Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great show...not so good DVD
Its true, there are many things that are not very good about this DVD. The editing quite frankly leaves allot to be desired. It seems rushed and as the previous reviewer says it can be distracting.

However the show itself is on point! Not as good as Bigger and Blacker but better than Never Scared. I saw the show in London and it was the best show I have ever...
Published on 1 Dec 2009 by Derek Mensah - Kane

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars kill the repetition Chris..
since Rock's early promise as self-assumed heir to the comedy crown left by richard pryor + eddie murphy in the last ten years or so , his stage act has become ever more hectoring + for me self-serving. "Bigger + Blacker", using material from his early HBO specials of which "Kill The Messenger" is 2008's version have seen a reduction of his early promise into repetition...
Published 19 months ago by simon mack


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great show...not so good DVD, 1 Dec 2009
This review is from: Chris Rock: Kill The Messenger [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
Its true, there are many things that are not very good about this DVD. The editing quite frankly leaves allot to be desired. It seems rushed and as the previous reviewer says it can be distracting.

However the show itself is on point! Not as good as Bigger and Blacker but better than Never Scared. I saw the show in London and it was the best show I have ever been to. The atmosphere was electric, it was like being at a Wembley gig. Absolutely quality. Unfortunately, solely because of the editing the shine is somewhat dulled....but only slightly.

Chris Rock is an immensely funny man. His presence, his swagger, his self deprecating stories and other jokes are fresh and or come from angles that make you think and laugh out loud (which isn't easy).

I say buy this DVD if you are a fan, saw the show or just like a few laughs. You won't have seen a performance like this. Chris Rock we salute you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 3 disc special edition solves the editing issues, 29 Jan 2010
By 
S. Chohan (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Chris Rock: Kill The Messenger [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
For those of you who are put off by the way the HBO special edits between the three shows, there is a 3-disc special edition out there for around 20 (not on amazon at the moment) where disc one is the HBO edit, but discs two and three show each of the shows in their entirety.

While admittedly the material is largely similar across the gigs, it is still a decent investment to overcome the issues of the HBO edit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great mixture of venues for a great stand-up DVD., 1 Nov 2011
This review is from: Chris Rock: Kill The Messenger [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
I like this one not just Chris Rock's stand-up DVDs are as gold as ever. It's filmed in 3 different venues rather than just one. New York, London and Johannesburg. Great DVD, Great jokes, still the funny Chris Rock I know.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars legend !, 4 Jan 2010
By 
This review is from: Chris Rock: Kill The Messenger [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
compared to his other dvds sure its not better than some, but its much better than other stand up dvds i got this xmas, a whole fresh new routine made this for me non of that milking of old material like other comedians.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great standup, 21 Nov 2013
By 
Mr. J. Joseph "Jay" (South West London, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chris Rock: Kill The Messenger [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
Chris Rock is in my top 5 comedians and Kill the messenger is one of my favourite stand ups, he went in hard on this and I have alot of respect for him for doing this when he didn't need to do another stand up.

Highly recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Genius!!!, 31 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chris Rock: Kill The Messenger [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
Chris Rock is one of the funniest comedians I have ever watched!!

His comedy is on point and relevant and his comedy reaches out across all classes, races and genders!

Taken from his tour in the UK, New York and South Africa Chris Rock discusses the Presidential Elections of the USA, behaviours in the bedroom, racism and children all in a light hearted side splitting way whilst giving you food for thought at the same time.

Next time I would love to be able see him in person!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Chris Rock doing what he does best, 24 July 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chris Rock: Kill The Messenger [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
As usual Chris touches on subjects that everyone can relate to. Some of the topics are controversal but that is to be expected with Chris overall this is a very good DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Dvd, 9 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chris Rock: Kill The Messenger [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
I bought this for my son part of a christmas stocking filler. He was really pleased says its very funny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars kill the repetition Chris.., 4 Sep 2012
This review is from: Chris Rock: Kill The Messenger [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
since Rock's early promise as self-assumed heir to the comedy crown left by richard pryor + eddie murphy in the last ten years or so , his stage act has become ever more hectoring + for me self-serving. "Bigger + Blacker", using material from his early HBO specials of which "Kill The Messenger" is 2008's version have seen a reduction of his early promise into repetition of earlier themes of racism, the sexes +social polarities. (Eddie Izzard is for me another example of diminishing returns)

as a fan of Rock for some ten years- i find "KTM" a bit of haul. mutliple cut editing across the much hyped new york,london + johannesburg venues of the same material, Rock's use of repeating "key" words in his routine like we're all simpletons (the Barak Obama rap is a particular offender) + recycled material from earlier dvd "Never Scared" make "KTM" below prime Rock release. very funny in places - but his over use of the race + sex material is beginning to wear a little thin.

"KTM" is ok to good, for newcomers, but "Bigger + Blacker" is the best place to start with Rock's comedy. oh + Pryor still holds the king of comedy crown on so many levels - that Rock is really barely a contender - he just doesnt have Pryor's vulnerability, humanity or non "race" observational skills.

i predict Rock will nominate for the (ironic) White House in ten years, such is his vaulting self promotion + ambition, but he'll have to drop the BJ raps by then. discuss..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Back at his best, 13 Dec 2009
By 
This review is from: Chris Rock: Kill The Messenger [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
Loved it, Chris Rock is a fantastic, edgy comedian with great timing and intelligent observation. not for the sensitive, but if you have seen earlier stuff you will love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa6e1960c)

This product

Chris Rock: Kill The Messenger [DVD] [2009]
Chris Rock: Kill The Messenger [DVD] [2009] by Marty Callner (DVD - 2009)
4.50
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews