Customer Reviews


38 Reviews
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good, solid dramas
Bought this 3 disc set for the wife as she wanted Shirley Valentine and this pack was pretty good value for money. The set is presented in a single DVD-sized case which holds all three discs. There is no booklet or outer sleeve.

Shirley Valentine: Audio - English only.
Subtitles - English only.
Aspect Ratio - 4:3 full frame.
Special features -...
Published on 20 Sept. 2011 by Sticky paw

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars nice collection of films for girls
Three nice movies for an evening when the husband is out.... I really likes 'The first wives club', it's very funny and the actresses are great. Shirley Valentine is also acted very well by Pauline Collins, and it makes you wonder if you live the life that you've always wanted, or the life you've always despised. I haven't watched "Terms of endearment" yet, since I'm out...
Published on 24 Nov. 2010 by Marielle


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good, solid dramas, 20 Sept. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shirley Valentine/The First Wives Club/Terms Of Endearment [DVD] (DVD)
Bought this 3 disc set for the wife as she wanted Shirley Valentine and this pack was pretty good value for money. The set is presented in a single DVD-sized case which holds all three discs. There is no booklet or outer sleeve.

Shirley Valentine: Audio - English only.
Subtitles - English only.
Aspect Ratio - 4:3 full frame.
Special features - none.

Terms of Endearment: Audio - English (5.1 DD), English & German (Mono).
Subtitles: English, Arabic, Bulgarian, Czech, Danish, Dutch, Finnish, German, Hungarian, Icelandic, Norwegian, Polish, Romanian, Swedish, Turkish.
Aspect Ratio - 1.78:1 widescreen.
Special Features - Audio Commentary with the director, co-producer & production designer, Theatrical Trailer.

The First Wives Club: Audio - English & German (5.1 DD) Czech & Hungarian (surround).
Subtitles - English, Arabic, Danish, Dutch, Finnish, German, Icelandic, Norwegian, Swedish, Turkish.
Aspect Ratio - 1.78:1 widescreen
Special Feature - Theatrical Trailer.

In an ideal world, I would have packaged 'Shirley Valentine' together with 'Educating Rita' and maybe 'Little Voice' (all excellent British actress led films), but of course, they are produced by different studios.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Films about women, 10 Oct. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shirley Valentine/The First Wives Club/Terms Of Endearment [DVD] (DVD)
I enjoyed all three films when they were released in the cinema.It was so refreshing to see different women's reactions to common situations in life .....Shirley Valentine still makes me laugh, First Wives Club has some
brilliant scenes and Terms Of Endearment touches the heart.Strong women need a sense of humour to face life's ups and downs.Excellent collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic, 26 Mar. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shirley Valentine/The First Wives Club/Terms Of Endearment [DVD] (DVD)
Bought the set purely for Shirley Valentine which is a classically funny film, as much as when it first came out, but a bargain with two others thrown in for a very cheap DVD!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fab girly films!!!, 1 Jun. 2010
By 
Md Egal "michelle" (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shirley Valentine/The First Wives Club/Terms Of Endearment [DVD] (DVD)
Shirley valentine is my idol, this film is what every 40+ something woman would love to do, it is funny,sad, my favourite film of all time, the other two films are fab too, especially the first wives club,its about 3 soon to be divorced women & how they go about getting back at there men, halarious!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable viewing, 18 May 2010
By 
Mr. RD Everist (Bedfordshire UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shirley Valentine/The First Wives Club/Terms Of Endearment [DVD] (DVD)
I love the film Shirley Valentine. This DVD comes with two great classics at the lowest price I cam across and I have not been disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars nice collection of films for girls, 24 Nov. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shirley Valentine/The First Wives Club/Terms Of Endearment [DVD] (DVD)
Three nice movies for an evening when the husband is out.... I really likes 'The first wives club', it's very funny and the actresses are great. Shirley Valentine is also acted very well by Pauline Collins, and it makes you wonder if you live the life that you've always wanted, or the life you've always despised. I haven't watched "Terms of endearment" yet, since I'm out of tissues :-)

Subtitles in arabic, bulgarian, czech, danish, dutch, finnish, german, hungarian, icelandic, norwegian, polish, romanian, swedish, turkish!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love it!!!, 26 Sept. 2010
This review is from: Shirley Valentine/The First Wives Club/Terms Of Endearment [DVD] (DVD)
Excellent value originally I bought this just for Shirley Valentine but love all three films.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Trio, 31 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shirley Valentine/The First Wives Club/Terms Of Endearment [DVD] (DVD)
I really purchased this DVD for Shirley Valentine - one of my all time favourites, and vaguely remembered the other two films. I have now watched all three and loved them all. I suppose they would come under the category of 'chic flicks', all very watchable and each one transmitting its own lesson in life! Great bargain also price-wise.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Talk to the wall, 29 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shirley Valentine/The First Wives Club/Terms Of Endearment [DVD] (DVD)
I watched Shirley Valentine years ago and it is still as fresh and meaningful now! Such a thoughtful tale of self discovery. Gently told and beautifully acted in a backdrop to die for! I think there is a little bit of Shirley in all of us.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars God DVD, 30 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shirley Valentine/The First Wives Club/Terms Of Endearment [DVD] (DVD)
Love Shirley Valentine and have it on video but of course our video broke down so had to get the DVd. The others wo films were a bonus because now I have three good films to watch. Delivery good as usuall.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Shirley Valentine/The First Wives Club/Terms Of Endearment [DVD]
£6.55
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews