Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great introduction to DAW software
This package does an amazing amount of stuff to say it's under £150.
Several synthesizers, including a sampler, a drum synth, analog and FM synthesizers.
Basic instruments.
Effects, and a great, easy to use interface.
One of the best products on the market.
Shame it's exclusive to Mac as I would have got it for my PC
Published on 13 Nov 2009 by slimeburger

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not compatible with Mac OS X 10.8.3 onwards
I had been using this software for 20 years in its previous incarnations as EMagic Notator/Creator on Atari and PC.

I bought an iMac recently and was unable to download Logic Pro X because of my broadband connection, which is very reliable and 8MBps. I bought this software and although it installed, it didn't appear in Launchpad and when clicked in Finder,...
Published 14 months ago by Birchy


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great introduction to DAW software, 13 Nov 2009
This review is from: Logic Express 9 (DVD-ROM)
This package does an amazing amount of stuff to say it's under £150.
Several synthesizers, including a sampler, a drum synth, analog and FM synthesizers.
Basic instruments.
Effects, and a great, easy to use interface.
One of the best products on the market.
Shame it's exclusive to Mac as I would have got it for my PC
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect for the solo musician, 13 April 2011
By 
Benson (Cardiff, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Logic Express 9 (DVD-ROM)
As a singer/songwriter/producer who works out of my own bedroom with little to no access to expensive equipment and a string quartet orchestra this software is perfect.

I work primarily with a midi keyboard to produce my tracks so having the EXS24 software with this is a god send. There is very little difference between this and logic pro. Infact, it is moreless identical to use. It just doesn't contain as many plug ins and effects that you get with logic pro. Saying that everything you need is here; the only disappointment being the lack of the 'Space Designer' reverb which is not included. 'Platinum reverb' is sufficient... you just have to tinker around with it a lot. Autotune is also not included but there is something very similar called 'pitch correction' which operates pretty much the same way.

You also get the 'drum beat' program with A LOT of different drum kits. So you are perfectly equip to make drum samples with your midi keyboard if that is your thing.

It co-operates very nicely with garageband also so you can borrow sounds, presets and effects from that program if required.

At the end of the day I get extremely professional sounding results out of this software. I don't really see what else the more expensive software could have offered me for someone who isn't recording many live instruments and using high tech processors and other extra equipment.

I would also imagine this software is a great, affordable way for GCSE, A Level and degree students to produce coursework.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Caution, product discountinued, 18 Jan 2012
By 
D. Benn (Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Logic Express 9 (DVD-ROM)
This is great software, but as of Dec 2011 it has been discontinued, and Apple are currently (18 Jan '12) offering no upgrade path. So if you buy it, this will be it. No patches or updates. Having said that, this 'baby brother' of Logic Studio has all the DAW features a small project / home recording studio needs. Or if you want to 'move up' from Garage Band you will find hundreds of tools and features to matching your growing talent!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best DAW for the buck, 27 Feb 2010
By 
Jaanus Veerberk (Estonia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Logic Express 9 (DVD-ROM)
I was really surprised how much potential this software has. The best bang for your buck really. It has everything and more that i could want from DAW. The best part is that it's really easy to learn. Includes very good effect plugins, sounds and Flextime feature from Pro is a must try :))) I would really recommend this if you're looking for a perfect software for your home studio, you can't go wrong.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply brilliant, 30 Aug 2011
This review is from: Logic Express 9 (DVD-ROM)
Having used the PC based cakewalk for 10 years, this was a nervy move to this, however, having used this for over a month now I think it's simply brilliant in what it can do. It has sped up our songwriting process and greatly improved the production of our material.

I would highly recommend this product to anyone serious about recording professionally standard material.

Andy Baugh
UMoose
Silly name, serious music
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Wonderfully simple to use, 12 July 2011
By 
Leigh (London, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Logic Express 9 (DVD-ROM)
I, like many others, moved onto this from GarageBand, as I was looking for something more flexible, extensive and expandable for making music with. Thankfully, moving to Logic from GarageBand is very simple as the UIs are somewhat similar and it only took me a couple of hours to learn the basic ins and outs of the Logic interface. The included instruments give you loads and loads to play with - the included drum kits, in particular, are fantastic (especially considering that GarageBand doesn't have much in that regard), but so are all the synths and other instruments. Recording and editing MIDI is very straightforward and intuitive. I'm very happy with my purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not compatible with Mac OS X 10.8.3 onwards, 17 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Logic Express 9 (DVD-ROM)
I had been using this software for 20 years in its previous incarnations as EMagic Notator/Creator on Atari and PC.

I bought an iMac recently and was unable to download Logic Pro X because of my broadband connection, which is very reliable and 8MBps. I bought this software and although it installed, it didn't appear in Launchpad and when clicked in Finder, where its icon appears with a crossed out symbol over it, it threw up the error:

"This version of Logic Express, 9.0.0, is not compatible with your version of Mac OS X."

Returning for a refund.

BE WARNED!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars logic, 29 Dec 2011
This review is from: Logic Express 9 (DVD-ROM)
A brilliant product to help begin understanding music production. Comes with the majority of things you will ever need and use so once bought, there is no need to look into anything else.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Logic ex:), 27 Jan 2011
This review is from: Logic Express 9 (DVD-ROM)
Nice nice nice software to produce music. If you starting to produce or record i think this is the best choice. It's very easy to use and you have so much effects and instrument so your imagination is not limited:) best buy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Logi xpress 9, 13 Dec 2010
This review is from: Logic Express 9 (DVD-ROM)
This is a great piece of software, and the new features work really well (Audio flex)
Perfect for my small home studio system!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Logic Express 9
Logic Express 9 by Apple (Mac, Mac OS X)
£99.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews