Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Makes me happy, Makes me cold
I found this album so confusing as a teenager - what the hell were piano lament Changes, boinging nonsense FX and cod-Flamenco Laguna Sunrise doing on it? How come I'd never heard them play monster track Wheels of Confusion live? Why could I not warm to Under the Sun or St Vitus Dance?

Years later, I appreciate Volume 4 for what it is - an essential bridge...
Published on 1 Dec 2009 by Amazon Customer

versus
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Music 5+ stars Production/remastering -4 stars
I've always loved this album. Got it for Christmas when it came out. But comparing it to remasters of the first three albums something is wrong. Either the original production was rubbish or the remastering is rubbish. This album would have been called 'Snowblind' if not for the wimpy recording company and could really have done with a decent cover like most Sabbath...
Published on 21 Aug 2012 by Savita


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Makes me happy, Makes me cold, 1 Dec 2009
By 
Amazon Customer - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Black Sabbath Volume 4 (Audio CD)
I found this album so confusing as a teenager - what the hell were piano lament Changes, boinging nonsense FX and cod-Flamenco Laguna Sunrise doing on it? How come I'd never heard them play monster track Wheels of Confusion live? Why could I not warm to Under the Sun or St Vitus Dance?

Years later, I appreciate Volume 4 for what it is - an essential bridge between the the dark Satanic thrills of the first three albums and the more ambitious and accomplished Sabbath Bloody Sabbath. Wheels of Confusion is a relentless medley of different riffs, each strong enough to support a separate song. Supernaut is a hugely underrated and joyful explosion of energy, complete with a Santana-esque voodoo carnival interlude. Tomorrows Dream and Snowblind are the album's poppier moments - catchy and chugging mid-tempo songs, propelled by Tony's inventive riffs and Bill Ward's distinctive tight-skinned drumming. The increased experimentation on the album - slow songs, sound effects, acoustic tracks, double-tracking and synthesizers all helped to lay the foundations for Sabbath's musical purple patch with Sabbath Bloody Sabbath.

The 2009 remaster appears to add some bottom-end punch whilst reducing some of the separation and treble - and thereby clarity - from previous releases. This works well on Snowblind and Supernaut, which sound more relentless and pounding than ever, however Cornucopia and Under the Sun just feel gloomier and muddier and Wheels of Confusion has lost some dynamic sparkle. The stereo mix has been swapped round from the 2004 Sanctuary releases, so lead guitars in Cornucopia and Laguna Sunrise now emerge from the right hand speaker - although I've no idea where they sat on the original LP.

A landmark album then, but not perhaps the definitive remastering I was expecting. My iPod will keep a copy of the 2004 Sanctuary release for a while longer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Masters of Metal, 7 Sep 2010
This review is from: Black Sabbath Volume 4 (Audio CD)
This album alone represents some of the most pivotal sounds that have spawned so many to follow. Black Sabbath are the true masters of metal. Having the original vinyl album I found that I could not be without this album on CD. From it's opening track Wheels Of Confusion to such great tunes as Cornucopia and St. Vitus Dance this album is a must for all Metal fans. For those who have only just found rock and metal as a music form then this album should be one of the first to invest in.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Vintage Genius, 24 Oct 2010
By 
Ken Raus "Ken Raus" (Lugdunum) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Black Sabbath Volume 4 (Audio CD)
For a certain English generation,This is dhe classic hard rock album that starts with the stunning doomladen Wheels of Confusion and ends side One with the stunninger classic Supernaut,One of the best songs ever written in any musical genre,In my unhumble opinion...Supernaut features a lovely and incongruous acoustic section in the middle before it blasts onward describing its tale of bitter egoism to the listener...Nothing really poppy enough for a single on this album,Perhaps,But there may have been one,Nonetheless.
Yes,there are one or two lame tracks,FX not least but there is a weighty clutch of great songs on this superb album and after all,Changes is still a good and memorable song...the original gatefold vinyl release anciently featured an inside booklet,So,can't comment on the CD versions,Only the musical quality,Which is fabulous and virtually indispensable to any 'classical' rock music fanatic...A landmark and standard set for a whole genre and fantastically influential and an inspiration to most of the subsequent big names in the hard rock arena from a time when Deep Purple and Led Zeppelin were very stiff competition for the attentive ears of long hair teens into heavy metal rather than pop or progressive,Whatever,although various tastes don't have to be mutually exclusive and thus the different stylistic streaks on this album just vary the bleak and grim mood enough for it not to become monotonous...Try it if you don't know it and do like the genre,It's unlikely to dissappoint and then try Masters of Reality.Master Of RealityParanoidBlack SabbathSabbath Bloody Sabbath
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Superb Sabbath Album, 7 May 2014
By 
Timelord007 (The Tardis) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Black Sabbath Volume 4 (Audio CD)
This fourth Black Sabbath album titled Vol 4 sees a transition in the sound of Sabbath from the dark metal material of Sabbaths first three albums as Vol 4 sees Sabbath expand into a slightly softer side with the excellent yet underrated Changes that showcases a wonderfully delivered ballad by Ozzy.

Snowblind is my favourite track on this album which shows Sabbath at the heavy rocking best, Yet Tomorrows Dreams & Laguna Sunrise are two brilliant yet underrated Sabbath tracks which sees the band sound maturing as musical artists.

This album has now been Digitally Remastered sounding clearer & sharper than it has in year's.

Vol 4 is a album that shows Black Sabbath maturing in there songwriting delivering a slightly different album than the previous 3 albums proving the Brummie rocks are not resting on there laurels by experimenting yet still know how to deliver what the fan's want which is hard rock.

Timelord Rating.
10/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Trilogy expands on quadrilogy ..., 24 Feb 2012
By 
Renato Medurecan (Zagreb, Croatia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Black Sabbath Volume 4 (Audio CD)
"Vol.4" phenomenal journey continues where "Master of Reality" left off. The album contains another
great opus of 10 songs, mixed with psychedelic experimentation. They made it again! Required listening
for all fans of hard 'n' heavy music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Music 5+ stars Production/remastering -4 stars, 21 Aug 2012
This review is from: Black Sabbath Volume 4 (Audio CD)
I've always loved this album. Got it for Christmas when it came out. But comparing it to remasters of the first three albums something is wrong. Either the original production was rubbish or the remastering is rubbish. This album would have been called 'Snowblind' if not for the wimpy recording company and could really have done with a decent cover like most Sabbath albums (excluding the excellent Sababth bloody Sabbath cover of course!). Maybe Ozzy, Tony, Geezer and Bill should think about remixing and redoing this album with good artwork as 'Snowblind' and truly do justice to the amazing music. It is such a shame it doesn't sound as good as the first three just due to a poor production / remastering. I had the Castle Communications remaster of Vol 4 before and that is also rubbish - if Geezer listened to it he must have wondered why he bothered playing at all. It may well have been the original recording that was at fault since most of the personell on that side changed:

Involved in one or other of the first three albums:

Rodger Bain - production
Tom Allom - engineering
Barry Sheffield - engineering
Brian Humphries - engineering

But for Vol 4 :

Colin Caldwell, Vic Smith - engineering
Patrick Meehan - production
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Well come on !, 23 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Black Sabbath Volume 4 (Audio CD)
Its the sabs, need i say more ? This is one of my fave Sabbath albums, i've got it on vinyl so had to move with the times.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 9 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Black Sabbath Volume 4 (Audio CD)
Bought this to replace my original vinyl copy. What else can I say. Was great first time round so couldn't be disappointed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars sabbath, 28 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Black Sabbath Volume 4 (Audio CD)
classic album, doesn't let you down from start to finish. A must buy album with the underated "Changes" song,showing the softer side of Ozzy's song writing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful, 17 July 2013
By 
P. C. Hockaday "Paul" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Black Sabbath Vol.4 (MP3 Download)
The highhat is quite high in the mix now. The quality of the performances really comes through - a classic album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Black Sabbath Volume 4
Black Sabbath Volume 4 by Black Sabbath (Audio CD - 2014)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews