Customer Reviews


31 Reviews
5 star:
 (25)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


34 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Diverse compilation with something for all country fans
I rarely buy multi-artist country compilations, but I was attracted to this particular compilation because although I I have a substantial collection of country music including a majority of what's here, there are plenty of tracks that I don't have elsewhere, as well as a few brilliant obscurities that I have but wouldn`t necessarily expend to find on a compilation like...
Published on 10 Mar 2010 by Peter Durward Harris

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars others are not but it's a pretty good bargain for the price
Some of the songs are by the original artists, others are not but it's a pretty good bargain for the price.
Published 26 days ago by C. C. Lawrence


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

34 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Diverse compilation with something for all country fans, 10 Mar 2010
By 
Peter Durward Harris "Pete the music fan" (Leicester England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (No. 1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Original Hits - Country (Audio CD)
I rarely buy multi-artist country compilations, but I was attracted to this particular compilation because although I I have a substantial collection of country music including a majority of what's here, there are plenty of tracks that I don't have elsewhere, as well as a few brilliant obscurities that I have but wouldn`t necessarily expend to find on a compilation like this. Those looking for a multi-artist hits collection with few obscurities should consider 101 Country Hits before committing themselves this set.

Although this budget 6-CD compilation was released by EMI and most of the tracks are from its own labels, there are a few tracks here from Sony/BMG too, so making this a very strong collection, at least from a British perspective. Many of the songs will be familiar to British country fans (and a fair number to British pop fans too) although some are represented by cover versions rather than the original artists.

With most of the tracks coming from the EMI vaults, Glen Campbell and Kenny Rogers are particularly well represented, but several artists are represented by three or more tracks including Juice Newton, Slim Whitman, Suzy Bogguss, Dr Hook, Billie Jo Spears, George Jones, Crystal Gayle, Lacy J Dalton, Tennessee Ernie Ford, Bobbie Gentry, Chris Ledoux, Tanya Tucker, the Nitty Gritty Dirt Band and Deana Carter. Oddly, there are no Anne Murray or Merle Haggard tracks here, though the EMI vaults contain many of their big hits.

Country music arguably peaked in Britain during the seventies, when country singles regularly made the top ten in the pop charts. Several of those hits are included here, including Rhinestone cowboy, Coward of the county, Rose garden, The most beautiful girl, Don`t it make my brown eyes blue, What I`ve got in mind, Annie`s song, Blanket on the ground, Honey come back and Lucille. From the fifties and sixties, you`ll find Rose Marie, He`ll have to go, Young love, Game people play, I'll never fall in love again, Wichita lineman and Sixteen tons. All of these UK hits are here by the original hit-makers.

Among the obscurities, I was particularly pleased to find a couple of tracks by Wild Rose (Go down swingin`, Hillbilly twist), even though I have the album from which they came. At the time, I thought they might become major country stars, but they didn't. They made three albums in the early nineties, since when some individual members have continued with separate careers. Diane Pfeifer made a country album circa 1980, which I meant to buy at the time but didn't. She disappeared into apparent obscurity soon afterwards, though a Google search shows that she has had a very successful career away from the music business. Here, she is represented by Wishful drinkin'. It's also great to see a couple of Mel McDaniel tracks here (Louisiana Saturday night, Baby's got her blue jeans on). Though poorly represented on CD, most of his music is available as downloads.

One of my favorite tracks here is Meet me in Montana, a duet featuring Dan Seals and Marie Osmond. Those who are only familiar with Marie's seventies music are in for a real surprise, as her eighties country music is very different. It's a pity that none of her solo country recordings were featured here, but maybe a few people will be tempted to explore further after hearing this track.

Being a budget release, you can't have everything. The booklet crams the track listing, including copyright details but not songwriter credits, on to two pages and is difficult to read. Also, like other compilations in the series, the set is housed in what looks, at first glance, like an old-style double CD case. You know, the ones that were standard before manufacturers came up with a way of housing two CD's in what looks like a single CD case. Those old double CD cases are easily capable of housing four CD's, providing the middle section has the necessary bits to hold them in place, but by using the same principle that is used in modern double CD cases, six CD's have been squeezed into what was originally designed as just a double CD case. But at the UK price, these are minor quibbles.

Whether as a starting point for a country music collection, or as an addition to an already substantial collection, this set has something for every country fan. With 122 tracks, it might not suit people who only like a little bit of country. Then again, it doesn't have to be played all at one session, does it?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A COUNTRY & WESTERN BONANZA, 3 Feb 2010
By 
elceeem "musicman" (COLOMBO---05, WESTERN PROVINCE Sri Lanka) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Original Hits - Country (Audio CD)
This 6 CD set is indeed A TREAT FOR ALL COUNTRY MUSIC FANS,with old and new country stars contributing their better known tracks to the album.I ENJOY LISTENING TO IT as a genuine lover of C& W music and recommend it to all lovers of the country music genre--ENJOY
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Original Country Hits- The Title Matches the Quality of these Songs, 15 Feb 2011
This review is from: Original Hits - Country (Audio CD)
The one thing that I do love about this compilation is that you get 122 pleasurable and classic country tracks that are formatted on a six cd set. The following are some of the songs that you can expect to see on this great country compilation:

Strawberry Wine-Deana Carter
You and I-Eddie Rabbit
Hey Good Lookin-The Nitty Gritty Band
The Most Beautiful Girl In the World-Charlie Rich
Annie's Song-John Denver
Let Your Love Flow-Del Reeves and Billie Jo Spears
Rhinestone Cowboy-Glenn Campbell
Angel of the Morning-Juice Newton

This compilation is worth purchasing if you enjoy listening to country music and/or you like to collect different music compilations from a variety of musical genres.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Country Hits cd, 8 Jan 2013
By 
Mrs. D. Clements (Dorset uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Original Hits - Country (Audio CD)
I bought this for my dad who is a c & w fan and owns lots of similar cds.
He is really pleased with it as it has all the songs he loves by original artists.
My dad is very fussy so if he is happy it MUST be good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Original Hits -Country Various artists, 7 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Original Hits - Country (Audio CD)
Original Hits - Country
Purchased as a gift recipient loved it. Purchase on line new experience for me. Thank you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Music, 27 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Original Hits - Country (Audio CD)
Enjoying these CDs a lot.. Each one has a different mood and many great artists play them loud or quiet !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I love it, thank you !, 21 Mar 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Original Hits - Country (Audio CD)
I love this, a great collection of old (that I've forgotten) and new songs. For this price it is a bargain compared to buying the songs I like, individually or loads of separate CDs. OK I do not like all the songs but there are more than enough to make this a worthwhile purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb Collection, 2 Dec 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Original Hits - Country (Audio CD)
This Collection of 122 Original Country Hits is the most outstanding value for money out there at the moment. If you enjoy singers like Jim Reeves, Willie Nelson, Tammy Wynette Dolly Parton Glen Campbell etc,. you will enjoy this superb collection on 6CDs. Go for it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars love country music?, 3 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Original Hits - Country (Audio CD)
A fantastic album - all original artists - I love it and if you enjoy country music so will you plus its brilliant value for money
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Terrific Collection for the Country Fan, 25 Dec 2011
This review is from: Original Hits - Country (Audio CD)
Just received this CD collection for Christmas and am already listening to it. This collection would be a fantastic gift for those who still prefer older country music, really takes me back. M Kane, United Kingdom
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Original Hits - Country
Original Hits - Country by Various Artists (Audio CD - 2009)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews