Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Value Soundtrack album plus...
Calamity Jane was released in 1953. It is (very) loosely based on the life of Wild West heroine Calamity Jane and explores an alleged romance between Calamity Jane and Wild Bill Hickok in the American Old West. The score is by Sammy Fain and Paul Francis Webster. The main castings were Doris Day, Howard Keel, Allyn Ann McLerie, Philip Carey and Dick Wesson. Musical...
Published on 1 Sep 2008 by C. FULLER

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A worthwhile CD but sadly incomplete
These remastered tracks are worth the purchase price but the title "Original Soundtrack" is misleading. Of the 10 songs in the film only 8 appear on this CD. The missing songs are:

HIVE FULL OF HONEY... performed in drag by Dick Wesson as "Frances Fryer"
KEEP IT UNDER YOUR HAT... performed by Allyn Ann McLerie

Curiously Allyn Ann McLerie's...
Published 15 months ago by Edward Watson


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Value Soundtrack album plus..., 1 Sep 2008
By 
C. FULLER (Brixham, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Calamity Jane (OST) (Audio CD)
Calamity Jane was released in 1953. It is (very) loosely based on the life of Wild West heroine Calamity Jane and explores an alleged romance between Calamity Jane and Wild Bill Hickok in the American Old West. The score is by Sammy Fain and Paul Francis Webster. The main castings were Doris Day, Howard Keel, Allyn Ann McLerie, Philip Carey and Dick Wesson. Musical Direction/Supervision by William Jacobs.

The film starred Doris Day as the title character and Howard Keel as Hickok. This compilation has the original recordings digitally remastered, and provides 8 tracks from the original sound track of the film as they were released and intended to be heard plus 12 bonus tracks performed by Doris Day. The film won the Academy Award for Best Original Song ("Secret Love", Sammy Fain and Paul Francis Webster) and was also nominated for Scoring of a Musical Picture and Best Sound, Recording. This is a great opportunity to obtain the soundtrack and additional recordings. The sound quality is excellent and the attractive art work on the front and back but please remember there are no liner notes for these CDs. The running time is approx 54 minutes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Original Sound Track?, 2 Sep 2011
This review is from: Calamity Jane (OST) (Audio CD)
I was surprised that I didn't hear all the original voices as on the movie. So I wondered why it was called 'Original Sound Track'. I don't know if there exists an album that is the same as the movie but this ain't the same. Having said that, it's all good stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A worthwhile CD but sadly incomplete, 26 Aug 2013
By 
Edward Watson (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Calamity Jane (OST) (Audio CD)
These remastered tracks are worth the purchase price but the title "Original Soundtrack" is misleading. Of the 10 songs in the film only 8 appear on this CD. The missing songs are:

HIVE FULL OF HONEY... performed in drag by Dick Wesson as "Frances Fryer"
KEEP IT UNDER YOUR HAT... performed by Allyn Ann McLerie

Curiously Allyn Ann McLerie's name appears on the CD cover although her solo song is omitted and she is not heard in any of the included tracks, even "A Woman's Touch" which in the film is a duet sung with Doris Day.

What a pity that the producers did not take the opportunity to include these memorable songs in a complete compilation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It's missing a song!!!, 4 Jan 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Calamity Jane (OST) (Audio CD)
This album's great, although there is one problem; and that is that it's missing the song, 'Hive Full of Honey'. Also the song 'A Woman's Touch' only feature's Doris Day's voice, even though it's sung as a duet in the film. There aren't that many songs in the film and to forget to include one of the best numbers, is absurd and inexcusable.

There are a number of songs on the album, that have no connection to the film; which I feel the album and could have quite happily done without. This is a film soundtrack, not a Doris Day compilation after all.

Having said all that, it's nice to be able to listen to the songs without having to skip to the relevant scenes in the film every time you want a listen.

So all in all, it's not a perfect album and could be improved upon; but for the money, you can't complain.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sing along with Calamity, 14 Nov 2010
By 
E. S. Gallagher (Wiltshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Calamity Jane (OST) (Audio CD)
I Bought this for my grandaughters 4 and 6 years as they absolutly loved the film, and of course the songs, which were quickly memorised. Being the original soundtrack they were able to easily identify and associate the songs with the relevant scenes, my 6 year old grandaughter told me this!! Her favourite being "I can do without you" and the 4 year old "Black Hills of Dakota"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, 18 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Calamity Jane (OST) (Audio CD)
Misleading and not enough information in the first instance. I was extremely disappointed that it is not the original score from the film and Doris Day sings all the songs as opposed to other characters who sang in the film. Doris Day didn't sing 'A Woman's Touch' on her own and she didn't sing 'When you come to the subject of Harry' at all.
I would not recommend it.
I donated it to a charity shop.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unbeatable, 22 Jun 2011
By 
N. Hammond (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Calamity Jane (Original Film Soundtrack) (MP3 Download)
Whip-Crack .. Away! I'm headed back to the Black Hills, the Black Hills of .. and don't I just smile, laugh and sing a long to every bump, slide and holler - Now I Shout It From The Highest Hill: GREAT!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars This is not the sound track, 12 Jun 2014
By 
J. Birt (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Calamity Jane (OST) (Audio CD)
I was expecting the songs as in the film. Some are, but some are sung by someone else, and some are not there at all! Disappointing for a real Calamity Jane fan. There are some other Doris Day tracks which I already had and did not want again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Just what my father wanted, 18 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Calamity Jane (OST) (Audio CD)
Fabulous cd nice memories for my parents and great value will be getting some others for them soon thank you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love it!, 6 Feb 2014
By 
hiljean (Wiltshire, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Calamity Jane (OST) (Audio CD)
I bought this on impulse as I love the songs from the golden age of musicals and the reviews looked good. Wow! What a find. I was surprised by just how many songs I knew and could sing along with. It's a great pick-you-up CD of terrific music, and there are bonus tracks (I was surprised when I recognised a young Frank Sinatra's voice on one of the tracks). True, it's not strictly speaking the soundtrack to the movie, but with the extra tracks and the great songs plus Doris Day's wonderful voice and phrasing, it's a really good CD. I will be playing this a lot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Calamity Jane (Original Film Soundtrack)
Buy MP3 Album£5.52
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews