guitars, and great solos.

5 Stars for definite, you will love it if you are an avid rock fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent side project!, 25 Oct 2009
By 
Mr. D. R. Greenwood "Metal Mad!!!" (Lancashire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Out Of Ashes (Audio CD)
This album very much reminds me of when Chester was in Grey Daze, very different to Linkin Park. The subject matter in the lyrics are very dark, darker than alot of LP songs. On most of the tracks you do hear a mellower more relaxed Chester than the intermittent screaming that is in LP.

I believe this showcases Chester's marvellous voice magnificently. The music compliments his voice amazingly. And what is strange for a debut album from someone, the start is great. But the middle of the album is the best, so the consistency of quality of the songs and music does not dip at all.

My personal 3 faves on the album are Number 7, My Suffering, which is very upbeat and has a very catchy chorus and the band playing for Chester do brilliantly well to enhance his performance. Then Number 6, Give Me Your Name, which is very bare in terms of the sound effects we've come accustomed to on LP. His vocals are very charismatic and enchanting. And my third favourite is track 10, End of the World, starts with an upbeat intro, and takes you into the song quickly. This song is very political. If you did you're homework on Dead By Sunrise you will know that most of the songs are rejected LP songs for Minutes to Midnight. Therefore this is similar in lyrical comment to No More Sorrow.

The album is great!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Must buy!!!!, 18 Oct 2009
By 
D. Mckechnie (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Out Of Ashes (Audio CD)
Hearing Chester had done a side project i was 50/50 over it as im a massive Linkin Park fan but i have to say this album is amazing from start to finish. Every song on the album is top notch and im struggling to have a favourite. It has a really good mix of usual Chester rock vocals to his mellowed out vocals which are equally as good. I'd reccommend this album to anyone, defo must buy without a doubt.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing!!, 13 Oct 2009
This review is from: Out Of Ashes (Audio CD)
Love Linkin Park - but this album is amazing - I can't stop listening to it!!!
Every now again and album comes along that you instantly fall in love with - well this is one of them!! I was expecting perhaps a track or so that weren't perfect, but I can't choose which is my favourite or least favourite.
These songs are a bit mellower than Linkin which allows you to really hear just what an amazing voice Chester has. Linkin fans shouldn't be disappointed - if you are - listen to it again - PROPERLY!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 13 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Out Of Ashes (Audio CD)
Great, fast delivery and brilliant quality product! Awesome album too with beautiful artwork! Chester Bennington's vocals are just as amazing as in Linkin Park :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good, 18 May 2013
By 
C. Reynolds "Foxchrisamr" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Out Of Ashes (Audio CD)
If you like Limpkin park you will like this, a little less heavy but very good, worth the money, try it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 6 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Out Of Ashes (Audio CD)
Great album. One of the best songs isn't included though "Morning after" which is a shame but that doesn't stop this from being a brilliant album overall.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amaizing artist, 4 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Out Of Ashes (Audio CD)
Dead By Sunrise is side project from Chester. He have great taste of music and great voice. Thumbs up for Chester
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Must Buy Album, 14 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Out Of Ashes (Audio CD)
I have been listening to linkin park for a long time now and have all of their albums. Just recently I discovered this side album that Chester Bennington did. And I love it. It is a very clever compilation of music that just encapsulates the listener into the wonderful lyrics. I would definitely recommend this album to anyone who likes Linkin Park.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Out Of Ashes
Out Of Ashes by Dead by Sunrise (Audio CD - 2009)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews