Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic piece of kit
When my old wireless mouse started to have a dodgy connection, I went looking for a decent replacement optical mouse. I went for the Kinzu largely because of Steelseries' support of pro-gaming and e-sports in general. Turns out there is a very good reason why so many pro-gamers use this mouse - it is fantastic. You are recommended to install a small utility from...
Published on 8 Aug. 2011 by wychwood

versus
2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Terrible built in acceleration
This mouse has a very strange built in (hardware) acceleration which causes the mouse to skip around the screen for me. It requires registry editing in windows to try and work around - so you can't use it as a "normal" mouse on OS X or *NIX. Google for "Kinzu acceleration" and you'll see what I mean. If you can get past this, the mouse feels great and has a nice shape,...
Published on 14 Sept. 2010 by Jason P.


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic piece of kit, 8 Aug. 2011
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: SteelSeries Kinzu Optical Gaming Mouse (PC) (Video Game)
When my old wireless mouse started to have a dodgy connection, I went looking for a decent replacement optical mouse. I went for the Kinzu largely because of Steelseries' support of pro-gaming and e-sports in general. Turns out there is a very good reason why so many pro-gamers use this mouse - it is fantastic. You are recommended to install a small utility from Steelseries website in order to fully calibrate the mouse, and it totally worth it. It allows you to customise almost everything that this mouse has to offer, as well as setting up the three settings profiles which are stored on the mouse. This would be particularly useful if this mouse is frequently used by both right and left-handed people since you can use the third button to quickly change between active profile. This also allows you to very easily turn off the acceleration if you don't want it, rather than having to edit the registry. Fantastic feel, smooth action across wooden desk (untested on other surfaces), accurate and a very comfortable shape for long-term use. Would strongly recommend this to anyone who needs a gaming mouse without all the clutter of needless macro buttons or distracting aesthetic extras.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great mouse but a little lacking in some respects, 26 Sept. 2011
By 
A. Karran "Emp^y" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: SteelSeries Kinzu Optical Gaming Mouse (PC) (Video Game)
The mouse was delivered in a timely fashion and in mint condition, upon unboxing i turned the mouse over ... only to discover to my extreme horror, that the mouse has polyurethane skates. These skates are completely unfit for the purpose of gaming and have more friction than if you were to pour honey on your mouse pad and then try and game with it.

So i bought Qpad teflon skates, now the mouse is almost perfect, i hardly notice the hardware acceleration engine at all (which is what most people say is bad about this mouse). The mouse is light can be used right or left handed, and is small enough to be palmed with ease (i have small but wide hands), i compare this mouse favourably with the Razor DA(3g) in terms of precision and more highly in terms of wieght and size.

The DPI stepping is just fine for me (400 800 1200) and you can make 3 profiles for the stepping and set random options in the software, the mouse comes 1000hz as standard and works fine in win7x64.

Overall a great mouse, let down by the skates, if your going to buy, make sure to get teflon skates.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very nice budget gaming mouse, 14 Mar. 2012
By 
G. Stride - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: SteelSeries Kinzu Optical Gaming Mouse (PC) (Video Game)
Most people who use their PC for gaming will eventually probably look into buying a gaming mouse. This is a very good example of one that is fairly low cost as well as fufilling most gamers needs. There is a button on the mouse that lets you quickly flick though the differing DPI settings (400,800,1600,3200). In combination with adjusting the windows mouse sensitivity you can find something that is right for each game you play. 3200 DPI is enough for almost any gamer unlerss you have a moniter that is significantly bigger than 28".

The only problems with this mouse are that it is just a standard 3 button layout with the 4th button just used for quickly changing the DPI settings. Also for those that are used to a large or heavy mouse adjusting will take some time. If you have large havds you could have problems in changing to this mouse.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good mouse!, 8 Sept. 2011
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: SteelSeries Kinzu Optical Gaming Mouse (PC) (Video Game)
This mouse is really nice. It has a good fell to it and is a good fit for medium sized hands. The ability to push 1 button and change dpi settings to preset ones is great. Recommend downloading the drivers online as it makes the mouse customisable(with regards to dpi settings and profiles) Works well with the Qck mousemat that steelseries also do.

overall the mouse isn't 5 stars because there are better mice out there for a higher price. But at the price the Kinzu is at it is a good mouse with a lot of options.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great mouse for the starting gamer, 5 Jan. 2012
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: SteelSeries Kinzu Optical Gaming Mouse (PC) (Video Game)
The Steel Series Kinzu is a great mouse for any casual PC gamer.
The ability to change the CPI with the middle button can be especially useful while playing first person shooters.
The only con I can think of is the weight, it is very light and can take some getting use to if your used to having a heavier mouse.
Other than that its great, I know there are more elaborate mice that give you the option to programme buttons but you just need to ask yourself do you really need it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great All-Round Mouse!, 16 Nov. 2010
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: SteelSeries Kinzu Optical Gaming Mouse (PC) (Video Game)
I would highly recommend this mouse, especially at its price point. I have had no issues using it with windows 7, it is highly responsive, and feels great.

Overall, a very good purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars good cost/quality, 24 Dec. 2011
This review is from: SteelSeries Kinzu Optical Gaming Mouse (PC) (Video Game)
Good quality/cost ratio.
I really like this mouse because it adapts perfectly to my hand.

For the price, this is a good option.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 19 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: SteelSeries Kinzu Optical Gaming Mouse (PC) (Video Game)
Excellent mouse, had it for 4 years, highly recommended for gamers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Terrible built in acceleration, 14 Sept. 2010
= Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: SteelSeries Kinzu Optical Gaming Mouse (PC) (Video Game)
This mouse has a very strange built in (hardware) acceleration which causes the mouse to skip around the screen for me. It requires registry editing in windows to try and work around - so you can't use it as a "normal" mouse on OS X or *NIX. Google for "Kinzu acceleration" and you'll see what I mean. If you can get past this, the mouse feels great and has a nice shape, it's a shame about the cheap plastic pads on the bottom though (most graming grade mice use teflon pads now). I've gone with the Razer Abyssus Gaming Mouse instead, and I'm loving it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Gaming Mouse, 16 Jun. 2011
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: SteelSeries Kinzu Optical Gaming Mouse (PC) (Video Game)
Mouse is so good I bought two, one for home and one for work. I got this mouse after seeing EGIdra (of Starcraft II fame) used it and honestly I couldn't be happier. The size is perfect for my hand (perhaps not so great if your really palm your mouse). A lot of people complain about the built in acceleration but if you read the actual Steelseries FAQ on the subject it clearly states that it's different to the normal software based acceleration, which is inconsistent. TBH if top SC2 players can perform crazy micro with this mouse, then it makes the inbuilt acceleration a mute point. From the Steelseries FAQ:

"We do realize that some gamers swear against mouse acceleration and refuse to subscribe to the preferences of some of the next generation's top gamers. If that's the case, the Kinzu is not for you! Finally, it is important to note that the SteelSeries Kinzu is our one and only mouse that utilizes this exclusive acceleration engine that is implemented on a hardware level. "
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

SteelSeries Kinzu Optical Gaming Mouse (PC)
SteelSeries Kinzu Optical Gaming Mouse (PC) by Steel Series (Windows 2000 / Vista / XP)
Out of stock
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews