Customer Reviews


48 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (11)
1 star:
 (9)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Atmospheric
i know its not been well recieved by critics and the public alike , but max payne is one of my favourite action films. its almost always snowing which adds to the dark and dreary setting, mark whalberg isint the best actor in the world but i think he was well suited to this role. i do think the film could of been better done but i still like the finsished product. watch...
Published on 16 Feb 2010 by J. Anderson

versus
16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Surprisingly good!
'Max Payne' is based on the video game of the same name and stars Mark Wahlberg as the troubled cop, Max. After his wife and new born daughter are murdered, NYPD detective Max Payne dedicates his life to finding her killers, which leads to a pharmacuetical company that has been making a drug for soldiers which makes them feel no fear, bt also gives them powerful...
Published on 1 Feb 2009 by Dr Evil


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Surprisingly good!, 1 Feb 2009
By 
Dr Evil (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Max Payne [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
'Max Payne' is based on the video game of the same name and stars Mark Wahlberg as the troubled cop, Max. After his wife and new born daughter are murdered, NYPD detective Max Payne dedicates his life to finding her killers, which leads to a pharmacuetical company that has been making a drug for soldiers which makes them feel no fear, bt also gives them powerful hallucinations.

To be honest I wasn't expecting much from this film - perhaps an hour and a half of brainless action like other videogame movies such as the Resident Evils and Doom, but this one actually had quite a good plot and felt more like an action thriller than a full-on weaponfest. Don't get me wrong, there is a lot of gun battles and explosions but it did feel like the writers had used their imagination a little bit and the end result is a pretty well made, dark, violent and gritty movie that came well above my expectations.

Overall, even if you're not a fan of the game (like myself, who has never played it), it is a very watchable and entertaining film that will be better than you think. I definitely recommend giving this a watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Atmospheric, 16 Feb 2010
By 
J. Anderson (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Max Payne [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
i know its not been well recieved by critics and the public alike , but max payne is one of my favourite action films. its almost always snowing which adds to the dark and dreary setting, mark whalberg isint the best actor in the world but i think he was well suited to this role. i do think the film could of been better done but i still like the finsished product. watch if you like the game but you may be disspointed with it as the game is better
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Max Payne, 4 Jan 2010
By 
Mr. G. Morris - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Max Payne [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
To be honest i did not expect much from another Video game to Movie adaptation but i was well suprised when i saw this film as it ticks most of the boxes for fans of the game. Great special effects,strong visuals and a well balanced story.. money well spent and a recommended buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Excellent style, good fight scenes, average acting, basic plot., 1 Aug 2009
By 
M. Huxley (Liverpool, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Max Payne [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
The title says it all really.

In terms of style and special effects this film really hits the mark, it is truly an excercise in visual style while remaining true to the graphic novel style of the game, although the overuse of the valkerie special effect at the beginning may leave some audience members a little confused if they haven't played the game, but that confusion wont last long.

The fight scenes when they happen are great, some of the scenes I suspect were inspired by the John Woo school of action. But it does take a little while for the action to get going, and when it does, it does leave you with an aftertaste of 'is that it?' And just how many bullets does hollywood think one clip holds?

The acting and the plot are basic. Everyone sleepwalks through this film, there are no great thesp moments or oscar winning performances here, and the plot as you would expect is basically true to the game. The 'twist' itself you see coming a mile off.

This shouldn't detract however from what is essentially an enjoyable film. The basic plot allows you to follow it through without thinking and just enjoy the action and the stunning visual effects. Basically a worthy film for a blokes night in front of a large HD television and a really big pizza!

I would wait untill it came down a little in price though, whilst I was happy to pay 6 for this I'm glad I didn't buy it straight away!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The downside of tattoos, 29 April 2010
By 
Charles Vasey (London, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Max Payne [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
Mumbling Mark Wahlberg is once again the stern-faced dispenser of justice in this moody piece about conspiracies and revenge. There's a decent mystery to solve (though not if you are Norse) at a Raymond Chandler level, a high body count and a nice use of snow.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Unique & Entertaining Video Game Movie Adaption, 7 Jun 2014
By 
Timelord007 (The Tardis) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Max Payne [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Max Payne.

Directed by John Moore.
Produced by John Moore.

Starring.
Mark Wahlberg.
Mila Kunis.
Beau Bridges.
Chris O'Donnell.
Donal Logue.
Olga Kurylenko.
Distributed by: 20th Century Fox.
Running time .
Theatrical: 100 minutes.
Unrated: 103 minutes.
Budget $35 million.
Box office $85,416,905.

Trivia.
1)Due to the PG-13 rating that the studio wanted, John Moore filmed two versions of the two biggest action sequences in the film, a) The Aesir Swat Building Shootout and b) Max Payne's attack on the Aesir building starting from the parking garage scene. John Moore filmed a version with impact squibs (seen in the PG-13 cut) and one with bloody wound squibs (Unrated cut).
2)There is an additional scene after the end credits.
3)James McCaffrey, the voice of Max Payne in the video game franchise, makes a cameo as the FBI agent that Lt. Jim Bravura introduces to the "real" police officer.
4)The trailer for Max Payne is seen playing on a TV in the background of Ari Gold's office in Entourage (2004) - a show produced by Mark Wahlberg.
5)The main villain of the video game Nicole Horne plays only a minor role in the feature film.
6)'Mark Wahlberg' and Mila Kunis also appeared in Date Night (2010) and Ted (2012).
7)The role of Jason Colvin was originally offered to Tobey Maguire.
8)Max beats up three thugs in the Roscoe Street subway station. This fictitious station is the setting of one of the first levels in the video game, where DEA Agent Alex Balder (upon whom the film's Detective Alex Balder is based) is murdered.
9)Olga Kurylenko's second movie based on a video game. The first was Hitman (2007).
10)Jason Colvin's death scene was scaled back due to the PG-13 rating. Originally, there was a wide shot of him being shot in the chest with an enormous amount of blood spray from the wound,. In the PG-13 version of the scene, it is only a close shot of Jason Colvin (Chris O'Donnell) with a bit of the impact squib seen going off. The original scene is included on the Unrated Director's Cut DVD.

Plot Synopsis.
Three years ago, NYPD detective Max Payne's wife and baby were murdered, Max gets himself transferred to the cold case office where he can continue searching for the killer(s) who murdered his family.

Teaming together with Max to solve a spate of murders in New York City is Mona Sax an assassin who's out to avenge her sister's death, Meanwhile the bodies are piling up around the city as a result of a drug on the street that is highly addictive and, for many who take it brings about hideous disturbing hallucinations as the Max & Mona are being hunted by the police, the mob, and a ruthless corporation.

Timelord Thoughts.
This is a surprisingly enjoyable entertaining action thriller based on the popular video game released now in its harder cut form which adds more blood & impact shots to the previously bloodless shootouts of the theatrical version.

Mark Wahlberg is excellent & seems perfectly cast in the lead role of Max Payne who's grief at losing his wife & child see him trying to track down the killer or killers responsible as actor Wahlberg gives the character a soul & certainly delivers the goods in the movies action packed shootout sequences.

Mila Kunis is slightly miscast seemingly a little young for the character but does quite well as assassin Mona Sax despite the character not being quite fully developed in the script while Olga Kurylenko seems rather underused as Monas sister Natasha in her brief apperance.

Beau Bridges performance as BB Hensley seems phoned in & doesn't really add enough menace that the role desperately needed while Chris O' Donnell who plays Jason Colvin gives a brilliant performance yet is given only a minor role in the movie.

Overall director John Moore delivers some great film noir quality scenes plus some truly amazing shootouts that in there unrated form really deliver bloodlust for action goers while the hallucination sequences are quite chilling & add something unique to this usual type of routine action thrillers.

Overall this is a faithful apadtion of the classic video game with a great lead performance by Mark Wahlberg & excellent staged action by director John Moore, Max Payne is a ideal Friday night beer & pizza movie.

Timelord Rating.
8/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great dvd, 6 Dec 2013
This review is from: Max Payne [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
I bought this for my son for Christmas and he loves it and a great price too. Would recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fallen Angels, 2 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Max Payne [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
Coming together to solve a series of murders in New York City are a police detective whose family was slain as part of a conspiracy and an assassin out to avenge her sister's death. The duo will be hunted by the police, the mob, and a ruthless corporation.

Mark Wahlberg (Max Payne) Mila Kunis (Monia Sax) Directed by John Moore ( A Good Day To Die Hard, The Omen 2006)

Max Payne is one of my favourite guilty pleasures
Yeah!...I kinda like it

Recommend if you like Video Games, Mark Wahlberg, Mila Kunis or Guilty Pleasures.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Violent, 20 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Max Payne [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
Fast paced violent action movie Wahlberg doing what he does best but it does get repetitive and gets a bit boring after a while if its cheap its worth a go but don't pay too much
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great entertainment, 28 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Max Payne [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
If you like Mark Wahlberg you will enjoy this film, fast and furious, great storyline, you will not leave your seat.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Max Payne (Harder Cut) [UMD Mini for PSP]
Max Payne (Harder Cut) [UMD Mini for PSP] by John Moore (UMD Mini for PSP - 2009)
2.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews