Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Forgotten gem
I owned this on vinyl and hadn't played it for 20 plus years - bought this re-issue and rediscovered a lost gem plus the Delaney Bamlett mix which is better than the original versionin my humble opinion.More funky and good use of the horn section.

No long guitar solos, just good songs & music from the period that led to Layla & Other Love Songs.Eric at his peak...
Published on 30 Jun. 2006 by L. D. Mooney

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A surprising debut - expanded
The first Clapton solo album very much crystalised his entire career; when he was unsure where his career should go, he could be rather too easily led by a producer/currently hip friend. Unfortunately in later times, it led to Phil Collins' Behind the Sun and August and Simon Climie's Pilgrim and the particularly woeful Back Home. Fortunately, in this case, he had Delaney...
Published on 9 April 2011 by street-legal


Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Forgotten gem, 30 Jun. 2006
By 
L. D. Mooney "dennishickie" (Exiled in England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Eric Clapton (Audio CD)
I owned this on vinyl and hadn't played it for 20 plus years - bought this re-issue and rediscovered a lost gem plus the Delaney Bamlett mix which is better than the original versionin my humble opinion.More funky and good use of the horn section.

No long guitar solos, just good songs & music from the period that led to Layla & Other Love Songs.Eric at his peak for me, free from the hype of Blind Faith and Cream.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A surprising debut - expanded, 9 April 2011
By 
street-legal (Leeds, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Eric Clapton (Audio CD)
The first Clapton solo album very much crystalised his entire career; when he was unsure where his career should go, he could be rather too easily led by a producer/currently hip friend. Unfortunately in later times, it led to Phil Collins' Behind the Sun and August and Simon Climie's Pilgrim and the particularly woeful Back Home. Fortunately, in this case, he had Delaney Bramlett.
A somewhat globally unknown musician, Delaney and his then wife Bonnie's group attracted the attention of some major headliners who dropped what they were doing to guest with them on tour. They supported Eric's supergroup at the time (Blind Faith) and he often much preferred stepping on stage with them than performing to the screaming masses along with Baker, Winwood and Grech. Both he and George Harrison, who was also keen to riff away with them on stage, yearned for a bit of anonymity away from their careers and just enjoy playing music again.
Just like the rootsy Canadian group The Band had convinced Clapton that Cream were a bit flamboyantly old hat, here were a down-home American ensemble that just seemed fun to be around. Clapton's first album reflects that edict, and although one suspects that most of the songs credited to himself and Bonnie Bramlett were mainly the work of the latter, it comes out as a very joyous little number.
To go my first point again, it reflects his enitre career, in that there are one or two absolute gems among the merely pleasant. The main gem is, of course Let It Rain. A tad lacking in the lyric department it is neverthless one of the greatest songs he ever recorded under his own name, with a Fender solo indicating his switch from the more boisterous Gibson. Another is After Midnight, one of two JJ Cale songs he impressively covered in his career (the other being Cocaine; after that they all sounded just like their author). The final one is the absolutely gorgeous Easy Now, a song so unknown by anyone unless they heard it here it is criminal. It never airs on compilations.
Ultimately though, he lets himself be buried and swamped by the occasion. But the best reason for this album comes in this form: he ended up with Carl Radle, Bobby Whitlock and Jim Gordon from Delaney's band. They went on to form Derek and The Dominos and within several months recorded and released Layla and Other Assorted Love Songs; not only the greatest album Clapton dominated. One of the greatest blues-rock albums ever recorded. In fact, the difference between the two albums, just several months apart, is quite monumental!

I usually adore these deluxe editions, but I don't think in this case we are afforded too much to be troubled with. The Delaney mixes of the album are fine but not wholly different in the scheme of things. A few more parps of horns here, a bit of echo there, sometimes just cluttered, like somebody introduced him to a mixing desk but hid the instructions. However, there is a ten minute plus blues jam which is quite exquisite, and She Rides is great to finally hear, even though it is just Let It Rain with different (and amazingly, worse) lyrics . It depends I guess upon the price difference between this and the single cd version and how completist you are.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A lifelong favourite just got better., 22 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Eric Clapton (Audio CD)
I had this on vinyl may years ago and it was always a laid back favourite through my teens. I bought the cd when that first came out a long time back, and over the years it drifted into the depths of the collection, rarely being played but very much appreciated when it did resurface. So when it was re-released as a double cd I was really pleased but then cynical in the extreme and rather annoyed to find the bonus disc was Delaney's mix. I thought that was a total lack of imagination by the record company and held off buying it.
I gave in eventually, and am thoroughly amazed to say that I actually prefer disc two! Some of the tracks benefit enormously with a broader sound, and one or two are longer. None of the original 'warmth' of the sound has been lost and in my view it's gained a softer feel. I'm now one happy Clapton fan, and much as I wasn't expecting to say this, it's the second disc which I keep playing. After all these years of knowing the original album so well, I feel as if I've rediscovered it. I wasn't over impressed with the 461 Ocean Boulevard re-release extras, they seemed to be fairly standard live tracks which left me not exactly stunned. But this re-release has definitely got me pleased, and I'd recommend it to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Good, but not great, 30 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Eric Clapton (Audio CD)
This is a pretty good album and the deluxe version adds some interetsing extra tracks and a different mix. I think I prefer the Delaney BRamlett mix although it is not hugely different from the original mix apart from "After Midnight" where you can now hear horns that I think were mixed out on the original. This is in many ways a Delaney and Bonnie album with Clapton writing most of the sngs and handling most of the vocals. So don't expect stunning guitar solos or guitar wizardry. I guess this is really an album for existing fans. If you're new to Eric Clapton try Journeyman or one of his blues albums like From The Cradle.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Eric Clapton 2 cd set, 4 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Eric Clapton (Audio CD)
I never knew that this 2 cd Deluxe set was available , but I'm so glad that i spotted & bought it , So many good tracks on 1st cd , then the second one being remixes by Delaney Bramlett .
I have nearly all his solo albums - SLOWHAND , BACKLESS , 461 , and love this one just as much . .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars good value for money., 18 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Eric Clapton (Deluxe Edition) (MP3 Download)
. if you are interested in this period of 'slowhands' development.this is the period when he was stretching out.i believe George Harrison was involved in the proceedings. buy with confidence. ricky
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ERIC CLAPTON, 8 Feb. 2009
By 
S. Tomkotowicz (Worcs. UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Eric Clapton (Audio CD)
Remastered 1970 Eric Clapton at his best.Brilliant 2 disc set,the second disc unreleased alternative to disc 1,Bargain,a must have for any Clapton fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 22 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Eric Clapton (Deluxe Edition) (MP3 Download)
Great disc as you would expect very good price and quickly delivered.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Eric Clapton (Deluxe Edition)
Buy MP3 Album£10.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews