Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Songs From The Eye Of An Elephant
Ryan Star is a fantastic talent, and one more people should have heard of! The passion and emotion Ryan puts into his songs is amazing, and here, on a collection of songs recorded by the man himself without any polish more so than ever. I like many others, discovered Ryan on Rock Star: Supernova

and was blown away by his vocal range and ability...
Published on 3 Oct. 2006 by S. Smith

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Music to cause depression
I'd heard Ryan Star singing the theme tune to the "Lie to Me" TV series, liked that, so bought this, his first album. What a mistake! Everybody has some angst that they need to get rid of ... perhaps artistic types more than others, but did he really have to pile it into one, unremittingly depressing album. Not only that, but all the tracks have the same, dreadful...
Published on 15 Aug. 2009 by P. A. Bamber


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Songs From The Eye Of An Elephant, 3 Oct. 2006
By 
S. Smith "MJS555" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Ryan Star is a fantastic talent, and one more people should have heard of! The passion and emotion Ryan puts into his songs is amazing, and here, on a collection of songs recorded by the man himself without any polish more so than ever. I like many others, discovered Ryan on Rock Star: Supernova

and was blown away by his vocal range and ability.

'Songs from the Eye of an Elephant' really captures his songs, something hard to do, as these are the songs as they were originally recorded in Ryan's house, and it adds to the effect immensely. Hearing just Ryan with a piano or accoustic guitar, the way the songs were written is fantastic.

Without being over-produced the songs are raw, and this aids the songs and particularly, Ryans awesome voice. You can hear Ryan clear his voice or stamp his feet on the ground when playing and this makes you really feel like you are there with him!

I can't recommend this album enough, take a chance, you won't be disappointed! The CD actually contains 20 tracks, including 'Back of your Car', made famous when Ryan was a finalist on Rock Star: Supernova -

1 - We Might Fall

2 - So Ordinary

3 - Famous Love

4 - Losing Your Memory

5 - Psycho Suicidal Girls

6 - "O"

7 - Back Of Your Car

8 - Saw You In Heaven

9 - The Same When I'm Alone

10 - Dance With You

11 - Sink Or Swim

12 - Perfect

13 - Famous Yet

14 - The First Time

15 - Waiting For Love

16 - Here Son

17 - Take A Ride With Me

18 - The Fairy Tale

19 - The One You Know

20 - Lullaby Suicide
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a truely great album, 10 Jan. 2008
if you like emotional semi acoustic tracks this is for you, alot of piano and vocals froma great lyracist with an awesome voice.
probably the guy that should have won rockstar supernove this album has some amaizing tracks, my faves are 'here son' losing your memory' and 'the fairy tale' but there really isnt a bad track on the album.
its hard to liken ryan star to anyone he has a kind of eddie vedder vocals with the meloncolly edge of i hate to say it some of the better james blunt tracks. deffinatly worth a listen, you wont be dissapointed. and sorry i sound like his mum banging on about how good it is but i have not bought an album this good for a long time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Magnificent Album, 7 Nov. 2009
By 
G. N. Kewley (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I came across Ryan Star through the theme music from the TV series Lie to Me. It was difficult to get hold of but I managed to buy a download of an EP with some other songs. This inspired me to look for other material and I came across "Songs for the Eye of an Elephant".

Probably the best album I have bought in years! It contains emotionally charged songs delivered with sincere vocals and "unplugged-style" musical accompaniment. Ryan is a phenomenally talented singer songwriter. I hope he continues to craft more material like this in the years to come.

If you like music that stirs your emotions ... buy this album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Ryan Star - From the Eye of Jim, 30 Nov. 2006
By 
Jim (Portsmouth, Hampshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This album takes getting used to, but you will appreciate that it contains some awesome songs, especially at the start. This album is a fare bit away from the type of music he performed on "Rock Star Supernova", he has opted to stay away from the rock side and gone for the more mellow Acoustic feel. This is slightly disappointing...however, this is still an awesome album. Although maybe a little strange at times. The album is mainly acoustic & piano playing with some harsh & real song lyrics at times. The album does lack energy at times & I feel it needs the odd upbeat song to change the mood.

The song "So Ordinary" is a good combination of brilliant lyrics, vocals and piano playing and will appeal to all. It seems similar to Something Corporate at times with the piano/rock twist on the album.

At the end of the album, there is a song called "Lullaby Suicide"...which is the voice of an innocent young women talking about suicide....slightly odd to say the least. But overall...a great album, I defintely reccomend this to any music fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars ryan star- an awesome talent, 11 May 2007
By 
N. D. Skitt (walsall uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
this stripped down album shows how brilliant Ryan Stars voice is.Even with just a piano these songs are full of raw emotion and power.Ryan not winning Rockstar Supernova was the best thing that could of happened because now he can showcase his undoubted solo ability.The highlights on this album are many but So Ordinary,Losing Your Memory and Perfect are songs of stunning quality.If bands more well known wrote these songs music critics would be full of praise and acclaim.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Music to cause depression, 15 Aug. 2009
By 
P. A. Bamber "Peter" (Yorkshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I'd heard Ryan Star singing the theme tune to the "Lie to Me" TV series, liked that, so bought this, his first album. What a mistake! Everybody has some angst that they need to get rid of ... perhaps artistic types more than others, but did he really have to pile it into one, unremittingly depressing album. Not only that, but all the tracks have the same, dreadful style.

I've never sold an album again so quickly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Very Boring, 10 Jan. 2010
Sorry Ryan, you have a good voice but seem to shout your way through all of your songs. Each song sounded like the previous one. Very disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews