Customer Reviews


130 Reviews
5 star:
 (62)
4 star:
 (33)
3 star:
 (18)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (10)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Surprisingly good - even if it is a kids' film
I fully expected this to be absolutely awful - but shame on me, because I actually quite enjoyed it. If you have children, any preteen boy will lap this up, and even if you don't I suspect you'll enjoy it too.

Sienna miller makes an appearance, which is always good - and this time we get to see what she looks like with black hair instead of blonde too. And I...
Published on 15 Dec 2011 by The Truth

versus
13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Thrills, spills, and belly laughs
I was intrigued by this film due to the casting of Chris Eccleston, and the Mancunian actor's faintly dodgy Scottish accent notwithstanding, he and the film acquit themselves pretty well overall. Eccleston is the film's bad guy; oily businessman and magnetic industrialist, he also has a skeleton in his closet and a family history that means he is desperate for vengeance...
Published on 28 Mar 2010 by Captain Pugwash


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Surprisingly good - even if it is a kids' film, 15 Dec 2011
By 
The Truth "How it is" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
I fully expected this to be absolutely awful - but shame on me, because I actually quite enjoyed it. If you have children, any preteen boy will lap this up, and even if you don't I suspect you'll enjoy it too.

Sienna miller makes an appearance, which is always good - and this time we get to see what she looks like with black hair instead of blonde too. And I have to say the story was actually pretty good. It revolved around a new type of nano-bot warhead which falls into the wrong hands, so although futuristic, it wasn't too far fetched.

There were also quite a few twists and turns, which again, surprisingly I must admit I didn't see coming. This certainly became true as the film progressed and really started to make use of the 'G.I. Joe' franchise. This was one aspect I really liked. It felt like the writers had really taken the time to get this film to work as a 'G.I. Joe' film. And they succeeded.

If like me you grew up in the 80s playing with 'Action Force' toys, which later became Americanised as 'G.I. Joe' you'll recognise more than one or two of the characters from when you used to play with them on your bedroom floor, and I thought that some of them were very cleverly integrated into the film and used to build the story. Or rather part 1 of it.

The film is called G.I. Joe - 'The rise of Cobra', and it certainly feels like the start of something. I for one hope there's a second instalment on the way, as the film cleverly sets up what by all accounts could turn out to be a classic, story of politics and war. The ending makes it clear that that's the intention, leaving it wide open for part 2 in a tantalising way.

Throughout the film the effects were over the top, but looked good and worked for the type of film it was, and all in all, I thoroughly enjoyed what was essentially an kiddies action romp. I found it the perfect film to watch just before my mid afternoon nap at the weekend. Entertaining - but not too serious or taxing.

Verdict: 8.5 out of 10 - Go Go G.I. Joe. It's nearly 5 stars from me. Please note that this Blu Ray is the US import. For the Blu Ray that plays on UK machines look here:G.I. Joe - The Rise of The Cobra [Blu-ray]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Thrills, spills, and belly laughs, 28 Mar 2010
This review is from: G.I. Joe: The Rise of Cobra [DVD] (DVD)
I was intrigued by this film due to the casting of Chris Eccleston, and the Mancunian actor's faintly dodgy Scottish accent notwithstanding, he and the film acquit themselves pretty well overall. Eccleston is the film's bad guy; oily businessman and magnetic industrialist, he also has a skeleton in his closet and a family history that means he is desperate for vengeance. With Hollywood veteran go-to guy Dennis Quaid as a no-nonsense General in charge of the eponymous elite fighting force, Sienna Miller as the femme fatale, and British stage and screen legend Jonathan Pryce playing the US President, there is no shortage of talent, and the action too is abundant and relentless. Whilst by its very nature a mindless action-adventure movie, this one does rise above its peers due to plenty of dry humour (mainly provided by Marlon Wyans' wisecracking squaddie), some nifty gadgets, and a certain joie de vivre, that even the gruesome opening scene can't dampen. Director Stephen Sommers provides a tone similar to that of his hit movies The Mummy [DVD] [1999] and The Mummy Returns [DVD] [2001], and also a host of lesser known but still familiar character actors (Arnold Vosloo and Kevin J O'Connor to name but two); Sommers' skill for great entertainment without emotional depth is still intact, and after the debacle that was the recent Transformers 2, I was cheered to see that this kind of popcorn movie can still be done so well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The movie was fun and the blu ray technically great!, 9 Mar 2010
By 
Marius Liesdek "lieserd" (Amsterdam Netherlands) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I watched the movie G.I. Joe with low expectations and I was pleasantly surprised. The action was spectacular and the plot did not get in the way. The plot is very simple but it is there to show off the action, but it does not have too many illogical or embarassingly bad moments (like transformers 2): there are good guys and bad guys and they fight for some motives and the story explains (for the most part) what you need to know.

The blu ray has a great transfer: the picture is clear and very detailed. There is no cinematic grain (which I hate) and the special effects hold up excellent.

The sound is in one word BOOMING: I had to put the volume very low in order to not scare too many birds away outside my house. The sound is not just loud but also very good: you can still hear the voices clearly in action scenes and the unique futuristic gadgets and stuff are fun to hear.

Conclusion: I thought this would be a dumb movie, but it turned out very ok. It's really entertaining. If you just want a futuristic action blaster movie that looks and sounds great, then rent or buy this blu ray. It's pure simple fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A blast!, 19 Mar 2010
By 
oldstuff (Cheshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: G.I. Joe: The Rise of Cobra [DVD] (DVD)
Yes, it's corny and un-realistic but its also the most fun I have had watching a film in ages. It never stops for breath, there are plenty of laughs in there (usually supplied by Wayans) and some of the special-effects are stunning with a chase scene through Paris looking amazing.

If you sat through "Independence Day" and criticized every little fault then give this a miss. If you're capable of enjoying an OTT, pacy blockbuster then give this a try.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars GI Joe full of action, 3 Jan 2010
This review is from: G.I. Joe: The Rise of Cobra [DVD] (DVD)
If you are looking for a solid story then this is not the movie for you, many of the movies lately coming out of the movie factories are lacking a good story. If you like action movies and technology then I recommend this.
The gadgets are cool, the babes are nice to look at, the bad guys are mostly easy to spot.
The fighting is from nice to good, I especially like the power suits. I want one too :-)
Imagine what it could have been if a team of good writers would have also given this a consistant and unpredictable scenario...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 28 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Over-the-top, non-stop and fun - 3.5 stars, 12 Aug 2009
By 
Dr Evil (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Being a big fan of the toys, cartoon and comics as a kid (it was called Action Force and Action Man in the UK) I was interested in seeing how Stephen Sommers would adapt it into a live-action big screen movie. And although it was 90% CGI for a majority of the film, the plot was paper-thin, the acting wasn't great, the action was completely unbelievable and over the top and it was generally pretty brainless, I found it to be incredibly fun and very entertaining. As long as you don't take this film seriously at all - it is just a movie for big kids at the end of the day - and you enjoy action films then you should like this, especially if like myself you grew up with it all. The CGI was very top-end quality with some of the most visually stunning special effects I have seen, particularly the whole section in Paris. The action was literally non-stop from the opening scene and doesn't slow down for a second. The characters are all great and stay true to their cartoon and comic book forms, but there are plenty not used in this so I can see a whole bunch of sequels on the horizon.

Overall this probably won't be everyone's cup of tea but for me, I enjoyed it for what it was and will definitely be getting it on Blu Ray when it's released later in the year. If you enjoy films like XXX and TRANSFORMERS then you'll most probably like GI JOE too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I found it fun!, 13 Jan 2010
This review is from: G.I. Joe: The Rise of Cobra [DVD] (DVD)
I'd read a very terrible reviews of this film and it was a good suprise to find the film enjoyable.
Lots of action, terrrible script, I found the plot ok. Just a good way to kill some time.

Some of the special effects were a bit awful, but for the majority it came out very well. Lots of gatjects, missiles, guns, special suits, swords, girls, guys, what more could someone want. Just sit back and enjoy for a bit, don't expect it to win ocars for best preformance, it's not that kind of movie.

Worth the time I think
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Striking like a Cobra, 3 May 2013
By 
Vivian Thomas "vivt1940" (Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent movie and plenty of action to make this a great lead up to what is expected in the next episode of G. I. Joe
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just very good, 23 Mar 2013
By 
This review is from: G.I. Joe: The Rise of Cobra [DVD] (DVD)
Very enjoyable film. Good script and good acting. Saw the film already 5 times.
I am looking forward to G.I Joe Retaliation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brill, 3 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Any one who likes action moves would be mad not to watch this one,and the next one which we can't wait for.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

G.I. Joe: The Rise of Cobra [DVD]
G.I. Joe: The Rise of Cobra [DVD] by Stephen Sommers (DVD - 2009)
£4.25
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews