Customer Reviews


869 Reviews
5 star:
 (631)
4 star:
 (158)
3 star:
 (41)
2 star:
 (19)
1 star:
 (20)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


117 of 119 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Let there be light, and there is . .
This is a first class product, brilliant light, better than anything we have ever tried in our tent. well made and very light to carry. Comes with batteries which seem to last for ever. Highly recommended, look no further.
Published on 22 July 2010 by Les Norman (lesnorman@dci....

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Rolson 72 LED Camping Light
I bought this product after looking for a light that would fit in the limited space of my motorbike,and be good enough to use in my tent. It came in two days, no complaints! only niggle was when i opened it one of the magnets was't where it should be,but a bit of super glue fixed it fine, would have been better IMHO if it had more settings rather than just On/Off but over...
Published on 17 Sept. 2010 by MrPeedy


‹ Previous | 1 287 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

117 of 119 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Let there be light, and there is . ., 22 July 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rolson 61770 72 LED Camping Light (DIY & Tools)
This is a first class product, brilliant light, better than anything we have ever tried in our tent. well made and very light to carry. Comes with batteries which seem to last for ever. Highly recommended, look no further.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great!, 23 April 2013
By 
FLB (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rolson 61770 72 LED Camping Light (DIY & Tools)
This is an amazingly bright LED light. I bought it for camping and it is perfect, it is plenty bright enough to read in a tent at night, it can be hung or attached with the magnetic back and much to my shock it came with batteries included! What a bargain purchase - I will be buying more as I can see them being useful in wardrobes, the boot of my car, the loft etc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


62 of 66 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An excellent buy for the good received, 28 Jan. 2010
By 
Nicos Christodoulou (Limassol, Cyprus) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rolson 61770 72 LED Camping Light (DIY & Tools)
This is an excellent torch or light or whatever. 72 leds are providing a superb environment in the dark and the backside magnet is great for carrying it with you in the car. Easily and firmly attached to any metal (iron) surface.
Recommended buy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


60 of 65 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rolson Camping Light, 22 Dec. 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rolson 61770 72 LED Camping Light (DIY & Tools)
Excellent product for price, compact and well made. I purchased it to use in a badly lit stable and it is more than adequate. Purchased another for use in a shed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


45 of 49 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply Superb!, 21 Aug. 2012
By 
IOWBOY - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Rolson 61770 72 LED Camping Light (DIY & Tools)
My girlfriend had purchased a new car (new to her, but second hand!) and to our surprise, despite it being a fairly modern car (less than five years old) it did not have any form of lighting in the boot!

I had previously purchased several of the smaller Rolson Lights Rolson Tools 60702 24 LED Magnetic Lamp with Hook and found them to be surprisingly efffective (having used them in sheds and the loft); so I suggested giving this larger model a go as a possible solution to the 'dark boot'!

The light itself is approximately 215mm in length, 60mm wide and just 35mm deep, and most of the body is covered in a rubberised plastic (a quite pleasant material to the touch).

The lighting section of the lamp consists of 72 super bright LED's, these are between 25 and 40% brighter than normal LED's, and it is genuinely surprising just how bright they are; one lamp is sufficient for lighting a tent or shed and it can also be seen from some distance, the only negative is that it doesn't emit much light for you to see very far in the dark, so it is very much a lamp rather than a torch (I believe this is a downside of the LED's rather than the lamp itself).

The use of LED's in this lamp offers several advantages; they don't give off heat unlike traditional incandescent bulbs, they have a considerably longer lifetime (often outlasting the torch or lamp they are part of!), and they are shock resistant (meaning this lamp can be dropped and it is unlikely 'a bulb will blow!').

There is an on/off button at the bottom of the lamp, below the LED section; this lamp just simply offers on or off, no strobing or flashing effects.

The lamp comes with a hanging hook and this is complimented by three magnets on the back for securing it to metal objects; the magnets are pretty good, certainly enough to hold it's own weight in place, but they weren't suitable for the main reason the lamp was purchased in the first place (my girlfriends car boot). Although we found a suitable place in the boot for the magnets to hold the lamp in place, when the car was in transit the movement proved to be too much and the lamp would fall off; not too much of a problem overal though.

The lamp uses 4 AA batteries, a set comes supplied with the lamp on purchase, and they certainly appear to last quite some time; we have had the lamp for about a year now and use it several times a week, with it being on for an average of between 5 and 10 minutes a time, I have yet to change the batteries!

The RRP on Amazon is £15.90, this is a bit steep, but with regular use could be justified; however, as is the case with Amazon it is frequently being sold at a reduced price, at the time of writing this review it is being offered at just £6.85 including free Super Saver delivery.

At this price it offers pretty outstanding value, you would be very hard pushed to find a lamp of these specifications that can be used for so many purposes at anywhere near this price elsewhere!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Light up my world!, 25 Nov. 2011
By 
This review is from: Rolson 61770 72 LED Camping Light (DIY & Tools)
This led light from Rolson is very good for the price. I use two of these mainly for when working on my vehicle. The brightness of the beam is not far off that of a Ring RIL2750 inspection lamp which has 25 leds. The magnets hold it up very well to the underside of the bonnet much better than the Ring does. I have yet to change the batteries after more than 10 hours of use. I now use the Rolson more than the Ring as it is fab!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Useful worklight at reasonable cost, 20 Feb. 2010
This review is from: Rolson 61770 72 LED Camping Light (DIY & Tools)
Gives a strong white light and good battery life. Magnetic back is useful. The hook is fiddly to open and could be bigger to make it more useful. Delivered with batteries installed. The lamp switched itself on in the post and drained the batteries! Amazon swopped it out promptly and the replacement had a protective strip across the battery terminals.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 34 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nice and bright, 9 April 2010
By 
A Smile and a Wave (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rolson 61770 72 LED Camping Light (DIY & Tools)
I bought this lamp primarily for use when going up into my attic as I don't have any wired-in lights up there, and a normal torch just isn't up to the job when you're trying to carry stuff. This lamp is ideal for that use as it's cheap to run and is nice and bright, and although the hook is not easy to open out it is useful for hanging the lamp up. It's worth noting that the light given off by this lamp is mostly focussed in a circle like a traditional round faced torch, but it does still provide enough brightness around it to light up large areas successfully.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One night both hall and landing bulbs decided to blow., 22 Jun. 2013
By 
K. A. Newton (North West England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rolson 61770 72 LED Camping Light (DIY & Tools)
I bought two of these. One to hang up underneath the stairs and the other as a spare torch kept upstairs.

A couple of days after they arrived I needed to go to the bathroom and found the hall light would not come on OR the landing light.

I need both hands to climb the stairs and suddenly remembered the light hung up under the stairs. I felt my way along the hall and got hold of it and switched it on.

Now how to get upstairs. Easy, I hung the light by it's hook in the neck of my t/shirt and I got safely upstairs.

The spare lamp is now kept in the hall near the light switches and I have bought another to take to my daughter's house as my bedroom there is in the basement and there is a corridor with a step on the way to the bathroom.

I had not realised till I read the other reviewer's comment that the metal on the back is magnetic.

The light takes 4 x AA batteries and all three lamps arrived with 4 BATTERIES already in place with a piece of transparent plastic between the batteries and their contacts on the sliding lid. You need to pull this film out. There is also an illustration on the back showing which direction the batteries are placed when you put them in.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Rolson 61770 72 LED Camping Light, 9 Jan. 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rolson 61770 72 LED Camping Light (DIY & Tools)
The black-plastic casing on the camping light certainly feels a good quality, and is fairly durable - I have dropped it a number of times; both onto grass and a hard floor, but the only dammage is a few small (almost invisible) scratches on the lense which have not had any effect on the brightnes / focus etc. of the light.

The light emitted from the 72 LEDs is impressive; especially in an indoor space such as a tent or vehicle - easily enough to see by for reading a book / map etc., and adequate for walking across an unlit field or campsite at night - and LEDs are very energy efficient; so you'll go a long time before needing to change the cells (mine has been subjected to six months' use during a British Winter: so the cells clearly last).

The three magnets on the back of the unit easily hold the unit's weight (including upside-down); as does the hook. However, the hook is a little fiddly, and pivots; so the unit sometimes moves while hanging from something overhead (this is what stops the light from getting a 5* rating from me).

And, finally, the on/off button is fairly large (without taking too much space on the unit) - making it easy to operate in the dark or when wearing gloves.

Overall, a great camping light well worth buying for any camping trip, motoring holiday etc. or if you work at night or on vehicles.

~ A M Lloyd
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 287 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Rolson 61770 72 LED Camping Light
£5.64
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews