Customer Reviews


138 Reviews
5 star:
 (107)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (14)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


46 of 50 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Beware The Moon, Stay On The Path
One of my all time fave films is finally available on Blu Ray.

I will cut the film review part, I am sure if you are reading this, you know the film and you just want to know the quality.

Picture
Very grainy, think the recent Ghostbusters Blu Ray in terms of the grain. Intrusive at first but once your eyes adjust it feels quite clear. It is lot...
Published on 29 Sep 2009 by J. Rain

versus
6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great film - shame about the HD image
If you are an absolute fan and must have the best version available then buy this. Otherwise stick to the SD version. Yes, this is a sharper picture when you have close ups of the actors but on the whole it is very grainy. It may be the fault of the original print but I feel they did a bit of a rush job on this when they created the HD version.Definitely worth renting...
Published on 27 Jan 2008 by Mr. Jn Pappas


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

46 of 50 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Beware The Moon, Stay On The Path, 29 Sep 2009
By 
J. Rain "John Rain" (Hove) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
One of my all time fave films is finally available on Blu Ray.

I will cut the film review part, I am sure if you are reading this, you know the film and you just want to know the quality.

Picture
Very grainy, think the recent Ghostbusters Blu Ray in terms of the grain. Intrusive at first but once your eyes adjust it feels quite clear. It is lot brighter than the grainy and dark VHS/DVD transfers. You can see a lot more. But you get a lot more grain.

Audio
A new English DTS-HD Lossless Master Audio 5.1 Surround track (48kHz/16-bit) has been produced for 'An American Werewolf in London.' The film has always possessed a rather effective mix for a 1981 horror picture, and it has been upgraded nicely here.

Surround deployment is impressive considering the film's age. The rears are active for the big scare moments, particularly the creepy wolf sound effects, and general atmosphere. Charles Bernstein's underrated score is also nicely balanced, which gives a decent heft to the soundfield. Dialogue is pretty crisp and intelligible, with only some of the hushed tones and British accents a bit muffled. Low bass isn't particularly impactful (the mix sounds a bit brittle, particularly high-end) but it's strong enough to give some kick to the wolf attack scenes. Again, considering the age of the material, I was happy with this mix.

Extras
This is where the film marks high for me. Paul Davis's "Beware The Moon" is a fanboy geekgasm of a documentary, and a feature length one at that. He gathers the thoughts of everyone worth hearing from involved with the film and visits the locations. I didnt want this to end. The rest of the special features bassically mirror the 2001 DVD (Outtakes without sound, casting the hand etc) but "Beware The Moon" makes this Blu Ray worth the purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lycanthropy Landis Style, 14 Jun 2006
By 
Shaun Anderson (Nottingham/Hereford, England, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
The Werewolf sub-genre is one that has suffered over the years from poverty row production values and destructive self mockery. Like the Zombie, the Werewolf is the poor relation to the endless tales of vampirism and Frankenstein. This is mainly due to a lack of generic tradition in literature and art, but Hollywood has done little to redress the balance over the years. However for a short time in the early 1980's the Werewolf enjoyed the fullest of moons with both Joe Dante's HOWLING and John Landis' AMERICAN WEREWOLF IN LONDON thrilling audiences and winning important critical notices. Landis had scored with ANIMAL HOUSE and THE BLUES BROTHERS, and deftly combines the ribald humour of those films with all the horror clichés that had undone Universal's output in the 1940's. Importantly Landis's humour is not mocking, instead he gives us an affectionate parody, overflowing with enthusiasm. He is also very aware of the conventions and limitations of the genre itself. The scares and violence come in abundance as does the nonsensical narrative twists. England is both beautiful and eerie, a space in which the age old battle between science and superstition continues to be played out. The film works because of its lack of originality, through its post-modern appropriation of Universal's themes and iconography we have an early example of a horror homage. Wonderful special make up effects by Rick Baker however firmly anchors the film in modern horror seas. Full of excellent British character actors, the nostalgia of the film is pitched perfectly and represents the high watermark of Hollywood horror films for the 1980's.

Universal's 2 disc DVD is misleading. The supplementary features amount to little more than 45 minutes, and the DVD could have easily been presented on a single disc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great DVD release of a great film, 10 Oct 2003
This film is one of those that everybody likes. It's funny, it's scary, it's got special effects that were way ahead of its time, and it's British. The two stars may be American, but everybody else in the film is English, it is all filmed in England, and it feels English. John Landis included some very un-American ploys in the making of this movie - for instance, the music includes three different versions of Blue Moon, plus Bad Moon Rising and Moondance. It's all set in current time (well, 1980), unlike the Hammer Horror and Lon Chaney werewolf films that people were used to. The hero ends up running around London zoo, naked, after waking up in the wolf's cage the morning after a night of rampage and violence. And that's another point - the hero is the bad guy. He's the werewolf in the story, but you're on his side. Nobody is on Freddy Krueger's side, or Michael Myer's side, in the American horror films that have been released over the last 20 years.
This is one of those films where you notice something different each time you watch. Be it Rik Mayall playing chess with Brian Glover in "The Slaughtered Lamb", the further decomposition of Jack each time he comes back to visit David, the inclusion of the Muppet Show in one of David's most horrendous dreams (plus Frank Oz, the voice of Miss Piggy and Fozzy Bear, as the man from the American Embassy), the really bad acting on the porno movie that's playing in Piccadily circus, the fact that Landis plays one of the London crowd who gets run over when the werewolf escapes from the cinema at the end, the offer of congratulations to Charles and Diana on the announcement of their engagement that rolls past as the end credits roll.
This 21st anniversary release contains a second disc showing how the movie was made, how the special effects were created, trailers, and loads more besides. And the commentary by the two lead actors as the movie is playing reveals just how much in awe of Jenny Agutter they were.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beware the moaners, 31 May 2011
By 
Ryan Dunne (Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Ignore, as always, those deluded souls who start to moan on about grain issues - the Blu ray of American Werewolf is crisp and clear, the best the film has ever looked, far better than any video or DVD release. There's more noticeable grain because, quite simply, there's more information on a Blu ray transfer, which retains more precisely the original negative image. Better picture, better sound - better buy it, really.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Still brilliant!!, 10 Aug 2009
I recieved this DVD last weekend and watched it right away. I have not seen this film for years and had forgotten how good it is. I love the englishness of it, David is brilliant and funny and sad as he tries to understand what is happening to him. The music is great and the transformation from man to wolf still looks good. The picture was a little grainy but I did not mind this. It added to the sense of nostalgia! John Landis is a genius!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A killer movie, 8 Oct 2009
By 
Dismal Angel "Ash" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: An American Werewolf In London - Special Edition [DVD] (DVD)
David Kessler and his best friend Jack Goodman are on summer vacation from college and decide to backpack in Europe, making a start in the cold and damp moors of Northern England; in the middle of what seems like nowhere they stumble upon a tiny village and a pub known as The Slaughtered Lamb where some very peculiar and somewhat aggitated locals are less than enthusiastic about their company. Before they leave, they're warned to "beware the moon" and "keep to the road", both notes of advice they unfortunately ignore.

Soon, a fierce howling begins to pitch the night, and David and his friend Jack are attacked savagely by some kind of wild beast roaming the moors; David awakens in a hospital in London to discover his friend has died from the attack, and he has been there some time. David is suddenly plagued with frightning and vivid dreams; his friend Jack visits him in a decomposing and bloody state telling him that they were attacked by a werewolf, and that David must "break the curse" he was infected with by the attack.

At first, he dismisses this as hallucations, even when his dreams are becoming even more violent as some carnal entity inside struggles to make itself known.

The film itself is considered today to be THE epitome of the werewolf movie genre. An American Werewolf in London paved the way for makeup and special effects in modern horror as we know it; John Landis' gutsy use of bright lighting and lack of cutaway combined with Rick Baker's real-time physical effects and state-of-the-art prosthetic makeup made this film revolutionary for the horror genre so much that the Academy Awards began to celebrate special effects and makeup. Even seeing the magic of digital effects and special effects in modern movies, I still can't help but be impressed when watching the full transformation scene.

While the film is gory and somewhat frightening (although somewhat tame by today's standards), Landis used a somewhat "Hitchcockian" approach to direction of the movie, giving it some "laugh out loud" moments in black comedic style to ease the audience in before the real suspense or terror is due to come along - tactics that are still widely used today by horror directors (Sam Raimi being a good example). While not strictly a comedy in a sense, the movie has a good entertainment value. A MUST for all werewolf fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great film - shame about the HD image, 27 Jan 2008
By 
Mr. Jn Pappas - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
If you are an absolute fan and must have the best version available then buy this. Otherwise stick to the SD version. Yes, this is a sharper picture when you have close ups of the actors but on the whole it is very grainy. It may be the fault of the original print but I feel they did a bit of a rush job on this when they created the HD version.Definitely worth renting before buying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best Werewolf, 21 Oct 2006
By 
S J Buck (Kent, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
For a longtime this was my favourite film of all time, its not anymore, but it is still a genuine classic film, that deserves a place amongst the greatest horror films ever made.

The reasons for this are threefold:
Firstly the special effects by Rick Baker are amazing. Remember this was made 25 years ago, there was no digital effects then, what you see on the screen was either done with make-up or animatronic puppets. Rick Baker won an Oscar for his work on this film in 1982.

Secondly the blend of horror and comedy. If you watch the extras you will hear the director Jon Landis state that the film is not a comedy, although he admits it is funny. Some of the scenes are very funny and this comedy, sometimes black comedy works really well against the horror in the rest of the film. The horror in this film is brilliantly done with the double nightmare sequence being a particular favourite of mine.

Thirdly of course its a love story. The ending to the film is ultimately all about the love story, but once again John Landis confuses our emotions by immediately playing The Marcels great version of Blue Moon over the end credits.

The scene in the Slaughtered Lamb is a direct reference to the multitude of classic Hammer Films that featured a Pub that went silent went our hero entered it. You will spot quite a few well known faces in the Slaughtered Lamb including a fresh-faced looking Rik Mayall.

The extras on this edition are pretty good, with both Rick Baker and Jon Landis having some interesting things to say. Perhaps the most surprising was that Jon Landis wrote the script for this film in 1969. There's also some fascinating stuff on how Rick Baker created the amazing special effects.

Beware of the moon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Don't be put off my other reviews on here, 14 Mar 2014
By 
W. Musson "K. Winslet" (england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I was put off buying this (one of my all-time favourite films) on blu-ray due to other reviews on here claiming the picture to be grainy and badly converted to digital. The transfer has been faithfully reproduced and looks the best it has ever looked. It does look grainy particularly during the opening credits) because that is how it looked - perhaps due to the process that was used to over-lay the credits on to the film? Anyway, i'm glad i got it at last, only wish i hadn't bothered to read the other reviews for this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a classic!, 11 Sep 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: An American Werewolf In London - Special Edition [DVD] (DVD)
BRILLIANT DVD that arrived very promptly. Awesome! A real classic. If you want to see the most SUPERB piece of classic horror, this is it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

An American Werewolf In London - Special Edition [DVD]
5.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews