Customer Reviews


99 Reviews
5 star:
 (80)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


33 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The true roots of R&B
This album brings us the type of music which has inspired a whole generation of HIP-HOP and R&B stars, you can tell as oon as you hear this album that Marvin Gaye was one of the greatest performers to ever grace the music scene! it includes clasics like Mercy Mercy Me and also some inspiring duets. This is an album for all ages and i doubt that no one who listens to...
Published on 25 Sept. 2000

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
Great
Published 1 month ago by alison marsden


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

33 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The true roots of R&B, 25 Sept. 2000
By A Customer
This album brings us the type of music which has inspired a whole generation of HIP-HOP and R&B stars, you can tell as oon as you hear this album that Marvin Gaye was one of the greatest performers to ever grace the music scene! it includes clasics like Mercy Mercy Me and also some inspiring duets. This is an album for all ages and i doubt that no one who listens to it will say otherwise a truly clisic album bringing together some of the great man's biggest hits.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


40 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best single CD of Marvin�s music, 16 Feb. 2005
By 
Peter Durward Harris "Pete the music fan" (Leicester England) - See all my reviews
(No. 1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
You cannot fit all of Marvin's hits on a single CD but this collection has most of the essentials. From a British perspective, one advantage that this has over the double CD (Very best of, which was compiled in America but released in both the UK and USA) is that it includes three UK top ten hits that are not on the double CD, these being Onion song (supposedly with Tammi Terrell, though Tammi was too ill to record the song and a sound-alike substituted), You are everything (with Diana Ross) and Abraham Martin and John (which was an American hit for Smokey Robinson and the Miracles, not Marvin Gaye).
There is no room on this CD to explore Marvin's career in depth, but it does contain all his important British hits (some minor hits have been omitted) and on that basis, it provides an excellent overview of Marvin's career. Nevertheless, before buying this, you may wish to compare it with the double CD, Very best of.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Marvellous Marvin!, 12 Mar. 2009
By 
M. Cumming (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
You can't get more soul or a sweeter sound than Marvin Gaye's voice. This is a real must if you want something to touch your heart and soul and relax into some amazing feelings. Buy it or you're a fool missing out on some legendary songwriting...!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars abraham martin and john, 8 Mar. 2012
there's no perfect 'best of' or 'greatest hits' for any artist as everyone's tastes differ... a 'greatest hits' is more straightforward as it contains mainly the hit singles - a 'best of' is more open to debate... all the Marvin Gaye compilation albums look excellent and contain all the obvious hits and choice album cuts -there's not much to choose between them - but for me this is the one i'm going for as it's the only one that contains 'abraham martin and john' which is a beautiful and incredibly moving song (a hit in 1970 and first heard by me from my brother's motown chartbusters vol 5 album).....i guess there must be legal reasons why this fantastic song is not on the other best ofs, as surely for those who have heard it must love it.......
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 10 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Good quality sound, lots of tracks, just what I was hoping for. It has been played a lot since the purchase. This now sits amongst my current most played albums. Received quickly etc. Ticks all the boxes and another reason why internet shopping is taking over!! When you live in the Western Isles of Scotland... this process is all to easy and makes it such that the shops are now on your doorstep. Thanks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the Very best, 27 Oct. 2010
I was pleased to get a fast delivery. The CD was of a very good quality. Didn't keep it long though my son soon borrowed it! Haven't seen it since.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Soul achievement, 9 May 2013
By 
Sporus (Yorkshire, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent selection that reminds you how dominant Gaye was in his era and confirms him as one of the great, poetic lyricists. He hasn't got Otis Redding's voice and the music doesn't quite have the durability you want it to have - but nostalgia would be a poorer emotion without him!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Gorgeous songs, 6 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Best Of Marvin Gaye (MP3 Download)
A great collection of songs. I mainly bought it for "You're all I need to get By" following the recent fantastic advert using the song. But Marvin Gaye is a great talent and there are some wonderful tunes to revisit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars one of my all time favourites just love Marvin Gaye, 19 Oct. 2014
By 
Mrs. Debbie Martin (Kent , UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This was a replacement Cd as I had my entire collection of CDs covering a period of 30 years Stolen! one of my all time favourites just love Marvin Gaye , took me back to when I was a young woman and to happier times x:)))
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars marvin gaye cd., 8 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I was brought up in the era of this music and he has always been a favourite of mine so was pleased when this appeared in the music side of amazon. its still brilliant to listen to and brings back great memories.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Best Of Marvin Gaye
Buy MP3 Album£4.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews