Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars21
4.3 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 20 March 2004
I am not a fun of Velvet Underground. I never was. I am just an ordinary guy who likes and pursuits good music of almost any kind. Before buying the album, I only knew a couple of songs from the group. But I thought to give it a try. After all, Velvet Underground is considered one of the most influential bands of all times. How would this collection be? And, oh boy, this is a good one! As previous reviewers have already commended, this “best of” has them all. All the classics we hear and enjoy in radio, bars or parties, all the music you need to have a good evening home. Simply, this is one of the rare albums you can hear over and over again, without having to skip certain tracks, without getting bored after a while. A must for everyone who appreciates good music.
0Comment|29 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 May 2003
Hands down the best VU compilation currently available, because of its inclusion of tracks off "Loaded" (the band's fourth and final album, for Atlantic) and the general quality of song selection. "White Light/White Heat", second album and usually the compilers’ least favourite, makes a particularly strong showing here, but all studio albums are well represented.
Strangely for a band that has four live albums out, no live tracks, though.
The tracks off third album "The Velvet Underground", by the way, are represented in their original "closet mix" versions, giving a wider airing to the alternate take of Some Kinda Love.
The bottom line: all the classics are here, with some unexpected bonuses.
0Comment|24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 June 2006
This is an excellent collection with some of The Velvet Underground's best songs on such as, 'Rock n' Roll', 'What Goes On' and the fantastic 'White Light/White Heat'. However, the recordings themselves aren't the best. The track, 'I'm Beginning to See the Light' sounds somewhat muffled and distorted weheras the recording on the oringinal album it appears on (White Light/White Heat) is clear and crisp. It's like this for a number of other songs as well.

Also a few of the tracks are cut short such as 'What Goes On' and 'I'm Beginning to See the Light'. In conclusion, it's a nice collection of VU's songs but should only really be bought by someone who is new to the Velvets. Older fans should steer clear and just buy the, better quality, individual albums.
0Comment|21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 April 2013
After discovering Lou Reed not long ago and absolutely loved Transformer, I found out he was in a band before and instantly went on YouTube where I hears Andy Warhole and Nico and loved it.

the "very best" includes Sticking With You and Heroin.
I am only 17 and have been a fan of old stuff from the sixties because lets face if- todays stuff just sounds the same, so it was nice go hear un computerized music or adjusted vocals like this band.

While I certainly don't like ALL their stuff, some of the tracks like Femme Fatale and Stephanie Says are fun to song along to since their so original and clever and it has the relaxing Sunday Morning on their too, although songs like these do have some interesting double meanings- especially Lou's solo stuff (Walk On The Wild Side- isn't about animals)
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 June 2012
Every couple of years sees a new compilation adding to the list of this cult 1960s rock group's posthumous releases. I feel that this particular budget-priced release provides a fairly impressive introduction to their output, despite its slightly sloppily written sleeve notes, bland presentation, and the absence of any of their more outré sonic experiments. The key reason for that is the democratic fashion in which material for its 18 tracks have been selected. That is shown in the stylistic breadth on display here. There are some full-on sonic assaults for which the band is renowned, such as the clangourous 'Heroin' and 'White Light/White Heat'. This is as one would expect: the name of the band is synonymous with sex, death, heroin, and the avant-garde. But there are also plenty of sweet-sounding pop and folk-rock melodies to be found on the track-listing as well - hear the likes of the enchanting 'Sunday Morning' and 'Pale Blue Eyes' for evidence of that. Those choices are a corrective to some of the lazier mythology that has clung so tenaciously to the band's reputation over the last 40 years. However, there are other contemporary compilations available which emphasise that point more thoroughly - such as Polydor's 2CD Gold [2005]. Nonetheless, this 74 minute long single-disc CD shouldn't be casually dismissed. Unlike that collection The Very Best of The Velvet Underground manages to provide proportionate representation to the first four studio albums created by the band's changing line-up between the late 1960s and early 1970s: The Velvet Underground & Nico; White Light/White Heat; The Velvet Underground, and Loaded. In doing these things, I think you begin to get some kind of understanding as to why this influential band, who are so often (dis)regarded as the antithesis of commercialism, ended up providing the soundtrack to 21st century car and tyre commercials.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Most fans of the VU are very dedicated and over-familiar with this legendary band’s classic albums. That means they my not like this non-chronological sequence of tracks. I find it a refreshing listening experience because it highlights the individual songs instead of the overall feel of those album masterpieces. It’s great to hear Pale Blue Eyes after All Tomorrow’s Parties and to have it followed by Femme Fatale, it somehow seems right. Another refreshing sequence is the wistful Sunday Morning being followed by Rock ‘n Roll, which concludes the album. Of course this collection excludes some familiar tracks like The Gift but it does include most of their most accessible numbers like Sweet Jane, Waiting For The Man Venus In Furs and the aforementioned Pale Blue Eyes. Plus the controversial and experimental White Light White Heat and the overwhelming Heroin. A good selection, in my book, that’s why I don’t hesitate to give it five stars.
0Comment|14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 December 2010
Lou Reed and the Velvet Underground- do i need to say any more? Love the hippy bo-ho often depressing undertones of the songs.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 December 2014
Velvet rules alternative music since its birth, which, by the way, began with Lou reed, until now and ever after.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 February 2016
If like The Velvet Underground you will like this.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 May 2015
its the velvets - what more needs to be said
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£8.39

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)