Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A fine Geffen retrospective
"Young Lust - The Aerosmith Anthology" chronicles Aerosmith's Geffen-years from the mid-eighties onward, and once you've gotten their early hits, this is where you go for the rest.
Gathering 34 singles, album tracks and live cuts, "Young Lust" offers a fine retrospective, managing to include almost all of the best songs from Aerosmith's last six studio albums. And if...
Published on 5 Oct 2003 by Docendo Discimus

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars A little disappointing
This looked like a good compilation, with some rare tracks for the casual fan to make it interesting, but it's a bit of a let down. What it proves is that Aerosmith were really a hit and miss band, with lots of filler. And side left and right refers to a bra, with a helpful picture of a bra in case you didn't get the err... joke. Stay classy Aerosmith.
Published 2 months ago by Brian_OWC


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A fine Geffen retrospective, 5 Oct 2003
By 
Docendo Discimus (Vita scholae) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
"Young Lust - The Aerosmith Anthology" chronicles Aerosmith's Geffen-years from the mid-eighties onward, and once you've gotten their early hits, this is where you go for the rest.
Gathering 34 singles, album tracks and live cuts, "Young Lust" offers a fine retrospective, managing to include almost all of the best songs from Aerosmith's last six studio albums. And if you're a casual fan, this is pretty much all you need.
I would have preferred a leaner version of "Amazing" to the orchestrated one included here, but the acoustic rendition of the hit "Livin' On The Edge" is really good, and Run-DMC's take on the sublime hard rock song "Walk This Way" is included, too.
The live versions of "Dream On" and "Sweet Emotion" are sort of pointless, though, and those two should have been left off in favour of two or three more songs from the band's Geffen years ("Fever" and "Pink" would have been nice), but if you can overlook small flaws like those I just mentioned, the selection is generally very good.
The MTV-staples "Dude (looks like a lady)" and "Love In An Elevator" are here, as well as the power ballads "Angel", "Cryin'", and "Crazy", the underrated blues shuffle "Hangman Jury", the melodious "Janie's Got A Gun", "The Other Side", and "What It Takes", and the hard rockers "Eat The Rich", "Head First", "Let The Music Do The Talking", "Rag Doll", and "My Fist Your Face". And "Young Lust" also includes "Deuces Are Wild", "Blind Man" and "Walk On Water", the three new songs from the band's previous Geffen compilation, "Big Ones", and their excellent version of the Doors' "Love Me Two Times".
All in all, this is the best available collection of Aerosmith's latter-day output. Get this one, and the excellent box set "Pandora's Box" for their seventies classics, and you're set!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A very good evaluation of the Geffen years, 1 Dec 2001
I would firstly like to point out to the reviewer who typed his review on 26th November, that the reason none of the newest tracks are on the album ie. Just Push Play and Nine Lives is that they were on Columbia's record label. This is a Geffen best of collection and the only reason they have Fallin in Love (is hard on the Knees) and Hole In My Soul on it is that they are from A Little South Of Sanity, a geffen production.
But I'm not saying that this is a poor album though. I was very impressed with this compilation and there are very few tracks that I would take off and even fewer that I would have put on.
If you get Pandora's Box (the compilation of the earlier years) and this CD then you will have a very good taste of Aerosmith.
Also, If you buy this and like it then I suggest you get A Little South Of Sanity as it continues to be the best live album that I have in my collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars ONE OF THE ALL-TIME 'ROCK-LEGENDS', 13 Jun 2014
By 
rbmusicman (U.K) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
The 'American' ''Rock-Group' 'Aerosmith' have become 'Cult-Legends' revered by
Rock Fans Old and New.
The Group formed way back in 1970 (The Bad Boys of Boston) they were signed
up by record company 'Columbia' in 1972.
The line-up did have several changes during it's early years, suffering a lot of bad
press with 'drug -issues'
Their early material though gaining critical acclaim didn't really set the charts alight
with success, though they did have a string of entries in the 'Billboard Charts' mainly
lower -order in truth, a similar pattern occurred here in the U.K
Though the Album-Sales remained steady the single releases this side of the 'Atlantic'
were a little hit and miss in truth, this 2-CD release does have pretty much all their U.K
Hit material on-board.
Among the U.K Chart entries - 'Dude' (Looks Like A Lady) (Chart '45' 1987) and again
(Chart '20' 1990) 'Love In An Elevator' (Chart '13' 1989) 'Rag Doll' (Chart '42' 1990)
'Living On The Edge' (Chart '19' 1993) 'Cryin' (Chart '17' 1993) 'Shut Up and Dance'
(Chart '24' 1994) and 'Falling In Love (Is Hard On The Knees) (Chart '22' 1997)
among the many.
This album covers much of their Hit material recorded on the Columbia label prior to 1999
of course the 'Geffen' Hit is not included, and yes the group continued to Chart on the
Columbia label beyond 1998.
'AEROSMITH' One of the Great 'Vocal' and 'Instrumentally -Sound' 'Rock-Groups' of our
Time, this a great reflection of some of their best known material.
My daughter dug this out of my collection for me to play after I'd read '500' reviewer 'Timelord's'
review of an 'Aerosmith' album....Thanks for the reminder 'Timelord 007'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars the twins are growing old gracefully, 12 July 2005
aerosmith the "bad boys" of rock and roll, the "toxic twins" steven tyler and joe perry the backbone behind aerosmith's success, them guys know how to write catchy tunes, on this two disc whirlwind of a rock history, you've got ballads and hard rockers from 80's aerosmith a beyond why no 70's aerosmith stuff included like so many aerosmith fans have ask, don't they think that any of there 70's material was any good? well some of it was rubbish but most of it was class..oh so they decided to put a live version of "dream on" which is better than the original but there could of been more room for more 70's material
buy these discs do have some ball breaking songs
dude looks like a lady, rag doll, dream on, eat the rich, what it takes...etc...
aerosmith change there style of music over the past few years if you want aerosmith at there best buy this you won't be disappointed...."it's only rock and roll"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A (almost) great compilation, 28 Nov 2001
By A Customer
This has to be the ultimate Areosmith album. One of those bands who have been around for ever, they have put all their greatest hits on one album. Some great tracks, a few good tracks but also some average ones.
Overall though, if you havent got any of their other albums i would recommend you buying this!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A good mix for semi-fans and fanatics alike, 7 Jan 2002
By A Customer
A thorough chronicle of the Geffen years, this compilation provides a good mix for those dabbling in Aerosmith fandom and at the same time gives the hardcore fans some great hard to find snippets. It is almost exactly the track listing I would have compiled for the release myself. Adding "Ain't Enough", "Don't Stop" and Can't Stop Messin'" should be enough to excite the true fans. For those buyers who didn't realize Aerosmith existed between "Toys In The Attic" and "Dude Looks Like A Lady", "Young Lust" eeks out a few tunes from "Done With Mirrors", which seems to have been overlooked by recent chronologies of Aerosmith's music and history. Compared to the last best-of (Big Ones) and the Live "...South Of Sanity", this double dose has the best mix of hits, deep cuts and rare tracks that anyone could put on disc. Could it have been better? . . . only if it were all live, but don't expect to hear many of these songs when you go to the concert; the set list would be hours long before more than a few of these jewels would make it to the stage. My advice. . . buy it, slip it into your car's CD player, and try not to drive too fast.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not bad, but not the best..., 4 Dec 2001
By A Customer
For sheer Aero entertainment, 'Young Lust' is about as comprehensive as you can get from a compilation album. It charts the band's rise in the 70's, politely misses out the rehab period, then goes on through till '97's 'Nine Lives'. For the average fan who was impressed by the recent album releases of 'Just Push Play' 'A Little South of Sanity' and 'Big Ones' this is a superb buy. But for a man like me, who likes purchasing the individual albums and listening to more obscure tunes captured on 'Young Lust' ("Monkey On My Back" for one) this was a disappointment. Don't buy this compilation if you intend to purchase several Aerosmith albums, or you could ruin your collection before you begin.
A good buy, none the less.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A little disappointing, 4 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This looked like a good compilation, with some rare tracks for the casual fan to make it interesting, but it's a bit of a let down. What it proves is that Aerosmith were really a hit and miss band, with lots of filler. And side left and right refers to a bra, with a helpful picture of a bra in case you didn't get the err... joke. Stay classy Aerosmith.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars As expected - Fantastic!, 4 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
What can you say? It's Aerosmith! Great tracks, great album. Rock n roll!! Songs that will live on forever! Aerosmith have been around for years but there isn't a stale track on CD
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Decent., 2 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Good CD, missing a few of my preferred songs but good for something to just have on in the car or in the kitchen. Its just a good CD for having all of Aerosmiths classics all in one place really.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews