Customer Reviews


179 Reviews
5 star:
 (117)
4 star:
 (31)
3 star:
 (13)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (17)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


94 of 104 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Movie. Not so good package.
I saw the movie before buying it on DVD. I liked it so much, that I bought the Special Edition. Unfortunately, the special edition turned out to be a huge box, that would not fit with the other DVD's, that contained the normal cheaper DVD of the same movie, plus some post cards, and a not so interesting book about Tarantino.
The movie is excellent. BUT, steer away...
Published on 18 April 2002

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Brought this advertised as a steelbook
This was advertised as a steel book blu ray when i brought it so be careful what you are buying. Great film and the company providing gave me a full refund after complaining letting me keep the dvd edition (i all ready owned this)
Published 9 months ago by dean breeze


‹ Previous | 1 218 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

94 of 104 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Movie. Not so good package., 18 April 2002
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I saw the movie before buying it on DVD. I liked it so much, that I bought the Special Edition. Unfortunately, the special edition turned out to be a huge box, that would not fit with the other DVD's, that contained the normal cheaper DVD of the same movie, plus some post cards, and a not so interesting book about Tarantino.
The movie is excellent. BUT, steer away from the special edition. Buy the cheaper version and save some cash (for pulp fiction).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I had to write a review....., 22 Dec 2009
This review is from: Reservoir Dogs (Blu-ray)
To address the lack of reviews of the actual Blu Ray so far.

This transfer has really improved the look of the film in a way only a few films have benefited on Blu Ray. The colours are razor sharp and the texture of the scenes in the hide out are spectacular.
The other benefit is the sound, we all know what a great soundtrack this movie has and the increase in clarity and bottom end just makes the whole deal even sweeter.
In short this is a great movie that has made the trip onto Blu Ray in stunning fashion.
Oh yeah and it's really cheap, buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Are you going to bark all day little doggy? Or are you gonna bite?, 15 Sep 2007
By 
David P. "A Reviewer" (West Sussex, England) - See all my reviews
I own this DVD at home and in my opinon, this film is brilliant. It has an interesting storyline and I feel that the flashbacks throughout the film are good also, as you learn a bit about some of the characters' background. So what's this film about?

Two gangsters, Joe Cabot (Lawrence Tierney) and his son Eddie (Chris Penn) have six strangers (two Joe and Eddie know personally) to take part in diamond robbery for them. None of these men know each other and are forbidden to reveal any personal information about themselves, such as where they might have grown up, where they might have done time and even their own names. Joe has colour coded these six strangers, and they have to refer to each other as their given names. They are as follows; Mr Brown (Quentin Tarantino), Mr White (Harvey Keitel), Mr Blonde (Michael Madsen), Mr Blue (Eddie Bunker), Mr Orange (Tim Roth) and Mr Pink (Steve Buschemi).

The film begins with all eight of them, sitting together in a cafe, just before the robbery. The film then skips to after the robbery, in which you see right away that the robbery has gone wrong; Mr White is driving a dying Mr Orange to the rendevous point (a warehouse), where they are soon joind by Mr Pink and Mr Blonde. Mr Pink is convinced they were set up, considering how quick the police arrived, as if they were forewarned of the robbery. Were they set up? Or was the cops' timing a coincidence? Well just watch and find out.

The only thing I find dissapointing about this film is that you don't see much of Mr Blue and Mr Brown. It would be interesting to learn a bit about their background. Apart from that I have nothing to critisize.

This is the first film directed by Quentin Tarantino (who has successfully directed other classic films such as Pulp Fiction, Jackie Brown, Kill Bill and Deathproof) and like I said the film is great, and is a film I recomend to all those who like gangster films.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Goin to bark all day little doggy, or are you goin to bite?, 2 Aug 2004
By A Customer
Reservoir Dogs, 2 disc Special Edition. Think about it. It should be in YOUR collection.
Never had a film been made quite like Reservoir Dogs when it was released in 1992. Unknown video shop worker turned Director, Quentin Tarantino propelled himself into the Hollywood stratosphere with this unique tale of pride, betrayal and friendship among gangsters. The story has now became legend: an organised jewellery heisst has gone terribly wrong, and the remaining survivors try to find who the 'rat' of the gang is. The story then goes into a series of flashbacks to each individual gangster, to inform the viewer where the betrayal originated from. What's in-between I hear you ask? Well, try ear slashing, Stealer's Wheel, hundreds of swear words(literally) and a conversation about Madonna's hit song 'Like A Virgin'.
What made Reservoir Dogs one of the most unique movies ever made was its array of emotions - its hysterically funny in many scenes, savage in others, and very touching in the conclusion for example. Like Tarantino's other films, the dialogue is really special and it transports the audience into a real-life situation which portrays real-life people. The actors are all brilliant, from Harvey Keitel to Steve Buscemi. For me, I think that Tim Roth, who plays the unfortunate Mr Orange, is the stand-out of the bunch. He was to later recieve an Oscar nomination for his role in Rob Roy, and here shows what an emerging talent he was. There is no doubt about it, all the actors give memorable performances and give the film that added class.
This 2 disc set is really the edition every Reservoir Dogs fan should buy. My favourite extra is undoubtedly the lengthy interviews for each character in the film plus Quentin Tarantino and Producer Lawrence Bender. Check out the ultra-relaxed Michael Madsen talking about his pets, and Tim Roth's night out with Quentin. For many, it is the sound and picture quality which makes this edition worth purchasing or not. Compared with earlier releases, there is not that much of a difference, but the soundtrack does blare that bit louder and crisper. I have been a keen DVD collector for quite some time, but the packaging for this 2 disc set is one of the best I have seen. You have a deluxe outer covering, and the inside folds into three, revealing the warehouse where the basis of the film is shot. There is also a collector booklet, which fans of the films will treasure.
Reservoir Dogs was Tarantino's gateway into the movie business and stands now as a 90's classic. Never has a film been deemed 'perfect', but Reservoir Dogs goes damn close. Should I buy it I hear you contemplating. You know the answer by now surely.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must buy!, 5 Jan 2010
By 
R. L. Matthews "purpleryan" (Brighton) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Reservoir Dogs (Blu-ray)
I can't understand some of the previous reviews of this film. If you don't like violence or lots of dialogue, then Mr Tarantino is not for you. I suggest you try someting like Transformers which should be less taxing.

The transfer of the film is fantastic and improves on the patchy sound on most of the DVD versions. I was concerned that the improved clarity would detract from the grittiness of the film, but it was almost like watching a new film. The extras are very entertaining and original, and make a difference from the usual boring 'making of'.

I would strongly recommend adding this to any blu-ray collection, especially for less than seven quid. Bargain!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cheap, Low-budget movie, 28 May 2008
Having watched this movie for the first time in ten years (yesterday-June '08), I was blown away by its brilliance and power. Lets get down to the brass tacks- this is a low-budget movie and it has the patina of a cheap amateur production. First movie from the big-chin Quentin Tarantino who came out of nowhere (i.e., a video store in Manhattan Beach, California) and turned Hollywood on its ear in 1992 with this breath of fresh air.

Reservoir Dogs has a fantastic unconventional structure, cleverly shuffling back and forth in time to reveal details about the characters-- experienced criminals who know next to nothing about each other.
From the start we know something has gone wrong, and the plan has blown up in the criminals faces. One by one, the surviving robbers find their way back to a prearranged warehouse hideout and from there we are treated to two hours of blinding genius motion picture.

This movie will forever remain a piece of 1990's nostalgia. This is the kind of movie that you can watch again and again. Upon first seeing this film back in 1997, I was struck by the occasional outbursts of bloody violence and vulgar language. I found myself confused towards the direction of the plot which made me dislike the movie at first but that all would change.

On second viewing I realise this movie was going against the grain at the time. It wasn't like any of the cliche' and lame crime films of the 80's and early-90's (eg. see K.Costner in the typical Hollywood garbage REVENGE). Resevoir Dogs was original and set the standard for the crime genre for the rest of the decade. It broke new ground and surprised the viewer at every corner.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars one of the best works of the 90s, 6 Jun 2012
By 
This review is from: Reservoir Dogs [DVD] (DVD)
It's startling to realise that this is now twenty years old. This is still a shocking piece of work. Although, for a gangster film, there isn't really all that much violence, what there is is powerful and dark. It's also a masterpiece of plotting on a budget. Set largely in a warehouse, where a gang of criminals are set to meet after an armed robbery that has gone wrong, it's a tight claustrophobic setting, where the confusion of the robbers as to what's gone wrong is matched by our own, as the film is told out of sequence. We see the bloody aftermath before we even know what they are trying to do. As they piece together who's alive and who's dead, and whether it all went wrong by accident or if there is a rat in the house, so we piece together who is in this gang, and what roles they all played in it.

There are examples of Tarantino's now famous naturalistic dialogue, where a bunch of guys just sitting around a restaurant table, or cruising in a car, really can sound like a bunch of guys just sitting around a restaurant table, or cruising in a car. The characters come to life, and the plot keeps us glued to the screen - we're involved but always playing catch-up - a tight line that Tarantino walks with perfection. Complete with great dialogue, iconic scenes - any bunch of guys walking down the road in suits, or especially in sunglasses too, will always get someone commenting on it, or starting to hum the tune that goes with it, or how about the Mutually Assured Destruction showdown between Keitel's Mr White and Buscemi's Mr Pink ("I didn't create this situation. I'm dealing with it!") and the infamous scene involving Michael Madsen's Mr Blonde with a captured policeman - this film still feels fresh and dangerous, and I get the feeling that is unlikely to change. With this as a debut feature, and following it up with Pulp Fiction, Tarantino established himself as one of the most important names in 90s cinema.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Value For Money DVD and good if want to get Into Acting, 1 Jun 2009
By 
Having recently purchased this DVD, it was a joy to watch this directorial debut from Quentin Tarrantino. While it was inspired by the Hong Kong flick City of Fire, that's where similarities end. Here, you have rich dialogue & memomorable performances from Harvey Keitel, Tim Roth & Lawrence Tierney and some blistering action sequences, inspired by John Woo. Yes, this film is watchable again and again, and really is awe-inspiring in every sense of the word.

Disc two is incredible: unlike most special features, they really up the ante here. Witness Chris Penn being interviewed in the back of a moving lorry; Michael "Mr Blonde" Madsen displaying his softer side; Tim Roth giving an insight into why he hates the auditioning process and a very good tribute to Lawrence Tierney, with fantastic anecdotes from Penn & other cast menmbers. It's also worth watching to see how QT got Reservoir Dogs commissioned in the first place and serves as a useful insight into breaking into the business. Who says going to acting classes doesn't pay off?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Brought this advertised as a steelbook, 16 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Reservoir Dogs (DVD)
This was advertised as a steel book blu ray when i brought it so be careful what you are buying. Great film and the company providing gave me a full refund after complaining letting me keep the dvd edition (i all ready owned this)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great, 2 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a simply fantastic film- but it comes as a 1 disc edition in the classic white cover design. Don't let this put you off because it is a brilliant film
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 218 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Reservoir Dogs
Reservoir Dogs by Quentin Tarantino (Blu-ray - 2009)
£9.23
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews