Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nice collection, not the best recordings
This is an excellent collection with some of The Velvet Underground's best songs on such as, 'Rock n' Roll', 'What Goes On' and the fantastic 'White Light/White Heat'. However, the recordings themselves aren't the best. The track, 'I'm Beginning to See the Light' sounds somewhat muffled and distorted weheras the recording on the oringinal album it appears on (White...
Published on 25 Jun 2006 by J. McNally

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Timeless album
Classic album for Velvet and Lou Reed fans.
Published 1 month ago by Martin dyson


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nice collection, not the best recordings, 25 Jun 2006
By 
J. McNally (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is an excellent collection with some of The Velvet Underground's best songs on such as, 'Rock n' Roll', 'What Goes On' and the fantastic 'White Light/White Heat'. However, the recordings themselves aren't the best. The track, 'I'm Beginning to See the Light' sounds somewhat muffled and distorted weheras the recording on the oringinal album it appears on (White Light/White Heat) is clear and crisp. It's like this for a number of other songs as well.

Also a few of the tracks are cut short such as 'What Goes On' and 'I'm Beginning to See the Light'. In conclusion, it's a nice collection of VU's songs but should only really be bought by someone who is new to the Velvets. Older fans should steer clear and just buy the, better quality, individual albums.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must for all, 20 Mar 2004
By 
Theo_gla (Glasgow United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
I am not a fun of Velvet Underground. I never was. I am just an ordinary guy who likes and pursuits good music of almost any kind. Before buying the album, I only knew a couple of songs from the group. But I thought to give it a try. After all, Velvet Underground is considered one of the most influential bands of all times. How would this collection be? And, oh boy, this is a good one! As previous reviewers have already commended, this “best of” has them all. All the classics we hear and enjoy in radio, bars or parties, all the music you need to have a good evening home. Simply, this is one of the rare albums you can hear over and over again, without having to skip certain tracks, without getting bored after a while. A must for everyone who appreciates good music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The perfect VU introduction, 6 May 2003
By 
"cwoyte" (Eindhoven, Netherlands) - See all my reviews
Hands down the best VU compilation currently available, because of its inclusion of tracks off "Loaded" (the band's fourth and final album, for Atlantic) and the general quality of song selection. "White Light/White Heat", second album and usually the compilers’ least favourite, makes a particularly strong showing here, but all studio albums are well represented.
Strangely for a band that has four live albums out, no live tracks, though.
The tracks off third album "The Velvet Underground", by the way, are represented in their original "closet mix" versions, giving a wider airing to the alternate take of Some Kinda Love.
The bottom line: all the classics are here, with some unexpected bonuses.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars breath of fresh air (for my generation), 3 April 2013
This review is from: The Very Best Of The Velvet Underground (MP3 Download)
After discovering Lou Reed not long ago and absolutely loved Transformer, I found out he was in a band before and instantly went on YouTube where I hears Andy Warhole and Nico and loved it.

the "very best" includes Sticking With You and Heroin.
I am only 17 and have been a fan of old stuff from the sixties because lets face if- todays stuff just sounds the same, so it was nice go hear un computerized music or adjusted vocals like this band.

While I certainly don't like ALL their stuff, some of the tracks like Femme Fatale and Stephanie Says are fun to song along to since their so original and clever and it has the relaxing Sunday Morning on their too, although songs like these do have some interesting double meanings- especially Lou's solo stuff (Walk On The Wild Side- isn't about animals)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars BRIIIANT, BRILLIANT BRILLIANT, 28 Dec 2010
Lou Reed and the Velvet Underground- do i need to say any more? Love the hippy bo-ho often depressing undertones of the songs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars MIXED UP SONIC GEMS, 20 May 2003
By 
Pieter Uys "Toypom" (Johannesburg) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
Most fans of the VU are very dedicated and over-familiar with this legendary band’s classic albums. That means they my not like this non-chronological sequence of tracks. I find it a refreshing listening experience because it highlights the individual songs instead of the overall feel of those album masterpieces. It’s great to hear Pale Blue Eyes after All Tomorrow’s Parties and to have it followed by Femme Fatale, it somehow seems right. Another refreshing sequence is the wistful Sunday Morning being followed by Rock ‘n Roll, which concludes the album. Of course this collection excludes some familiar tracks like The Gift but it does include most of their most accessible numbers like Sweet Jane, Waiting For The Man Venus In Furs and the aforementioned Pale Blue Eyes. Plus the controversial and experimental White Light White Heat and the overwhelming Heroin. A good selection, in my book, that’s why I don’t hesitate to give it five stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Proportionate Representation, 1 Jun 2012
Every couple of years sees a new compilation adding to the list of this cult 1960s rock group's posthumous releases. I feel that this particular budget-priced release provides a fairly impressive introduction to their output, despite its slightly sloppily written sleeve notes, bland presentation, and the absence of any of their more outré sonic experiments. The key reason for that is the democratic fashion in which material for its 18 tracks have been selected. That is shown in the stylistic breadth on display here. There are some full-on sonic assaults for which the band is renowned, such as the clangourous 'Heroin' and 'White Light/White Heat'. This is as one would expect: the name of the band is synonymous with sex, death, heroin, and the avant-garde. But there are also plenty of sweet-sounding pop and folk-rock melodies to be found on the track-listing as well - hear the likes of the enchanting 'Sunday Morning' and 'Pale Blue Eyes' for evidence of that. Those choices are a corrective to some of the lazier mythology that has clung so tenaciously to the band's reputation over the last 40 years. However, there are other contemporary compilations available which emphasise that point more thoroughly - such as Polydor's 2CD Gold [2005]. Nonetheless, this 74 minute long single-disc CD shouldn't be casually dismissed. Unlike that collection The Very Best of The Velvet Underground manages to provide proportionate representation to the first four studio albums created by the band's changing line-up between the late 1960s and early 1970s: The Velvet Underground & Nico; White Light/White Heat; The Velvet Underground, and Loaded. In doing these things, I think you begin to get some kind of understanding as to why this influential band, who are so often (dis)regarded as the antithesis of commercialism, ended up providing the soundtrack to 21st century car and tyre commercials.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Timeless album, 12 Nov 2014
Classic album for Velvet and Lou Reed fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Best of Velvs?, 10 Nov 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Very Best Of The Velvet Underground (MP3 Download)
I don't thinks so, personally, but, once again, there are some gems on here that the young folks are still trying to emulate/replicate with endless inefficiency.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Influential, 9 Nov 2013
By 
Amazon Customer (Ashford, Kent, England) - See all my reviews
Velvet were The New York band of the 60s scene and their influence was worldwide. My vinyl LPs from the time are now virtually unplayable so this CD collection keeps the times alive for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Very Best Of The Velvet Underground
The Very Best Of The Velvet Underground by The Velvet Underground
Buy MP3 Album£7.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews