Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Underated Ecstasy
It's funny isn't it sometimes how an album gets categorised as one thing or another. Appetite for destruction, brilliant -which frankly, isn't. Technical Ecstasy, poor to average -which it also isn't. Different to be sure, but a great album nonetheless. Some memorable riffs on very good and catchy songs and a lively performance from Ozzy -e.g. Rock 'n' Roll Doctor -and...
Published on 13 Aug 2010 by Hughami

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Technical Ecstasy: Black Sabbath - The rock and roll doctor injects some life into an ailing band
The seventh studio album from the classic Black Sabbath line up of Osbourne, Iommi, Ward and Butler is a bit of a departure from their signature sound and the last gasp from a band in decline.

With a somewhat less heavy sound than on previous albums, this is a more middle of the road rock and roll album, until you listen closely to the lyrics (which deal with...
Published on 13 May 2011 by Victor


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Technical Ecstasy: Black Sabbath - The rock and roll doctor injects some life into an ailing band, 13 May 2011
By 
Victor (Hull, England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Technical Ecstasy (Audio CD)
The seventh studio album from the classic Black Sabbath line up of Osbourne, Iommi, Ward and Butler is a bit of a departure from their signature sound and the last gasp from a band in decline.

With a somewhat less heavy sound than on previous albums, this is a more middle of the road rock and roll album, until you listen closely to the lyrics (which deal with drugs, streetwalkers, transvestites and other insalubrious topics). Lyrically it is a strong effort with some great song writing in evidence.

However, other aspects of the band were in fast decline. As with Sabotage there is a feeling of overproduction and a loss of spontaneity, and Osbourne seems more and more disinterested in the singing, to the extent that Bill Ward provides vocals for one track.

It's a decent record in most lights, but does not compare favourably with their earlier material. 3 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Underated Ecstasy, 13 Aug 2010
This review is from: Technical Ecstasy (Audio CD)
It's funny isn't it sometimes how an album gets categorised as one thing or another. Appetite for destruction, brilliant -which frankly, isn't. Technical Ecstasy, poor to average -which it also isn't. Different to be sure, but a great album nonetheless. Some memorable riffs on very good and catchy songs and a lively performance from Ozzy -e.g. Rock 'n' Roll Doctor -and rather welcomingly, to my ears at least, from Bill Ward on 'It's Alright.'

This is to Sabbath's musical legacy what Robin Trower's 'Caravan to Midnight' is to his - an overlooked gem. Just as long as you take it out of context and enjoy it for what it is... a departure.

Hell, most of us like to travel don't we? Departures sure work for me. Set sail for a foreign land and enjoy this trip.

Ciao.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It's Alright just not essential!, 8 July 2010
This review is from: Technical Ecstasy (Audio CD)
Unlike the other reviews I would say this album is worth getting if you like Black Sabbath. Ok I'd buy their first four albums before I'd get this one (which i did) but songs like Back Street Kids which is a good straight ahead rocker with lyrics that seem to hark back to the bands youth "Brought up in a back street living with the salt of the land" and It's Alright sung by Bill Ward which shows a more reflective, tender side to the band are quality songs. Overall while not an essential Ozzy-era album to buy it's still worth getting,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars black sabbath, 6 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Technical Ecstasy (Audio CD)
fantastic if you are a black Sabbath fan which I am not so good if your a fan of take that
Dave
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great well compiled Album, 31 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Technical Ecstasy (MP3 Download)
Always a joy to listen to, I especially like the contrast between Rock 'N' Roll Doctor followed on by She's Gone which exudes
emotion
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars nostalgia, 18 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Technical Ecstasy (Audio CD)
takes me back a fair few years.
not everyones taste, but great if it is.
recommended for metalists.
a good buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars in ecstasy, 23 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Technical Ecstasy (Audio CD)
bought to replenish my tired old worn out vinyl from the seventies as one to many parties have taken their toll on my old reccies nice to hear these again on cd and as always its well worth the price
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Some beatiful moments, 27 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Technical Ecstasy (Audio CD)
Let me get this straight, I really love the first 6 Black Sabbath albums but this is number 7. I don't like the late 70's production, I think Ozzy is starting to slip, many of the riffs are lighter than before and the bass isn't recorded right. But I think Dirty Women and Gypsy are wonderful, so wonderful that I still give the album 4 stars. Bill's drumming on Gypsy and Tony's playing on Dirty Women are for me the last great moments of a wonderful band and yes I know it isn't their last album. Nice booklet, decent master, silly cover and arrived early.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars It is Ecstacy Whatever They Might Say, 11 Aug 2013
By 
Richard Tyson "Rich T" (Manchester England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Technical Ecstasy (Audio CD)
Right I am going to get straight to the point.
Just ignore all the total twaddle talked/written about this album. I have loved it for over 30 years..It has greatness and more to the point some fantastic tracks.Just listen to it and make your own mind up. Do not follow the crowd.And remember..Sabbath had to do something different: you can't just churn out the same stuff year on year..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars sabbath, 28 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Technical Ecstasy (Audio CD)
One of the least appreciated sabbath albums to date,but still a great buy. would recommend to any true sabbath fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Technical Ecstasy
Technical Ecstasy by Black Sabbath (Audio CD - 2014)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews