Customer Reviews


78 Reviews
5 star:
 (29)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (15)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Could this be Lara Croft at her best on the big screen???
I, like other tomb raider fans absolutely enjoyed this film. It gave some insight into lara's personal life by allowing viewers to understand her relationship with her father.
However, i did feel that the film was too much focused on her family ties rather than the adventure. The adventure was also a bit too lame for someone like Lara Croft, and i believe they could...
Published on 4 Feb 2004 by Miss Hinna Ali

versus
15 of 18 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Poor Blu-ray transfer - no HD sound
Although the picture is an improvement on the DVD (though not brilliant by Blu-ray standards), the sound is not.

Yes, you get higher bitrate DTS (as well as a Dolby Digital option), but you get neither the Dolby True HD nor DTS-ES mixes the Blu-ray packaging promises.
Published on 7 Oct 2009 by CENC


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Could this be Lara Croft at her best on the big screen???, 4 Feb 2004
I, like other tomb raider fans absolutely enjoyed this film. It gave some insight into lara's personal life by allowing viewers to understand her relationship with her father.
However, i did feel that the film was too much focused on her family ties rather than the adventure. The adventure was also a bit too lame for someone like Lara Croft, and i believe they could have squeezed in lots more action scenes if they wanted to make this a truely brilliant film.
I also believe that the critics have made this film turn out to be worse whereas it really isn't. That may be because this movie is really intended for those who actually know Lara croft through the games.
I would definately recommend this film to all Lara croft fans, and those who like an action packed movies. I mean, how often do we see a female adventurer as smart and intelligent as LARA CROFT????
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lara Croft, 22 May 2013
By 
S. Holmes (GB) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lara Croft - Tomb Raider: Uncut Edition [Blu-ray] [2001] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
To be honest the first time I saw the original version of this film I was disappointed. I have seen it several times since on dvd and the tv and enjoyed it more and more. I cannot see a lot of difference with the "uncut" version to the normal version although it is definitely longer if the times on the dvd labels are correct. Angelina is fabulous in the part - enjoy!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not bad actually., 28 Sep 2007
Yes, it's not the best film ever. I'll start off by saying this.

It is however, one of my favourite kinds of film. A brainless one.
With the simple plot of "bad stuffs goin' on", shortly followed by "Lara must stop bad stuffs". Really, that's about as advanced as the plot ever gets. But that's not a bad thing, it keeps the film shallow, and easy to enjoy in a simplistic way.

I think most people have assessed Angelina's acting, so I'll say this: Chris Barry plays an amazing butler in the film, and the film really has it's funny moments. There aren't loads of them, but they are appreciated. Additionally, the film really captured the feel of the games in terms of terrain (aka tombs).

For a brainless, yet ultimately enjoyable film, I'd say this one definitely fills the quota. I'd also say it's a lot better than most people give it credit for.

For the price, I'd say it's a bargain.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tomb Raider is a very good film, 28 Dec 2004
This film has had a lot of bad press said about it since its release, i personally think this is unfair. Ok so the plot is a little thin, but surely a person sitting down to watch this film wants action???
Let me tell you there are some amazing action sequences in this film, brilliantly acted by angelina jolie, who looked like she was born to play this character. Angelina Jolie is an amazing actress who plays the character of Lara Croft with an air of elegance, she really does excel in this role.
This film deserves more credit than it is given, the action is far superior than most films out even today, you must buy this dvd if only to see the Lara try to defend her house, a standout part of the film. You simply have to ignore the reviews and find out for yourself just how good this film is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 18 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Poor Blu-ray transfer - no HD sound, 7 Oct 2009
This review is from: Lara Croft - Tomb Raider: Uncut Edition [Blu-ray] [2001] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
Although the picture is an improvement on the DVD (though not brilliant by Blu-ray standards), the sound is not.

Yes, you get higher bitrate DTS (as well as a Dolby Digital option), but you get neither the Dolby True HD nor DTS-ES mixes the Blu-ray packaging promises.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Angelina Jolie shines as Lara Croft!, 25 Oct 2001
By 
Ixi Books "ixi_books" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Absolutly brilliant. If you don't like strong chicks then this isn't a movie you want to see. Making a brilliant transfer from the silver console to the silver screen Tomb Raider just keeps on giving. Angelina Jolie is absolutly perfect as Lara Croft. This is for any Tomb Raider fan or even if you're not. Action Packed and totally brill! Move over Sigourney Weaver, we have a new action chick in town!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The perfect gift for the "Target" audiance, 2 Jan 2002
By A Customer
This DVD is one of the best i have encountered. To start the film is brilliant, and 'Angie' takes passion in the role and delivers it well. Enough, I hear you say, i have heard the reviws of the film, now to the DVD!
The menu system is innovative, if it gets a little annoying after a while. There is hours of extra features and documentartys which seem longer than the film! Some of the material is duplicated but it wont matter. This is an A* effort from the DVD procducers. A definate must have!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Love Angelina in this movie, 7 April 2014
By 
Kevin Sorensen (LAS VEGAS, NEVADA, US) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lara Croft - Tomb Raider: Uncut Edition [Blu-ray] [2001] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
Angelina plays a rich woman looking for ancient treasure all over the world. She of course wears very tight clothes like in other movies and she is a looker :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lara, what can I say!, 6 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lara Croft - Tomb Raider: Uncut Edition [Blu-ray] [2001] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
As a fan of the Tomb Raider video games since they started on the Spectrum, this film delivers a good representation to the big screen, and the outfits don't disappoint. A bit of escapism doesn't do anyone any harm does it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love this film, 8 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Love this film as I am an avid Tomb Raider fan, and despite all of its reviews I thought that it was brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Lara Croft - Tomb Raider: Uncut Edition [Blu-ray] [2001] [Region Free]
7.50
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews