Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


59 of 60 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Jethro Tull DVD you've been waiting for
This DVD/CD package is an absolute must have for any Jethro Tull fan; finally a concert DVD from the classic 1970s period and the closest thing possible to having a video version of Tull's seminal live album `Bursting Out.'
The set comes in a fantastic shiny Digipak containing a booklet with photos and linear notes from Jethro Tull frontman Ian Anderson himself as...
Published on 21 Sep 2009 by Gentlegiantprog

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing
I realise that the footage of this gig was difficult to get and a bit limited, but some of it was just vocals with pictures showing on screen, and it was extremely short, too. It should have been made more obvious in the product description, and it was very expensive for what it was. I'll probably not bother playing it again but guess it's a piece of the Tull jig-saw....
Published 9 months ago by Debz


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

59 of 60 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Jethro Tull DVD you've been waiting for, 21 Sep 2009
By 
Gentlegiantprog "Kingcrimsonprog" (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jethro Tull - Live At Madison Square Garden (DVD + CD) [2009] [NTSC] (DVD)
This DVD/CD package is an absolute must have for any Jethro Tull fan; finally a concert DVD from the classic 1970s period and the closest thing possible to having a video version of Tull's seminal live album `Bursting Out.'
The set comes in a fantastic shiny Digipak containing a booklet with photos and linear notes from Jethro Tull frontman Ian Anderson himself as well as manager Terry Ellis.

Now for the interesting part; the original broadcast only features 50 minutes of recorded footage, but Jethro Tull played an hour and a half long concert so the cd contains a 78 minute long version of the concert (with all the dead air and segments without music edited out) while the DVD contains the full video concert, plus seven audio only bonus tracks and you can choose to either `play all,' or `play video only.' Perhaps this was an inelegant solution but considering the fact that the rest of the concert wasn't filmed it seems to me the best solution available given the circumstances.

It also seems pertinent to mention that there are a few visual hiccups and one audio problem owing to the nature of the very old satellite broadcast from which the concert is taken but this are few and far between, easily forgivable and do not hamper your overall enjoyment of the show. The people putting the DVD together took every care to restore as much of the concert to as high a standard as possible without damaging the music and it shows.

Now with all that out of the way, it seems about time to discuss the concert. And what a concert it is, `On Fire,' scarcely describes just how energetic and captivating the Tull performance is, bringing the songs to life in ways the album versions hint at, adding proggy intros to `Sweet Dream,' and `Songs From The Wood,' and sticking extended jam sessions to the end of 'No Lullaby,' and `Locomotive Breath,' and adding a flair and energy to every single piece that justifies why fans have been crying out for live material from this era for so long. The band even have two uncredited jam sessions including a `Conundrum,' style piece with full Drum solo after the first performance of `Locomotive Breath,' and `God Rest Ye Merry Gentlemen,' with a full band jam session after `No Lullaby.'

Ian's voice is magnificent and he rips through different styles from the soft `One Brown Mouse,' to the deep `My God,' with no trouble at all, and special mention must go to the absolutely storming rendition of `Thick as a Brick,' which is absolutely gigantic, if you had your doubts about the DVD they'll have been erased by the time the drums kick in.

That's not to say that Ian is the only one going above and beyond the call of duty, Martin Barre absolutely murders his guitar during the solos on `No Lullaby,' `Aqualung,' and `Locomotive Breathe,' while Barriemore Barlow rolls and flails his way across the drum kit like a madman at times, while always maintaining a precise and complicated beat that'd leave many other drummers scratching their heads.

When I first saw this package I was worried it would be some poor quality bootleg slapped together with compressed audio, blurry pixilated video and a terrible box and as it turns out nothing could be further from the truth, this is a fantastic package with excellently mixed audio (really clear mix, all elements be they guitar leads, kick drum, piano, xylophone or Mr. Anderson vocals are audible and either clear or punchy where appropriate) as great a job on the video as could be done with the source material (It looks better on my HDTV than even some of the stuff on Tull's `Jack in the Green,' and all of their `Slipstream,' DVDs) and a classy Digipak style box to house it all in.

Best of all; the CD/DVD package isn't going for a stupid high price either, so if you want a Jethro Tull DVD from the 70s you can sigh in relief knowing you won't be ripped off either monetarily or in terms of quality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tull-tastic! Jethro Tull Live @ MSG 1978, 25 Sep 2009
By 
Bored@Work (Devon, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jethro Tull - Live At Madison Square Garden (DVD + CD) [2009] [NTSC] (DVD)
For me Jethro Tull's out put from Minstrel in the Gallery to Heavy Horses (and, maybe, Stormwatch, which I have only recently purchased) is their 'best' period - I got into Tull one Christmas while poorly in bed listening to my Christmas present of Too Old To Rock n Roll on musicassette via a Phillips mono cassette player. I was a fan from then.
This concert from 1978 during the tour from which the live album Bursting Out comes, is the concert tour I would really loved to have seen. Well now I can, or at least one show from that concert!, and it is a joy to see a live set from this era with this classic line up of Anderson, Barre, Barlow, Evans, Palmer and...oh, John Glascock was ill at the time so there is a last minute replacement on bass.
Being a satellite broadcast from 30 years ago the picture quality is variable, sometimes quite good, at others...well. But overall you can't really complain. The concert actually started 15 or so minutes before the satellite broadcast so there is no video footage of this, instead we get some still concert images over the first three songs, then the broadcast begins and Tull come back on stage as if just starting the concert, this for the 'home' audience who have just joined, the end of the concert is the same with still images over the second encore. And a cracking concert it is with Ian Anderson in full flow, and the rest of the band really tight and giving it their all- brilliant stuff- this really is the Concert DVD Jethro Tull fans have been waiting for, an excellent package which could only have been bettered had it been shot on 35mm film with an anamorphic transfer.
Packaged in a triptych digipack with a booklet which has notes from Ian Anderson and Terry Ellis, a bonus CD of a slightly edited concert it is great value for money. The cover picture features Ian holding his flute in a phallic way, learing at an hirsute and strangely suited Martin Barre.
The sound is a different matter to the video, available in DTS 5.1 (96/24) surround, Dolby Digital 5.1 and LPCM 2.0 Stereo, but it still needs turning up to 11!
Cannot recommend this DVD enough - every Tull fan should have a copy, and even if you've just a passing interest in Tull, or live gigs from the 70s, then this is an essential purchase. Surely THE DVD that Tull fans have been craving. It's going to see the inside of my DVD player a lot.
Buy it now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Why has it took so long, 21 Sep 2009
By 
Mark Kibble "Underground man" (Coalville Leics England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Jethro Tull - Live At Madison Square Garden (DVD + CD) [2009] [NTSC] (DVD)
1978; sitting comfortably, glued to the goggle box, a 'live' transmission of Tull from the Madison Square Garden .... brilliant sixty minutes of the band in their prime. Since then I have often wondered whether or not it will be repeated (bbc3 or a music channel) no need to check now as with this package not only do we have the original transmission but in addition theres an extra thity minutes (audio only) of the three warm up songs plus three more that made up the finale.

Audio is top drawer, visual not at all bad, and as you would expect from a televised event, there appear to be cameras everywhere, and for anyone who has seen Tull you will appreciate the necessity, mr Anderson, forever the showman is in top form.

The set includes Thick as a brick, Songs from the wood, Aqualung, Locomotive breath among others, flute and drum solo's plus some ripping guitar leads from our Martin, all (as Delia would say) done to perfection.

At just under a tenner you would think this a good buy, but wait for it not only is there a dvd but also a cd to play in the car, now that can't be bad.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AT THE END.... !, 16 Oct 2009
By 
Bora Cetin "Bora CETIN" (ISTANBUL, GOZTEPE Turkey) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Jethro Tull - Live At Madison Square Garden (DVD + CD) [2009] [NTSC] (DVD)
I buy this DVD-CD on Oct.7, 2009 in Istanbul.
I'm waiting this show's ( full ) video, since 1978.
Beleive it or not, this concert broadcast in Turkey sametime ! Not live broadcast in October 9, 1978 .. but same weekend ! On Oct.14, 1978 Saturday afternoon.... I couldn't beleive my eyes.
Oct.14, 1978 Saturday on TRT TV ( Turkish National Radio and TV ) Ian Anderson and Friends are coming in my house ! ( These years, Turkey has a one chanell TV and its Black & White ! )
I couldn't beleive my eyes and ears. I have a date with my girlfriend but I forget it... I freeze front of the TV ! ... Jethro Tull play "Thick As A Brick" in my Television ! Unforgetable moments in my life...
( I want to record it ( audio ) but I have no portable stereo recorder in TV room. I call my best friend an I tell him; "Please open your TV and please find a empty cassette and record it !" ... he use his sisters portable stereo recorder but he found only C60 cassette ONE SIDE !. Still, I save this cassette ! )

Maybe you know, this concert is the FIRST "Global Live TV Broadcast" ( with satellite )in the World History.

DVD contains 50 minutes live video of this amazing concert. Jethro Tull performance is best ( specially Martin ! )

Dear musiclovers, buy this DVD and watch the Jethro Tull magical moments in 1978.
Thank you IAN, at the end "MSG Live" in my hands. You carry me 31 years back.. with wonderfull memories.
Plese don't forget to check your dusty attic shelfs from time to time.

Thanks from Istanbul.

Bora Cetin
TULLTURK
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great but, 4 Oct 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jethro Tull - Live At Madison Square Garden (DVD + CD) [2009] [NTSC] (DVD)
Fantastic except for the lack of video for some of the tracks. Yep I know that if it aint there I can't have it and that ANY of this concert is Anderson (and therefore Tull) at the peak of his (their) career(s) so I am duly grateful. But to not have the first three tracks on video and only on audio as they hadn't started filming yet and not to have the fantastic finale except to listen to coz they'd shut off the cameras... AAAAARGG it's just so frustrating!

That aside - and some ropey film work - I'm just I'm pleased I've finally seen it and I remember missing the original broadcast.

It would have been 5 starts except for my frustration!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Really good but could've been great....., 2 Nov 2009
This review is from: Jethro Tull - Live At Madison Square Garden (DVD + CD) [2009] [NTSC] (DVD)
Nice to see this line up on DVD at last with the exception of the late great John Glascock who's really missed in this show both playing wise & visually! Strange set list considering the band had limited transmission time. I thought any solo would have been shelved even IA's overlong flute solo, never a highlight of any Tull show considering the great material they have available to play. "No Lullaby" never really worked that well live far better to have done "Heavy Horses" considering this was the HH tour & perhaps dropping in "A New Day Yesterday", "To Cry You A Song" & the complete version of "Songs from the Wood". That aside the playing's great, energetic and as usual Barrie Barlow's drumming awesome & Messrs. Anderson, Barre, Evans, Williams(short notice)& Palmer are all top drawer! The last segment of a Tull show still hasn't changed but this was when "Aqualung" & "Locomotive Breath" sounded fresh! Can't wait for the superior BBC Golders Green "Songs from the Wood" show on DVD but this is well worth having as this era of Tull is unbeatable & the additional audio CD is a great bonus!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Jethro Tull at their best., 4 Dec 2009
This review is from: Jethro Tull - Live At Madison Square Garden (DVD + CD) [2009] [NTSC] (DVD)
I listened to this broadcast on BBC Radio 1 way back in 1978 and loved it. I had been a fan of Tull from my school years in the late 60's (hey, I might be getting on but my generation still rocks, man!). The DVD footage has been lovingly restored and enhanced to produce a crisp sound and a clear image, well done to the guys in the studio, we who appreciate this applaud you. I could go on and on about Tull, but to sum them up in a few words would be pointless, so just get this and you will be rewarded. Happy watching and listening.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What are you all gurning about?, 18 Nov 2011
This review is from: Jethro Tull - Live At Madison Square Garden (DVD + CD) [2009] [NTSC] (DVD)
For goodness sake folks.

This was recorded in 1978.
They played a full gig as that`s what the folks in NYC had paid to see, so luckily someone recorded the audio for the entire concert.
TV stations in those days didnt record frivilously as Tape was expensive.
Obviously they didnt have a crystal ball to the "I want my extras" generation of the 21st Century.

This is classic era Tull, minus John Glascock who was recovering from heart surgery , sadly soon to be gone forever.
Pub session man Tony Williams does a brilliant impression of him mind you - sounds like him, and even has a similar look.

The quality of the video is great and the audio sounds superb, in many was higher quality than bursting out.

For under £7 this is a bargain.
This era of Tull for many of us is, and always will be the zenith of the band.
This captures that perfectly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tull Flying In Top Form, 25 Oct 2009
By 
Timothy P. Taylor (Bolton, Lancs United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Jethro Tull - Live At Madison Square Garden (DVD + CD) [2009] [NTSC] (DVD)
After so many years of waiting at last a straight Tull DVD of a concert. This is Tull on highest form when they were top of the premiership in footballing terms so to speak. Tull were one of the biggest bands in the world and you can see why. Anderson is sparkeling, John Evan is wild and at one point you can just see Martin Barre leap towards the front of the stage. Ian Andersons obvious nervousness adds to the excitement. The musicianship is first rate, Barrie Barlow shows what an excellent drummer he is! The songs are as listed above a great combination of old and new. This was the period of Heavy Horses, maybe the last great Tull album (there have been several very good ones since!). Has anyone else noticed the similarlty between One Brown Mouse and Big Dipper? The version of Songs From the Wood is untouchable from the into of Pibroch to the very last note, fantastic stuff. Locomotive Breath shows these boys can rock with the best...dont read more just buy it! Its a real shame the rest of the gig wasnt recorded on video but you do get a free CD of the show to play in the car.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A fair document of the old days, 28 Sep 2009
By 
Andrew Jackson (Glasgow) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Jethro Tull - Live At Madison Square Garden (DVD + CD) [2009] [NTSC] (DVD)
Focusing on the CD: interesting to compare this 78 minute disc with the original Bursting Out, not least because it's the only Tull album not produced by Ian Anderson (Broadsword was mostly his work, in the end, despite being credited to Samwell-Smith). So, the keyboards are generally higher in the mix, and it's easier to hear what John Evans is up to. Rougher round the edges, perhaps, but usually the better for it.

The 2 min instrumental introduction is a welcome extra, with some King Henry's Madrigal-like keyboards, before Sweet Dream kicks off the show. Pity the flute is missing from this version ... perhaps IA decided to save the first puff for Brick later on, when the cameras were rolling. One Brown Mouse is pleasant, as usual, if nothing special.

Heavy Horses: great pity this was missing from Bursting Out, and good to have a '78 version here. It's at this point, though, that one misses the incomparable precision and energy of John Glascock on bass ... can't help feeling this is his song, somehow.

Similarly, if you've seen Glascock playing Thick As A Brick on the 1977 BBC show, you'll know what he brought to that song on stage, but still, this is without doubt the highlight of the CD (and the DVD). The growl and grit of Evans' Hammond organ is more audible here than on B-Out, with Barre at his best, and overall a more punchy and natural mix.

No Lullaby + flute solo + instrumentals: rather an odd choice for the broadcast section, I've always thought, and not the best use of the limited time. Perhaps IA wanted to showcase his trademark huff & puff solo, but if I never hear one of these again I really wouldn't mind ... they're quite tedious after a while. The instrumentals: God Rest Ye Merry Gentlemen is where Tony Williams comes unstuck on bass, hitting the odd bum note, wandering about a bit, and then the instrumental which ended up on the song Kelpie ... which is a rather simplistic and repetitive jig. So, after all that sniff and snort and sundry folderol, plus a minute of Pibroch keyboard music prior to Songs From the Wood (a nice extra though that is) a full 10 minutes have gone by. Would have been nice to see Hunting Girl and Jack-in-the-Green in that lot, or a filmed Heavy Horses perhaps: decent dramatic songs which would have 'sold' the recent albums better, and which feature better musicianship.

Songs From the Wood, and then it's the famous Aqualung, which seems to go awry here and there; perhaps not as tight as B-Out. Locomotive Breath: well, those who miss Evans' piano will be grateful for another good recording of that great introduction, and the piano is up in the mix throughout, minor warts and all. Another highlight of the show.

An uncredited (and un-indexed) instrumental follows the Dambusters finale: would have been nice to have this as a separate track. Mind you, it's not a particularly memorable piece, slightly reminiscent of the later Seal Driver in places: Martin solos for a while, as does Barrie Barlow on drums. Again, an odd choice for what was a relatively short concert -- this instrumental clocks in at over 7 minutes.

Too Old to Rock `n' Roll is one of those songs I'd be happy never to hear again, but this is a lively enough version of it. And a final treat: the opening 3 minutes of My God (Evans to the fore again), followed by Cross-eyed Mary. If only this had been included on the film and not the bloody flute solo malarkey!

All in all a rather odd sequence of tracks, determined by some extent by the live broadcast element. Not perhaps the best gig of that tour, but a great visual document for the fans who weren't there. Just a shame John Glascock wasn't on stage with the rest of them ... for me, it takes away some vital piece of magic, both visually and musically.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Jethro Tull - Live At Madison Square Garden (DVD + CD) [2009] [NTSC]
£13.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews