Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


39 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Value!
What a great collection, three classic films in one case. They are all nice clean, crisp transfers and the audio is fine considering the age of the films. Plus there are some nice extras on 7th Voyage. A must for fantasy fans.
Published on 28 Jan 2008 by Coach Potato

versus
3 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars sinbad
I bought this dvd for my 8 year old son and although he likes them all the only one he watches again and again is the first film...Seventh Voyage of Sinbad. The action in the films are great for his age group and younger but the pace of the other two films too slow. I would recommend buying just the one film.
Published on 27 April 2009 by 11seahorse


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

39 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Value!, 28 Jan 2008
What a great collection, three classic films in one case. They are all nice clean, crisp transfers and the audio is fine considering the age of the films. Plus there are some nice extras on 7th Voyage. A must for fantasy fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sinbad Travels And Adventers, 4 May 2010
By 
This review is from: Sinbad And The Eye Of The Tiger/The 7th Voyage/The Golden Voyage [DVD] (DVD)
This trio of old fashioned action films has long been one of my favourites and I have been longing to add it to my collection for sometime.It may not appeal to everyone but I find the combination of action,fun, make beleive etc to be a change from the computer generated images etc that we are flooded with nowadays so to anyone who is looking for an old fashioned film with plenty of action then I fully recommend that you give these a viewing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sinbad Collection Review, 20 Oct 2009
By 
E. Banks (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The product arrived promptly and was exactly as described: new and in the manufacturer's packaging. The picture quality is very good, and the stories are very enjoyable for children aged 8+.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sinbad sails again!, 11 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sinbad And The Eye Of The Tiger/The 7th Voyage/The Golden Voyage [DVD] (DVD)
Sinbad and the Eye of the Tiger/the 7th Voyage/the Golden Voyage [DVD]

If you're interested in the technical aspects of these three films, this review is for you.

ASPECT RATIO:
The films are listed as 1.85:1 widescreen, but in reality they are not. 10% of each film was cropped from the top and 10% from the bottom, in order to give the appearance of widescreen.

LANGUAGES:
Each film offers a soundtrack in English, French, German, Italian, and Spanish. (All Mono). The subtitles available are Arabic, Czech, Danish, Dutch, English, Finnish, French, German, Greek, Hebrew, Hindi, Hungarian, Italian, Norwegian, Polish, Portuguese, Spanish, Swedish, and Turkish.

SPECIAL FEATURES:
Trailers for Sinbad and the Eye of the Tiger, Jason and the Argonauts, The Golden Voyage of Sinbad

Interviews with Ray Harryhausen include one with Hollywood director John Landis about Jason and the Argonauts, as well as interviews about Mysterious Island, The 3 Worlds of Gulliver, and Earth vs. the Flying Saucers.

The Ray Harryhausen Chronicles, narrated by Leonard Nimoy.

Vintage advertising includes original posters for The Seventh Voyage of Sinbad, as well as a vintage featurette entitled 'This is Dynamation!' which explains some of Harryhausen's special effects techniques.

There are also filmographies and talent profiles for Harryhausen, as well as directors and cast members involved with the 3 films.

ADDITIONAL COMMENTS:
For the completists out there who may care, The Golden Voyage of Sinbad originally contained an accidental nude scene with actress Caroline Munro about 49 minutes into the film, when she is being carried ashore by Sinbad. This scene has been censored out digitally, with CGI hair covering Miss Munro's exposed flesh.

Anyway, aspect ratio botchery and censorship aside, these are great adventure films from the great Ray Harryhausen, and are fully recommended from that standpoint. I just hope at some point these films are given the care they deserve, namely a full restoration not marred by pointless cuts or censorship.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic trio, 21 April 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is the stuff that vintage movie dreams are made of. All the thrill of the Arabian nights, lavish costumes, OTT villains and the superb animations of Ray Harryhausen. Excellent adventures for kids of all ages.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Monsterific, 1 Sep 2009
By 
P. Roberts "Goonalan" (Tipton Fairylights on Jelly) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
How many Harryhausen monsters can any man stand- buy this collection of pre-CGI wonderment and put it to the test.

Me and the Mrs. are thinking of breaking out the play-doh and recreating some of these marvelous beasts in the confines of our bedroom- Rah!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Adventures Of Sinbad, 8 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sinbad And The Eye Of The Tiger/The 7th Voyage/The Golden Voyage [DVD] (DVD)
These are the films that got me into the fantasy genre when I was younger. Films on a Sunday afternoon filled with action, monsters, mythology, beautiful ladies and good old swashbuckling fun - what's not to love!

Considering the age of the films, the transfer to DVD is nice and clear with some nice supplemental features with The 7th Voyage disc (not checked out the other two films yet). But for a package of three of the best films from special effects master Ray Harryhausen, and at this price too, it's a steal! Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sinbad, 13 July 2012
By 
J. banks "banksy" (Lancashire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sinbad And The Eye Of The Tiger/The 7th Voyage/The Golden Voyage [DVD] (DVD)
This takes me back to my childhood when I used to go watching star wars and others. Eye of the tiger was always the first film on and what a classic it is to
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars classic Sunday afternoon films, 5 Sep 2011
By 
This review is from: Sinbad And The Eye Of The Tiger/The 7th Voyage/The Golden Voyage [DVD] (DVD)
Sinbad is an Arabic pirate who travels the seas with great adventure. Ray Harryhausen Fans will not be dissapointed and although it depicts monters it is kid friendly as long as they are supervised.

The acting is adequate and the story lines are well done but its all about the action and aside from some dodgy sword play once in a while its is all good.

Really anjoyable and a great price, sit back erlax and enjoy a Sunday afternoon film
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sunday afternoon favourites, 18 April 2011
By 
M. Evans - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Sinbad And The Eye Of The Tiger/The 7th Voyage/The Golden Voyage [DVD] (DVD)
I remember seeing these films alot on tv when I was a kid, usually on a sunday afternoon or a bank holiday, and I'm pleased to say that I still find them as enjoyable now as I did back then. The creature effects by Ray Harryhausen are still remarkable after all these years, and far more satisfying than the dull CGI rubbish we get today. The best of the 3 is Golden Voyage which has some wonderful moments, an excellent villain in Tom Baker and probably the best effects. The creatures that still work the best in these films are the cyclops from 7th Voyage, the 6 armed Kali statue from Golden Voyage and the Troglodyte in Eye of the Tiger. All in all, these films are excellent and it's a shame there weren't any more Sinbad films made with Harryhausen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews