Customer Reviews


126 Reviews
5 star:
 (75)
4 star:
 (20)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (17)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


32 of 36 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Free Spirited Vulpine
"Fantastic Mr Fox" is a thoroughly entertaining children's movie that I can unreservedly recommend to parents seeking to amuse their offspring this Halloween break. The film is quirky,funny and unpredictable and the animation is visually impressive and original. The characters in the film are all iconoclastic and determinedly individual,especially Mr Fox , voiced...
Published on 26 Oct 2009 by L. Davidson

versus
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Patronizing Mr Fox
Plot:

After narrowly escaping from a trap during a raid on a squab farm, Mr Fox (George Clooney) agrees to his pregnant wife's (Meryl Streep) demands to take up a less dangerous profession. Two years later and Mr Fox is now a newspaper columnist and the two have raised a teenage son called Ash (Jason Schwartzman). The Foxes make the decision to relocate to a...
Published on 18 Aug 2010 by Mr. J. C. Clubb


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

32 of 36 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Free Spirited Vulpine, 26 Oct 2009
By 
L. Davidson (Belfast, N.Ireland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Fantastic Mr Fox [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
"Fantastic Mr Fox" is a thoroughly entertaining children's movie that I can unreservedly recommend to parents seeking to amuse their offspring this Halloween break. The film is quirky,funny and unpredictable and the animation is visually impressive and original. The characters in the film are all iconoclastic and determinedly individual,especially Mr Fox , voiced perfectly by George Clooney. Mr Fox is a charismatic free spirit who, after moving to his new tree house, falls back into his old ways and cannot resist the temptation to raid three nearby farms and make off with large amounts of poultry. However the farmers take their revenge and hunt him down mercilessly .Can Mr Fox lead his merry band of woodland animals to safety and regain his brush in the process ? October 2009 has certainly been a good month for animated children's films with "Cloudy with a Chance of Meatballs", "Up" and now "Fantastic Mr Fox" all being of a high standard.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars adored it, 1 Nov 2009
This review is from: Fantastic Mr Fox [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
This is a great-looking film made with traditional stop-go animation and it is not meant to be all about CGI and special-effects. The end result is gorgeous. The animals have a slight jumpiness to their movements but that is the style of the movie and strangely realistic. The score is also very simple, mainly (wholly?) a drum that you hear whenever the action it about to speed up. I found this entirely adequate, stylish, and even humorous. The creatures themselves are gorgeous to look at. George Clooney gives a faultless, stylish, humorous performance as Mr Fox. The story is about a fox who has settled down into marriage but who can't resist one more adventure. I loved it and so did my six-year-old and not many movies can reach such a wide age range as that!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Fantastic Mr. Fox" on `Criterion' BLU RAY - Compatibility Issues With This `US' Disc..., 10 Mar 2014
By 
Mark Barry "Mark Barry" - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
Fans of the wonderful and whacky world of Wes Anderson films will be lusting after this Criterion reissue (Feb 2014) of his 2009 foray into animation with "Fantastic Mr. Fox".

Unfortunately - better print or no and new extras or not - the American Criterion BLU RAY reissue is REGION A LOCKED - so it will not play on our machines unless they're chipped to be 'all regions' (which few are).

Perhaps with "The Grand Budapest Hotel" doing such great business and receiving such glowing reviews - "Fox" might see a REGION B release soon. But it's wait and see for the moment. For now don't make an expensive and easy-to-make Region-Coding blunder on this Criterion BLU RAY release...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Patronizing Mr Fox, 18 Aug 2010
By 
Mr. J. C. Clubb "byshee" - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Fantastic Mr Fox [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
Plot:

After narrowly escaping from a trap during a raid on a squab farm, Mr Fox (George Clooney) agrees to his pregnant wife's (Meryl Streep) demands to take up a less dangerous profession. Two years later and Mr Fox is now a newspaper columnist and the two have raised a teenage son called Ash (Jason Schwartzman). The Foxes make the decision to relocate to a better home. Against the advice of his lawyer, Clive Badger (Bill Murray), Mr Fox chooses a den situated at the base of a huge tree. From Badger, Mr Fox learns of that the land near his hole is occupied by the three farms of three notoriously wicked and wealthy farmers - the gluttonous chicken farmer Walter Boggis (Robin Hurlstone), the diminutive duck farmer Nathan Bunce (Hugo Guinness), and the skinny turkey farmer and cider brewer Franklin Bean (Michael Gambon). Hated and feared by the locals, they are all part of the attraction for the high risk-taking Mr Fox who decides to steal from them one by one. All goes to plan at the beginning, until the three farmers decide to declare war on Mr Fox and his family...

Review:

I hold my hand up to being a fan of stop-motion animation and yet not the greatest convert to the products of Aardman Animations. With this in mind, I looked forward to Fantastic Mr Fox being made by a production other than aforementioned creators of Wallace and Gromit. This fact may have sweetened me to the fact that an American production company, 20th Century Fox, were tackling what was essentially a British children's book and one that was hugely influential over my childhood. I was brought up a Roald Dahl fan and "Fantastic Mr Fox" was favourite personal favourite of his children's works. It had everything a child can enjoy in a fantasy-based story - witty animals, grisly villains and an innocent countryside setting. Unfortunately the charm and, dare I say, magic of the book does not transfer happily to Hollywood.

Enough has already been said in other reviews with the blatant cloning of Clooney's role in the "Ocean's Eleven" re-make franchise and grafting it onto Mr Fox. It's not a subtle observation; it is cynical playing to the US market, as are the other new elements added to the story. Rather than having a witty fox taking advantage of his surroundings, we now have an ambitious adrenaline junkie with the stereotypical grounding wife who tries making him acknowledge his responsibilities to his family. He also has a typical sullen teenage son in a totally unoriginal and irritating sub-plot, who finds himself being overshadowed by his cousin, Kristofferson (Eric Chase Anderson), who comes to stay with the family. The evolution of their relationship is pretty predictable.

Wes Anderson and Noah Baumbach are fans of Dahl's. That much is believable. Sadly they don't seem to trust the source material enough and felt a need to bookend the original storyline with totally new material. Despite needlessly "updating" many of the elements of the story (read shoehorning in extra plot angles, characters and situations), the soundtrack of the film seems to be a pointless and out of place '60s rock 'n roll "homage" to the era in which Dahl wrote the original novel.

To make matters worse, this film is coated with a type of superficial sophistication aimed to make upper middleclass parents feel clever. It is this style that I think enamoured this film to the early critics. This is never better demonstrated in the contrived style of animation used by Henry Selick. Now Selick is certainly an animator worth looking out for. He has been behind several of my own favourite animated films and should be acknowledged at least much as Tim Burton for "The Nightmare Before Christmas". Going by his history, I am not a fan of collaborations with Anderson. "The Life Aquatic with Steve Zissou" was a pretentious and thoroughly annoying piece of pseudo-art, which fell off the line of "off beat comedy" and into the realm of "thinks its clever when it isn't". In this respect, "Fantastic Mr Fox" is certainly a marked improvement.

This is not to say the film isn't completely irredeemable, although I am not surprised it didn't do well at the box office. Wilhelm Defoe's ridiculously large rat character, for example, adds a degree of confrontation and some extra peril that compliments Dahl's original story. It is not needed and very Hollywood in line with the faults I have outlined, but the scenes are well shot and Defoe is well cast in the role.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting, but ultimately disappointing, 17 July 2010
By 
S. Millman (Penarth, Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Fantastic Mr Fox [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
I am an avid fan of interesting and innovative animation, and when I heard there was to be a Fantastic Mr. Fox film made using stop motion I couldn't help but be excited. After seeing the trailers, however, my heart sank. The story seemed so different, it was so americanized and the animation seemed poor rather than deliberately juvenile. It was with trepidation that I watched this film, and in some ways my fears were realized.
As you probably have read, the story is quite different from the book. Like many people I grew up with Fantastic Mr Fox and it was my absolute favourite Dahl story. The bones of the story are there, but Anderson has placed his own stamp on it - in places the script seems more like an analysis of the modern american family rather than a Dahl adaptation. While this is, at times, fascinating and works well (the relationship between Ash and Kristofferson particularly) I feel that it conflicts too much with the original material. While I am a strong believer in keeping film adaptations seperate to the original books (for example, Howl's Moving Castle and How To Train Your Dragon are great films in their own right) in cases where the new story is worse than the old or over complicated, I find it impossible not to make comparisons and complain. There was plenty in the original book that would entertain onscreen and while the Dahl family approve, in my opinion there was no need to change it other than to satisfy Anderson. It is enjoyable, yes, in places great - but it could have been so much better. It could have been fantastic.
I thought that the fact that the main characters were american would annoy me a lot more than it did - what annoyed me more that the heroes were american while the villains were english. Hmm. In terms of where it is set, I don't believe Dahl specifies: much like Willy Wonka, it is left unspecific so children of any nationality can feel like it is their story, set in their town. However, in some places FMF goes so very american it is jarring - banjo scene anyone? - and I am so fed up with the american hero vs english baddie scenario. It may not be intentional but some times it is just offensive, regardless of how many times people say brits are better at playing baddies.
What I was pleasantly suprised about was the animation. At first the movements are rather jarring, and the postures of the animals are very strange - I'm not quite sure that the way they stand and walk quite work, they all look a bit too human. The way they smile as well (Mr Fox's nervous smiles come to mind) are also scary rather than humorous. However, it is unique, and like all Anderson films, very quirky. The way the fur moves is particularly lovely, and it makes a change to see something blatantly hand made on the big screen rather than well rounded and smooth (like new Wallace and Gromit films compared to old ones - they were much more interesting with the visible fingerprints!)
In conclusion, it is worth a look. You will almost certainly be entertained, more than likely wishing it was more like the book, but hopefully inspired.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Mr Fox, 15 Mar 2011
By 
D. JONES (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fantastic Mr Fox [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
My grandchildren (aged 3,4,5, & 7) quite enjoyed this film. However, I found much of the feel of the original book had been lost. Mr and Mrs Fox were more like rather unappealing humans with personal/relationship problems, not a couple of foxes. The main target audience did not seem to be children. Certainly nowhere near as enjoyable as the film of Dahl's BFG.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A wes Anderson movie aimed at kids, Yes please, 27 Feb 2010
By 
D. Carter - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is my first review, I can not believe the one star reviews on here and have to question what they expected from a childrens story made with stop motion animated puppets. I will agree the story wasnt the strongest but the charming animation and awesome puppets coupled with great voice work and numerous jokes throughout was enough to keep me enthralled for the brief (83 minute) running time.
I know some people dont get Wes Anderson films but for his fans (of which I am one) we pretty much knew what to expect and I was not at all disappointed.
I love the qurkines of his films and this is what makes him unique amongst a sea of bland music video directors that plague mainstream movies these days.
I give this 4 stars and have already ordered the blu ray, can not wait to see it in all its hi def gloriousness
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Dissapointing, 18 May 2013
This review is from: Fantastic Mr Fox [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
I was really looking forward to this, the book is so good!
Unfortunately the film is nothing like the book. It's full of unnecessary details.
The film makers clearly thought the book was a touch predictable and rewrote the plot.
Sexist and irritating I would not recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 25 Jun 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fantastic Mr Fox [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
Great DVD which was sent to Australia as a gift, good price
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars What can I say - Fantastic!, 27 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Really well crafted film in terms of plot, character and dialogue. Sort of an understated vibe about the acting which gives it a unique quality. And very funny in parts and sad too. Pretty much got it all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Fantastic Mr Fox [DVD] [2009]
Fantastic Mr Fox [DVD] [2009] by Wes Anderson (DVD - 2010)
5.86
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews