Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well worth the money!
Personally, I thought this was fantastic! It's nothing too deep and meaningful, just lots of action, fun and frolics. It follows a demon hunter and part-demon called Dante who runs a odd jobs/hitman/mercenary type business. Although Dante is grumpy and aloof you can't help but like him, and at times it is very funny. Sometimes the storylines leave something to be desired,...
Published on 11 April 2010 by N. River

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars poor take off of the game
it sounded like it could of been good,sadly i'd played the games previously and completely ruined the series for me. It got a bit samey a bit on the feeble side very little action,the same demon turns up Dante shoots or stab it end of episode. Quite disapointing.
Published 17 months ago by stumpy


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well worth the money!, 11 April 2010
By 
N. River (united kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Devil May Cry [DVD] (DVD)
Personally, I thought this was fantastic! It's nothing too deep and meaningful, just lots of action, fun and frolics. It follows a demon hunter and part-demon called Dante who runs a odd jobs/hitman/mercenary type business. Although Dante is grumpy and aloof you can't help but like him, and at times it is very funny. Sometimes the storylines leave something to be desired, such as the episode where someone thinks Dante is his friend Tony but he's not and then later on Dante says " I used to call myself Tony, but i'm not Tony" is a bit weird.

Don't expect an epic, but for the price and what you get for it, i think it well deserves five stars. The animation is great too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Next time you open up shop add strawberry sundae to the menu!, 13 Feb 2013
This review is from: Devil May Cry [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
This is the best anime I have seen, it deserves full 5 stars the reason for this is because each episode was so well produced and it looks great the visuals are like in between anime and a movie the story is very good sure it doesnt follow the video games so much but its almost like a what happened after devil may cry 3 as he has the IV rebellion sword in it but he still looks like he did in DMC 3

Just to clear up the first person who reviewed this the tony episode where that guy ernest thinks dante is tony is actually true dante went by the name tony for a short time and lived in the town where ernest lived they were friends and had the same teacher however dante was faking his name as tony as his mother eva and him were hiding out from the demon mundus who wanted to kill dante and his mum for he is the son of sparda so when mundus got the fire demon to kill dante and his mum they fled leaving the whole town burnt by the fire demon so at the end of the episode when dante kills the fire demon in the ruines in front of ernest he sees dante is a demon and that the fire that was started by the demon was meant for dante so ernest says "they were after you you ba**ard if you ever show up here again ill kill you for sure" dante was tony but was faking his name and deceived ernest

Anyway to continue the review this anime has many great episodes with lots of quotes to remember and scenes that will stick with you also the OST soundtrack is amazing and worth a pick up for sure love the opening guitar riff to this anime and the closing song is great

Dantes voice is very cool and his character is kept close to the playstation 2 one from DMC 3 but his sword is the IV DMC 4 rebellion as it has the crown on the end of it

Dante enjoys strawberry sundaes and tells quite a few bar owners to add it to the menu he also enjoys eating pizza and likes drinking budwiser beer and reading magazines

The anime features a main bad guy called sid who is a weak demon who plots to get dante in deep trouble and towards the end of the anime lets just say sid trys his luck

It also has a little girl in it called patty who can be annoying but still goes well with the story her voice is less annoying in japanese languge

You can either have it in english 5.1 or jap 5.1 with english sub

The blu ray quality is outstanding its a bit more sharper than the dvd release also it only has 2 discs with all bounus content on disc 2 including the hit game DMC 4 and also interview with the jap dude who does dantes voice

This anime is for those who appreciate DMC sure its not following the video games so much and has some different characters in but it shows theres more to dante then just devil hunting

Would love to see a series 2 but I doubt it will ever happen with people throwing negative stuff at this and also with the new lame reboot game which has totally changed DMC franchise and now capcom no longer look to market and produce the classic DMC stuff sure a reboot is good but I think they should continue the original franchise dont change a thing it was to early for a reboot!!!!

For £10 you cant go wrong buy DMC anime today!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Must Buy! (If you already know the Devil May Cry series), 17 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Devil May Cry [DVD] (DVD)
All in all, this DVD complete series gives you what it says on the tin as well as some info on DMC4 and an interview.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars poor take off of the game, 14 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Devil May Cry [DVD] (DVD)
it sounded like it could of been good,sadly i'd played the games previously and completely ruined the series for me. It got a bit samey a bit on the feeble side very little action,the same demon turns up Dante shoots or stab it end of episode. Quite disapointing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Devil May Cry, 25 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Devil May Cry [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Amazing. I would definitely recommend it to any fan of Devil May Cry. They'll never disappoint and will levae you wishing for more gameplay.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect Christmas Present, 5 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Devil May Cry [DVD] (DVD)
This was a Christmas Present for my Anime Loving girlfriend and it was a brilliant purchase she loves Dante and this anime is brilliant
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars It's ok, 21 Feb 2013
By 
S. Steward - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Devil May Cry [DVD] (DVD)
Watched it , was ok but was just a bit too dull for my tastes , preferred the games than the anime
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Awesome Series, 21 Sep 2011
This review is from: Devil May Cry [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Very well animated, flashy fights and funny as hell (when you know Dante). The litle kid is annoying though and which is kinda stupid is that Dante never releases his full powers. But besides that, just awesome
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One For The Collection., 25 Dec 2009
This review is from: Devil May Cry [DVD] (DVD)
I shall say that this is certainly one for the collection a great adaptation of the game. For Devil May Cry and Anime/Manga fans alike, whether you appreciate the artwork or enjoy the action a great buy non-the less.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars like the game for lazy people, 12 Oct 2009
By 
kmania (halifax uk) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Devil May Cry [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
this is the anime version of the hugely popular devil may cry nestled snuggly between devil may cry 1 and 4 this has the head splitting gut busting style of the game except all you have to do is press the play button this adventure starts with dante (our resident half demon demon hunter) getting another job at his business (devil may cry in case you cant remember) protecting a young heiress named patty rowell who is being indescriminately attacked by demons from this a well hidden but deep story comes into place involving many twists and turns including dante's immensely bad luck as well as introducing 2 former assistants trish and lady (who we find out are more evil then any demon) this has a gret blend of action humor blood comedy and strawberry sundaes i recomend this to anyone who has played the game and any one that hasn't could use this as a reason to start
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Devil May Cry [DVD]
Devil May Cry [DVD] by Shin Itagaki (DVD - 2009)
£10.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews