Customer Reviews


63 Reviews
5 star:
 (40)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Boyz II men=greatest boy band ever
This is a colllection of all Boyz II mens greatest hits and every track is an absolute classic.For years I listened to rock music and used to laugh at this type of pop,but Boyz II men have shown me how great pop music is when done the right way.
Stand out tracks include everyones favourites 'End of the road','I'll make love to you','On bended knee' and my personal...
Published on 13 Jan. 2005 by segadc4eva

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars legary
nice cd arrived on time and in good condistion but again not lover of all tracks again need to look better about what tracks are on there
Published 12 months ago by cherylchurch


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Boyz II men=greatest boy band ever, 13 Jan. 2005
By 
segadc4eva (North Wales, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Legacy [Deluxe Edition" (Audio CD)
This is a colllection of all Boyz II mens greatest hits and every track is an absolute classic.For years I listened to rock music and used to laugh at this type of pop,but Boyz II men have shown me how great pop music is when done the right way.
Stand out tracks include everyones favourites 'End of the road','I'll make love to you','On bended knee' and my personal favourite 'water runs dry'.Having said this there is not a bad song on the album.Tracks like 'in the still of the night'show Boyz II men at their most harmonic,while 'motownphilly'adds edge to an already superlative album.
They are the undoubted kings of ballads,and perhaps criminally now ignored by the British public.This being a shame because I genuinely believe B2M are the greatest band of the last 15 years.
Everyone must own this album-simply a must have for music lovers of every kind
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding, 15 Nov. 2001
This review is from: Legacy: Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
For 10 years and through 7 albums (counting the remixes and christmas ones) Boys II Men have provided the standard by which all other R'n'B quartets have measured against. Now with the release of their greatest hits album they have put all thier hits onto one cd. When I say all their hits, I mean ALL THEIR HITS and therefore this album can only be described as a must have. You have to buy it- its as simple as that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just as I imagined!, 8 Dec. 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Legacy: Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
If your thinking about buying a boyz II men album, then this is a must have, in fact, if your thinking of only buying 1 album this year, then this is a must have. 'Legacy' is just like its title, a summary of boyz II men and it truly belongs in anyones CD collection, whether your a rock, pop, soul, RnB, Hip Hop or dance lover
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Boyz II Men: Legacy - The Greatest Hits Collection, 18 Jan. 2008
You may have seen Boyz II Men in the spotlight recently, as they released their own cover versions of Motown classics.
The Legacy is about Boyz II Men's journey from early hip hop, or contemporary soul to ballads, and all are included on this wonderfull collection.
Their success during the 1990's is well understood after hearing this album, tracks like "End of the Road", "One Sweet Day" and "On Bended Knee" show Boyz II Men's vocal abilities, which near perfection.
"End of the Road" was featured in the Eddie Murphy film "Boomerang", and was written and produced by Kenneth "Babyface" Edmonds, and became Motown's biggest selling single, a fact not hard to believe after hearing the vocal quality and emotional tone of the track overall.
"One Sweet Day" was a duet with Mariah Carey, and broke U.S Billboard Chart records. The song is about the death of a lover, and the hope of seeing him/her again. The emotion in the song is high, Boyz II Men's and Mariah Carey's vocal styles work together in perfect harmony to capture the hope that the subject will see his/her lover once again.
"One Bended Knee" is another typical Boyz II Men smash hit, and incorporates the vocal styles of "I'll Make Love to You", "End of the Road" and "One Sweet Day", that being the emotional intensity of the situation the song is about, in this case, a break up, and the boy wanting to get back together, and apologising for his wrong doing. As in "End of the Road", one of the band members "talks" during the track, this band member often being called the "Bass" of the band.
"Motownphilly", Boyz II Men's first hit single, captures the musical vision of their first manager, a member of the 1980's band "New Edition", which kick started the Boy-Band phenomenon that would occur during, and after, Boyz II Men's success in the 1990's. The track is about the boy's time in Philadelphia, where they grew up. The song proceeds to put a positive spin on their time growing up, but in reality, as stated in "Legacy: Deluxe Edition", they were surrounded by crime. The sound of the song is completely different to the rest of the album, and reflects the sounds of "New Edition's" solo and group careers, such as "Bell Biv Devoe", the difference being, the smoothness of Boyz II Men's vocals, perhaps showing their manager they were capable of more than just the typical, run of the mill style sounds that were coming from similar artists.
"4 Seasons of Loneliness" is a smooth ballad, about a break up and the changing seasons, and how the boy views the girl with each change of season. Unlike "End of the Road", "On Bended Knee" and "One Sweet Day", the vocal style is softer, making more use of the talented Bass singer Michael. The difference in the vocal style is a snippet from Boyz II Men's 1997 album "Evolution". The song didn't do so well in America, unlike previous releases, due to Princess Diana's death, which saw the release of "Candle in the Wind" by Elton John. The song is very relaxing to listen too, and doesn't have the heaviness of "One Sweet Day" and "On Bended Knee".
Other tracks on the album show Boyz to Men's other popular tracks, such as "Song For Mama" and "Water Runs Dry".
The entire album really does show the true legacy of Boyz II Men, and is a perfect addition to anyone's music collection. May the legacy continue on.
An absolute masterpiece.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 30 Nov. 2003
By 
Jenny (Sussex, England) - See all my reviews
For anyone who is already a fan of Boyz II Men, this album is a must. The songs featured really are the band's greatest hits from soulful ballads with goosebump good vocals, to the funky old skool tracks.
You will like this album if you like groups such as Blackstreet, and Next, or if you like the guest artists such as LL Cool J and Mariah Carey.
Basically, my advice is buy it, with the classic tunes, you won't be disapointed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful, 16 Jan. 2008
I'm not an overly 'mushy' kind of girl but I have to say that this CD can only be described in one word...'Beautiful'. These are songs that will touch and move you in ways that most modern-day songs never do. They're songs that you can listen to over and over again without getting tired of hearing them. These men have amazingly beautiful voices. This collection is just...Beautiful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars purely r&b heaven, 27 Feb. 2002
By A Customer
boyz 2 men have always being the dons of male r&b, without them such boy groups as 112 and even the backstrret boys wouldnt exist as theve open the gates and showed the quality boy bands have!
the legacy has took all the classic r&b love songs from all the albums that boyz 2 men have done and put in onto 1 album. if thats not askin to be platinum then i dont no wot is!!
there is a song for everyone on this album, the r&b that boys to men create is that that no other band seems to bhe able to!
i say the album is one of the best of the year and will surely do well
peace
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing as ever!!!, 14 Sept. 2004
If you like Boyz 2 Men and are a big a fan as me then you'll love this album, a good mixture of old and new, sentimental and just funky - i love it!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not even my style... but i like this alot., 5 April 2005
By 
The Honest Cynic (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
What I love about R'n'B is it can address feelings and emotions that other types of music find hard to grasp. B2M's Legacy is really a collection of songs that can help you express those feelings and is an ideal gift for a girl. After all, it is a female audience the lyrical content is aimed at, and a B2M song on the dancefloor is the very mark of the moment to go for a girl.
While a male audience may not find it a neccessary CD for their collection, its always useful to keep this CD about, especially when you want to get a little... intimite. The rest is up to you what you do along to the music... this is good chillout material.
Many of the songs are anthems to slow jammers worldwide, and immediate recognition from female ears guarantees you will have a good time with this CD. The songs are all good, their general structure being to sing the verses then the energetic choruses with a big buildup at the end. Aside from whereelse stated, they all conform to the same style of R'n'B.
This is a cool greatest hits CD and the impression it leaves would influence me to peep out other B2M albums. A job well done.
See the full review @ the site in my "where i'm from" heading
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A tear-jerking collection, 10 May 2003
By A Customer
This album is one of the most beautiful in my collection, and comprises of the absolute best of Boyz II Men. Their rich voices with haunting harmonies appear on every track, ranging from the classic "I'll Make Love to you" to the blues-style, funky "In The Still of the Night". Guaranteed to bring a tear to your eye is the fantastic "One Sweet Day" with Mariah Carey - undoubtably the best song on the album, along with "Water Runs Dry" and "On Bended Knee". If you're looking for a collection of quality, meaningful R'n'b love songs, then there's nobody that does it better than Boyz II Men. A must for your collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews