Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

39 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The First, the best, the yardstick by which to judge her., 29 Oct 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Song To A Seagull (Audio CD)
This, Joni Mitchell's first album is still, in my opinion her best. The anguish in her voice, especially on the haunting "I Had A King", the first track, grabs your attention and keeps it through all ten tracks. Tracks 1, 2, 3, 5 and 9 would grace any album by any singer. The lyrics could stand alone.
Rumour has it the album was originally entitled "Song To A Seagull" (see the cover). It could also have been called "Joni Mitchell meets Crosby, Stills and Nash" as Crosby produced it, Stills played bass guitar and Nash was her partner at that time. But any other title would do it an injustice, for this IS "Joni Mitchell".
Buy it and enjoy it, as I have done for over thirty years, yes it was first released in 1968.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A stunning first album, 30 Aug 2007
By 
Dylan Moore - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Song To A Seagull (Audio CD)
This is a classic example of the "brilliant first album". An artist puts years of ideas into her first offering, with her own unadulterated personality on display. The result is powerful, innovative, and retains its rough edges.

I first heard it in 1968, when it fell loosely into the "folky" category. Adolescent fans of that genre (as I was) idolized people like Bob Dylan and Paul Simon as "Folk Poets". Half-way through the first track, scanning the words on the record cover, I had one of life's epiphanies. I thought "This woman really is a poet!" Her words, in this and many subsequent albums, make all those other song writers seem insipid, artless, incompetent.

Her arrival on the scene was actually quite explosive. She had a lot of street credibility from the outset. She grew up in Saskatoon, in the Canadian far-north. She had given birth to and parted with a child, been briefly married, and done her time playing in cellars in the Boho zone. She was in with Crosby, Stills and Nash and a host of others at the sharp end of the music scene of the time. Many well-known artists started recording her songs almost immediately. Everyone was entranced with her words. She had influential fans for two years before the production of this first album.

For her first album, she interestingly chose to record newly-written songs, in a "concept" format, rather than record the songs for which she was already famous (some of which she included in her second album). Although she was 25 when the album was issued, the sentiments of the songs are often adolescent, sometimes tooth-jarringly so. In the cover notes, she says "This album is dedicated to Mr Kratzman, who taught me to love words"!! Songs like "Michael from Mountains" and "The Dawntreader" seethe with adolescent neurosis. It contrasts with her work from 1971 onwards, which was as adult as it gets. This may seem like a criticism from anyone who is, or aspires to be, an adult, but I have always felt that we were all adolescents once, and adolescents have as much right to be heard as anyone, particularly when they express themselves with the artistry shown here.

Another juvenile characteristic of these songs is the sexual passivity of their sentiments - a trait she later gleefully abandoned. Perhaps also juvenile are the manic-depressive mood-swings of the album, ranging from wild elation to the depths of despair. However, this remained a characteristic of her later work. Compare "Carey" and "The Last Time I Saw Richard" on "Blue" (1971).

Musically, the album is set apart from later offerings by the extraordinary vocal range she then had. A complaint of people trying to sing her early songs (everybody did) was the impossibility of hitting the high and low notes she used, no matter what key was tried. Later, she lost this range, perhaps from over-exposure or from the excesses of the 1960s fast-lane. Listen to "Silky Veils of Ardour" on "Don Juan's Reckless Daughter" (1977), which is an amusing pastiche of her early, folky style, delivered in almost a monotone.

In the early days, she mainly played ukulele, often using (I think) strange tunings which she later transferred to guitar, and this adds to the edgy, spare and atmospheric feeling of the music on this album. Hear particularly "I Had a King", where the jarring chord structure mirrors the anger and menace of the words. Her instrumental eccentricity is treated very sympathetically by the Crosby/Stills production, which resists over-elaboration and maintains the simplicity and intimacy of the music with no more than just the right amount of reverb.

In theme, the songs of the album follow the program laid down in "Song to a Seagull". In fact, on the original LP, side 1 was entitled "I came to the city" and side 2 was called "Out of the city and down to the seaside". It describes arrival in "the city" (presumably NY), elated participation in city life, inevitable sexual betrayal, and final descent into urban paranoia. Then comes the rural phase, idyllic at first, then menacing, and finally coming to terms with an adult fact: as every prisoner of the white lines on the freeway knows, when you run away, your problems follow close behind - geography is never the solution!

So what do you get from this album? Poetry as good as any you'll hear in a song, and music that's original and challenging. Although her later work was so much more mature, this remains almost (not quite) my favourite of her albums, because of the "first album" effect - the lack of sophistication is in itself attractive, and the pent-up force of what she had to say hits you between the eyes. Has it worn well over the last 38 years? Absolutely! Unlike much of the music of 1968 (a lot to choose from) it sounds as fresh now as that first day I heard it.

"I call to the seagull who dives to the waters
And catches his silver-fine dinner alone
Crying where are the footprints that danced on these beaches
And the hands that cast wishes that sunk like a stone?"

Here, I guess.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Song To A Seagull, 6 Aug 2004
By 
Lozarithm (Wilts, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Song To A Seagull (Audio CD)
Joni Mitchell was 25 when she first went into a recording studio to record the enviable inventory of songs that became Song To A Seagull. By this time she had been performing professionally for several years and her songs had already been recorded by some of folk's biggest names, notably Tom Rush and Judy Collins, whose orchestral version of Mountain From Mountains can be compared directly with the starker, simpler version heard here. The album was thematic with one side titled I Came To The City and the other Out Of The City And Down To The Seaside and comprised mainly Joni Mitchell accompanying herself on guitar and piano, with the occasional banshee and Stephen Stills on bass, thanks to David Crosby's sensitive production. This put the focus squarely on Joni's performance and the remarkable strength of her writing. Only a moderate success at the time it nevertheless set in motion the relentless trajectory of her fame, and still sounds fresh and perceptive, grating only when her voice enters the higher registers.
In the UK, Night In The City was released as a single and raised her profile with some radio plays on programmes such as Top Gear
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful, fragile and seriously under-rated..., 7 May 2007
This review is from: Song To A Seagull (Audio CD)
As a long time Joni Mitchell fan how did I miss this one? Well, like many others who got into her music after her first rush of success her debut, devoid of any "hits" and rarely played on the radio, then & now, somehow just passed me by. My loss... because, it's a fragile, haunting and impeccably played & sung album. David Crosby's production extracts the best from what was, as time has shown, an incredibly talented artist putting everything into her first release and its pared-down, at times almost sparse arrangements are a huge credit to both artists in capturing "singer/songwriter folk music" at its very highest levels.

A lot of what of what was to follow was better and justifiably more successful but "Song To A Seagull" has that rarest of things - a level of purity and sincerity in its lyrics and execution that makes it absolutely timeless. So much so that its most successful track, "Night in the City", with its excellent, folk/rock orientated delivery ends up as an almost uncomfortable distraction from the spellbinding simplicity of what surrounds it. A seriously under-rated and quite beautiful record.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant debut, but the best is yet to come., 4 Sep 2011
By 
Alex (no relation) (MAIDSTONE, england) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Song To A Seagull (Audio CD)
"Blue" apart, this album vies with any of Joni's first five, but as a debut constantly amazes. A Customer's original review covers the bases, but my favourite tracks are "Marcie" (love the "Red's for..." "Green's for..." motif) and "Cactus Tree", a song with - again - proper structure, beautiful images and a wonderfully unresolved ending:
Someone thought they saw her Sunday
Window shopping in the rain;
Someone heard she bought a one-way
Ticket and went west again.

Can't really agree about "Night in the City" - Joni usually includes an upbeat song, or attempted hit single, as I think we can call it.
I first bought this album in about 1969 (what else do you do when you buy a superb second album and there is no 3rd album yet?) when it was just called "Joni Mitchell" - see the record spine of my original! - and was arrogantly convinced that later incarnations as "Song to a Seagull" were stupid errors caused by over-examination of the cover. There are, after all, other references to the lyrics in Joni's artwork. However, Wikipedia tells me that the mistake was on the original, caused by an error in Reprise' publicity dept. and it was always "Song to a Seagull". Does anyone know what Joni says?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Joni was my teenage heroin, 25 Aug 2011
By 
Sebastian Palmer "sebuteo" (Cambridge, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Song To A Seagull (Audio CD)
Think I misspelled a word in my title? I didn't!

I discovered Joni as a teenager, thanks to a compilation cassette my parents had. I quickly became addicted. At some point, under the pretext of buying them for my mum, I began to amass a collection of her fabulous albums. Her amazing guitar technique - shimmering arpeggios, strange exotic tunings, distinctive picking figures and strumming rhythms - developed in part as a result of childhood polio, such as can be heard on Hejira and elsewhere, is already evident here. This album, like her next, the equally brilliant but better known Clouds, is notable for being just voice and guitar*. For those who know Joni best from albums like Blue, the complete absence of piano may come as something of a surprise. David Crosby's sympathetic, sensitive minimalist production is near perfect, Joni's raw talent shining through, like a perfectly set diamond.

Mitchell has always stressed that she was no 'folkie', ordinary or otherwise. Poet, artist, and composer, her lyrics stand as strong beautiful poems on their own merits; her original cover art gives her albums added homogeneity and personality (this particular cover, whilst not her strongest, has period charm); and her music? Well, as my title suggests, in some respects it's possible to liken the effect of it to a powerful narcotic. Personal favourites here are 'I Had A King', 'Michael From The Mountains', 'Marcie', 'Nathan La Franeer', 'Sisowtowbell Lane', 'The Dawntreader', 'Song To A Seagull', and 'Cactus Tree'. Well, that's nigh on the lot! The upbeat 'Night In The City' doesn't work so well for me, and 'The Pirate Of Penance', a strong tune by normal standards, in the context of Joni's own best work, seems too contrived to me. She does both upbeat and clever ('Chelsea Morning' and 'Songs To Ageing Children Come') much better on Clouds.

'I Had A King' justifies the asking price purchase alone. Joni's described her early songs as the work of an 'ingénue', and it's undoubtedly true that she matured as she progressed. But, however you cut it, for a debut this is, in modern parlance, awesome. The lyrics of 'I Had A King', which display a youthful preoccupation with fashionable fabrics of the day ("drip-dry and paisley", "leather and lace"), also possess poetic genius ("I had a king, in a salt-rusted carriage / Who carried me off, to his country for marriage"), profound insight, especially remarkable in one so young, and are married to a level of musical prowess that, thanks to her singular melodic and harmonic conception, make Mitchell's music unique. And what's more, pretty much all of this underrated album measures up to the high standards set by this magnificent opener. Another good example of her formidable songwriting skills is 'Nathan La Franeer': drawn from observations made during a cab ride, it becomes a universal paean to the potential loneliness and alienation of city life, whilst all the while remaining profoundly beautiful.

Joni Mitchell is easily the greatest female singer-songwriter, and poet-composer there has ever been (to my mind only Brazil's Joyce Moreno comes anywhere close), and is surely amongst the greatest regardless of gender. This, the first gem mined from a long, rich musical seam, is both priceless and essential.

* Well, Stephen Stills plays bass on one track, and there's 'banshee' on another.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting early album., 29 May 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Song To A Seagull (Audio CD)
This early Joanie's album includes lovely vocals and some very strong songs. It is interesting to hear the vocal and guitar style emerging.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Dynamite, 20 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Song To A Seagull (Audio CD)
Joni's first album and my most played of her's . Melancholic . I have nearly all her albums but this has been one of my best friends for 25 years . Often overlooked and it shouldn't be . You won't be disappointed. Go on treat yourself !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Joni comes on the scene, 22 Mar 2014
By 
Samuel Pyke (Barcelona) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Song To A Seagull (Audio CD)
You have to hand it to her; she was a brave lass. On stage alone before 600,000 restless folk, some beginning to get out of hand... (that was at the Isle of Wight. I was very young then, but I was there).
This album has some lovely songs, and is well worth the money spent. The presentation is good, and her art on both front and back cover add to the quality of the music. This is Joni Mitchell when she started out, back there in 1968.
Speedy delivery. Hours of enjoyment. What more? You guessed, I've just ordered her second álbum: Clouds, and I'm sure I won't be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Multi tracking - Masterful, 19 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Song To A Seagull (Audio CD)
Incredible vocal range and brilliant multitracking make this one of ( if not the best ) Joni Mitchell albums no favourite tracks I love them all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews