Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great sign of things to come...
I purchased this mini-album off the strength of the excellent "Lightspeed" single, and was not disappointed. This CD is packed full of great songs with nice hooks and melodies, with "John Wayne" being a particular highlight. The vocals are also excellent, and Sam McTrusty's Scottish accent enhances the impact of each track tremendously.

I know that being...
Published on 27 May 2010 by Mr. T. Pooley

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Good, debut
Although this takes a few listens the debut album from Twin Atlantic is certainly a sign of things to come!!
Published 22 months ago by Jay


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great sign of things to come..., 27 May 2010
By 
Mr. T. Pooley (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Vivarium (Audio CD)
I purchased this mini-album off the strength of the excellent "Lightspeed" single, and was not disappointed. This CD is packed full of great songs with nice hooks and melodies, with "John Wayne" being a particular highlight. The vocals are also excellent, and Sam McTrusty's Scottish accent enhances the impact of each track tremendously.

I know that being Scottish, Twin Atlantic are inevitably (and perhaps lazily) going to be compared to their fellow countrymen Biffy Clyro. But if you are a fan of the latter then you will no doubt like this band - think of something that sounds like a cross between new/old Biffy Clyro but also brings something new to the table.

Additionally, the album sleeve has a nice "pop-out" effect which although obviously doesn't add or take anything away from the music, provides a nice touch and reflects the amount of effort and thought that has gone into this EP.

Although some tracks are better than others, this is an excellent debut and shows a great sign of things to come by Twin Atlanic. I am very much looking forward to their next release!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic approachable alt. rock, 30 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Vivarium (Audio CD)
Vivarium might be a mini-album but when the songs are this fun, length doesn't matter. Energetic and passionate Sam's vocals set the tone for the whole album. Songs are all catchy and memorable but remain distinct and unique. This is by far my favourite Twin Atlantic album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars love it, 15 Jan 2013
This review is from: Vivarium (Audio CD)
heard them on radio1 and fell in love - this album didn't disappoint (: my favourite track is john wayne
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Good, debut, 4 Nov 2012
This review is from: Vivarium (Audio CD)
Although this takes a few listens the debut album from Twin Atlantic is certainly a sign of things to come!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Twin Atlantic; indie style, 5 Jan 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Vivarium (Audio CD)
This is a fantastic mini-album. The songs are just the right length, they have an amazing truth the the lyrics and amazingly catchy guitar, drum and bass riffs.

This is the mini-album released before their newest (and first official album) Free. Whilst Free is a more rocky sound (with which you can tell they've found their niche), Vivarium is a stopgap that holds a different side of Twin Atlantic; their roots. This coupled with the "A Guidance From Colour" EP is a lovely set of songs - which, when added to a shuffle with Free, give you an amazing range of music to listen to - all from one artist!

By far one of the best and quickly up-and-coming bands from Scotland.

Great album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Small But Perfectly Formed, 1 Oct 2009
By 
The Wolf (uk) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Vivarium (Audio CD)
Mini-album or not this cracking release punches well
beyond its weight. 'Vivarium' has more than enough good
energy to keep us warm during the dark months ahead.

This Glasgow four-piece have a secure future guaranteed.

Sam McTrusty (Vocals/guitar) is a terrific front man; the
strong vernacular accent enhancing his feisty performances.

Barry McKenna (guitar/backing vocals) and Ross McNae
(bass/backing vocals & piano) provide solid support throughout.

'Lightspeed' is a blistering opening anthem, driven
powerfully along by Craig Kneale's rock-solid drums.
It's a cracking and uplifting ensemble piece.

This is one tight little unit. The sound raw, electric
but always tightly controlled. Producer John Travis
understands exactly what's needed and captures
the band's vivacious essence perfectly.

'Old Grey Face (And The Way Of The Magenta)' is a stunning
piece of staccato mayhem. A prizefighting performance so good
it made me laugh out loud with joy ! It really is a corker!

All eight tracks are wild and wise and totally convincing.

The pitter-patter opening of final number 'Better Weather'
heralds a really beautiful composition. Sensitive, reflective
and indicative of Twin Atlantic's ability to lay back into
a good tune as well deliver constructive pandemonium.

Roll-on the next installment!

Highly Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nice noise, 22 Sep 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Vivarium (Audio CD)
This is as cheery a piece of Scottish noise as I've heard, oh, since Biffy Clyro's first. In fact that's going to be something they'll be beaten with because the accents, the pace changes and the aggressive guitars and drums are highly reminiscent. I denied this at first, probably because I first heard them in session on Vic Galloway and it was less obvious but it's definitely true. However they sound fresher and more tuneful than BC's last couple of albums with good songs and a light touch the older band have forgotten. John Wayne's a great track and even if the lyrics are a wee bit pompous you don't have to read the sleeve notes. The fold up sleeve's a bit precious too (and tore when I took off my security sticker - be careful.) All in all though, it' makes a lovely racket.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic group! Great cd, 15 Sep 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Vivarium (Audio CD)
This was a gift and was very quickly dispatched and received. Thanks. He loved it and it was a really good present.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Album, 9 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Vivarium (Audio CD)
I purchased this album after hearing a number of the tracks live. It did not disappoint, I think its on a par with Free. I love it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 19 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Vivarium (Audio CD)
Great
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Vivarium
Vivarium by Twin Atlantic (Audio CD - 2009)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews