Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


50 of 53 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SAHB AT THEIR ROCKING BEST - BEFORE THE FUN STARTED
I Bought FRAMED and NEXT in 1974 - nearly thrity years down the line and they still sound as good now - this was SAHB before they got really theatrical and boy did they rock - Hole in her stocking is still one of my favourite all time records - as an introduction to the SAHB these two together are briliant - they went on to show what a great band they were with the...
Published on 30 April 2002 by M. T. Smith

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Poor mastering.
The music is great but ruined by awful production/mastering, which does not do it any justice. Be wary. Hence only 2 stars.
Published 5 months ago by Sdermott


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

50 of 53 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SAHB AT THEIR ROCKING BEST - BEFORE THE FUN STARTED, 30 April 2002
By 
M. T. Smith "SMUDGER" (LONDON Great Britain) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Framed / Next (Audio CD)
I Bought FRAMED and NEXT in 1974 - nearly thrity years down the line and they still sound as good now - this was SAHB before they got really theatrical and boy did they rock - Hole in her stocking is still one of my favourite all time records - as an introduction to the SAHB these two together are briliant - they went on to show what a great band they were with the concept type albums that followed and the brilliant stage shows - I saw them 5 times and each time was a tremedous experience - it's about time they became available to a much wider audience
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the unforgettable alex harvey, 26 April 2006
By 
C. Andrews "welshguy" (tredegar gwent) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Framed / Next (Audio CD)
I first heard sahb in about 1974 after picking up next in a record store in cardiff took it home and played it for the first time and it blew me away i later found framed in a second hand store. I raved about sahb to all who would listen and quietly built up a small army of converts the highlight was to see the band live at the old cardiff capital in 1975 last year i was given next/framed cd for my birthday and was over the moon anyone who loves raw rock at its best should buy. i always have and will forever remain a loyal fan Geoff Andrews
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


34 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This Rocks! (Revised), 8 Feb 2005
This review is from: Framed / Next (Audio CD)
This rocks! (Revised)
In 1957 Alex Harvey won a competition to find Scotland's answer to Tommy Steele, winning that title gave him work as a backing singer for Gene Vincent and Eddie Cochran, so by the time he picked up a backing band called "Tear Gas" in summer of 1972 Alex had been working in Show business for nearly 30 years.
For when Alex and his band now renamed "The Sensational Alex Harvey Band" went into the studio to record the first of these re-issued albums "Framed" the sessions where completed in a week.
With it's no-frills rock approach with a twist of blues and with only 2 cover versions that being the title track Framed written by the legendary song writing team of Mike Leiber and Jerry Stroller and the song "I just want to make love to you" written by Willie Dixon both old blues songs Alex had taken and given a new lease of life with his venomous delivery that spat at you as he sang the lyrics.
The rest of the tracks were self-penned between Mr Harvey and the band, one of the stand out tracks for me is the self penned song "Isobel Goudie" which is split into 3 parts (Part1 My lady of the night) (Part2 Coitur Interruptus) (Part 3 Virgin and the Hunter) I think the titles are pretty much self explanatory and the closing track gives a good indication of what coming on the following album, "St Anthony" is a full blown boogie-woogie song with metallic sounding wah-wah guitars.
The following years follow-up album "Next" had expanded the sound of the band by the addition of strings and a brass section and the use of a custom made contraption called a "Tootlebug Drone" this was made for Alex in 60's by electronics wizard Ashley Tootle, this gave the track "Faith Healer" it's sinister throb that ran all the way through the song. But we are getting a head of ourselves, the opening track "Swampsnake" with its boogie-woogie sounding piano and harmonica was the first of many styles that this album has on it.
The very un-politically correct "Gang bang "using a narrative style of story-telling was one style the use of an old 50's hit called "Giddy-up-a-ding-dong was another (this is the only hit that Freddie Bell and the Bellboys had way back in September 1956 it got to number 5) and the other cover version is a tango influenced track written by Jacques Brel about a brothel.
The penultimate track "Vambo marble eye" is another rock work out with wah-wah guitar and heavy percussion, to finish this collection off Alex recorded what I think was one of the best songs of his career in my opinion.

"The last of The Teenage idols" which again has three distinct parts 1 2 and 3, part 1 slow piano dominated part, part 2 is all wah-wah guitars and heavy metal arrangements and the last part is a 50's do-wop version of the song that grinds to a halt.
These first 2 albums by this amazing band where there best in my humble opinion, this material shows a band with their full creative powers and they really where this tight playing live as well, another face of 70's glam not to be missed...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars overlooked but fantastic, 26 May 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Framed / Next (Audio CD)
i first "borrowed" framed from a school friends brother in the seventies.it was deleted at the time and never returned.this and next show exactly why alex & the boys rocked.a very welcome re issue especially as next was deleted on cd afew years ago.an overlooked and unmissable classic first lp.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars framed alex harvey, 10 Feb 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Framed / Next (Audio CD)
arrived very quickly and pleased with it would recommend to any one who likes alex harvey to buy this at such a good price
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic, 3 Dec 2010
By 
Tim Stevenson (London, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Framed / Next (Audio CD)
I already have Framed on Vinyl, but bought this chiefly for a studio version of Faith Healer on Next. It's longer that the one playing on Planet Rock at the moment, but none the worse for that. Other reviews here already rightly praise the musicality etc of the band, so I'll just add that the CD quality is good enough to really bring out the music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Next - good, Framed - not so good!, 12 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Framed / Next (Audio CD)
I like the Next Album but the Framed album isn't as good!
I would recommend this to mostly older people as it is music from their era but as a 20 year old myself, I do like this music, it's really different and unique :)
My favourite tracks on the Next album are Swampsnake and The last of the teenage idol (parts 1-3)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This rocks!, 5 Feb 2004
This review is from: Framed / Next (Audio CD)
In 1957 "Alex Harvey" won a competition to find Scotland's answer to "Tommy Steele", winning that title gave him work as a backing singer for "Gene Vincent" and "Eddie Cochran", so by the time he picked up a backing band called "Tear Gas" in summer of 1972 "Alex" had been working in Show business for nearly 30 years.

For when "Alex" and his band now renamed "The Sensational Alex Harvey Band" went into the studio to record the first of these re-issued albums "Framed" the sessions where completed in a week.
With it's no-frills rock approach with a twist of blues and with only 2 cover versions that being the title track "Framed" written by the legendary song writing team of "Mike Leiber" and "Jerry Stroller" and the song "I just want to make love to you" written by "Willie Dixon" both old blues songs "Alex" had taken and given a new lease of life with his venomous delivery that spat at you as he sang the lyrics.

The rest of the tracks were self-penned between "Mr Harvey" and the band, one of the stand out tracks for me is the self penned song "Isobel Goudie" which is split into 3 parts (Part1 My lady of the night) (Part2 Coitur Interruptus) (Part 3 Virgin and the Hunter) I think the titles are pretty much self explanatory and the closing track gives a good indication of what coming on the following album, "St Anthony is a full blown boogie-woogie song with metal sounding wah-wah guitars.
The following years follow-up album "Next" had expanded the sound of the band by the addition of strings and a brass section and the use of a custom made contraption called a "Tootlebug Drone" this was made for "Alex" in 60's by electronics wizard "Ashley Tootle", this gave the track "Faith Healer" it's sinister throb that ran all the way through the song. But we are getting a head of ourselves, the opening track "Swampsnake" with its boogie-woogie sounding piano and harmonica was the first of many styles that this album has on it.
The very un-politically correct "Gang bang "using a narrative style of story-telling was one style the use of an old 50's hit called "Giddy-up-a-ding-dong was another (this is the only hit that "Freddie Bell and the Bellboys had way back in September 1956 it got to number 5) and the other cover version is a tango influenced track written by "Jacques Brel" about a brothel.
The penultimate track "Vambo marble eye" is another rock work out with wah-wah guitar and heavy percussion, to finish this collection off "Alex" recorded what I think was one of the best songs of his career in my opinion "The last of The Teenage idols" which again has three distinct parts 1 2 and 3, part 1 slow piano dominated part, part 2 is all wah-wah guitars and heavy metal arrangements and the last part is a 50's do-wop version of the song that grinds to a halt.

These first 2 albums by this amazing band where there best in my humble opinion, this material shows a band with their full creative powers and they really where this tight playing live as well, another face of 70's glam not to be missed...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Sensational - I kid you not!, 4 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Framed / Next (Audio CD)
Two excellent albums in one package. Alex, Zal & the chaps bring you The Faith Healer, Vambo Marble Eye & a host of other top tunes for your aural delight! I had these albums on vinyl when they came out in the 1970s, and they still sound every bit as good as they did when I was a much younger hippie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The very first., 28 Jun 2014
By 
G. G. Saunders "Rock Dr." (West Sussex .UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Framed / Next (Audio CD)
These two classic albums in one box, I was lucky to see the band live twice and I am happy to replace my vinyl with this CD..recommended and under rated they were!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Framed / Next (Chunky Repackaged)
Framed / Next (Chunky Repackaged) by The Sensational Alex Harvey Band
Buy MP3 Album£8.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews