Customer Reviews


44 Reviews
5 star:
 (37)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding television
Long a home to Germany's (and indeed the world's) artists, rebels and outcasts, Berlin is the place where the 20th century began and ended and is a more than deserving subject for this in-depth (3x1 hour) documentary written and presented by the BBC's Matt Frei.

I must be honest - I'd long appreciated Matt Frei's journalism but had never realised that he was...
Published on 4 Aug 2011 by Belgo

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars If only they had cut back on the special effects ...
Like other reviewers I found this DVD to be most interesting and informative. Some of the historical film was fascinating. However, my eyes/brain struggled to cope with some parts of the DVD due to the excessive use of 'clever' effects such as split screens with movement in both halves or continual quick switching between scenes. It was somewhat akin to trying to...
Published 7 months ago by Sunnydays


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding television, 4 Aug 2011
This review is from: Berlin [DVD] (DVD)
Long a home to Germany's (and indeed the world's) artists, rebels and outcasts, Berlin is the place where the 20th century began and ended and is a more than deserving subject for this in-depth (3x1 hour) documentary written and presented by the BBC's Matt Frei.

I must be honest - I'd long appreciated Matt Frei's journalism but had never realised that he was German (his accent gives nothing away even if, on reflection, his surname does...). So who better to guide a British audience through this cleverly constructed narrative of his nation's capital. Indeed you get the feeling that this is a story that Matt Frei has long been waiting to tell, and it's done with enthusiasm, wit and and a profound knowledge of - and feeling for - this great city. The story is told predominantly through weaving together the lives of the city's inhabitants, from those who shaped the course of its history - such as Frederich the Great or Hitler - through to those otherwise ordinary citizens who've been shaped by it, such as those who still recall witnessing Kennedy's "Ich bin ein Berliner" speech, or who suffered at the hands of the Red Army in 1945. In each case, big events are seen through small eyes and it was hard not to be moved at the first-hand accounts of holocaust survivors or families carved in two by Berlin Wall, for example.

Part three begins and ends with an elderly woman clinging on to a balcony on the day the Berlin Wall was constructed. Above her, East German police trying to pull her towards Communism, below her West Berliners encouraging her to jump towards the freedom of the capitalist west. It's a fantastic metaphor for Berlin - and Germany - and if you're only even remotely interested in German history or indeed in that of the Cold War or Europe more generally then I cannot recommend this documentary series highly enough. Television history at its very best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


40 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding, 7 Dec 2009
By 
Mr. J. Norris "radio ted" (Newton-le-Willows) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Berlin [DVD] (DVD)
A very impressive documentary series charting the Berlin's bloody, magnificent and moving story in 3 parts. This is no lightweight tour guide programme but one that deals with the city's psyche and split personality. It's a bloody, moving and magnificent story deftly presented by Matt Frei.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


50 of 52 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars go and see!, 1 Dec 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Berlin [DVD] (DVD)
Loved the series when it was shown on TV, a very interesting approach towards what must be the most complex, interesting and fascinating city on earth. Instead of telling Berlin's story in chronological order, Matt Frei looks at Berlin from different angles, presenting the concepts and ideas, the architecture and people which (re)shaped the city. In doing so Mr Frei provides us with a compelling inside view. Compulsory viewing for anyone who would like to go and see for themselves.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars flawless presentation, 1 April 2010
By 
Amelrode (Vilvoorde) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Berlin [DVD] (DVD)
Even tough I am living at present in Berlin and actually I am not a big fan of the town
one could fall into love with this city after having watched Matt Frei's take on Berlin.
Lots of think about and maybe to re-evaluate. Definitely a series to watch and a great video.
Matt Frei's presentation is flawless.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 27 April 2010
This review is from: Berlin [DVD] (DVD)
All points of history covered from Frederick the Great to the fall of the Wall. Privileged access gained to such buildings as Templehof airport and the statue on the Brandenburg Gate.

A fascinating documentary series for a fascinating city.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great documentary, 7 Feb 2010
By 
Lindell Peter "PL" (Sweden) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Berlin [DVD] (DVD)
Great documentary that gave me a new perspective on not just Berlin but on German history. Matt Frei delivers it with passion, empathy, knowledge and insight. Anyone with interest in this city with its brutal and fascinating history and its influence on Germany and mayby, indeed, the rest of the world is highly recommended to watch this. BBC keeps setting the standard for brilliant documentaries.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Berlin past and present, 30 Mar 2010
By 
G. Pearl (Bournemouth, Dorset United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Berlin [DVD] (DVD)
A really fantastic documentary of Berlin and its history. An eye opener as to the legacy of the past, in particular of WWII. Well made and enjoyable to watch again and again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars berlin memories, 11 Feb 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Berlin [DVD] (DVD)
Congratulations Matt Frei!!Excellent series! It captured all my memories of Berlin as a city which has contiually reinvented itself and of a cosmopolitan people who, inspite of their horrendous historical past at times, have proved so resiliant: it's down to their sense of humour and sense of self-worth and civic pride. Go there if you can ( and dine at Dressler's on Unter den Linden!!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best of the BBC, 25 Feb 2010
By 
P. HEATH "Paul Heath" (Northampton UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Berlin [DVD] (DVD)
A fascinating and erudite exposition of Berlin's recent history made by a journalist with a real enthusiasm for the subject.
I am a great lover of Berlin,and consider it the most interesting and beautiful city I have visited,so I was bound to relish the series. Satisfyingly, Matt Frei shows the very aspects of it's history and architecture which fascinate me and which I would use to illustrste Berlin's appeal to a stranger.
So often when the viewer knows a little of a subject,the perfunctory nature of the journalism on offer is disappointingly obvious,but here the knowledge and understanding shine through . The structure of what is a quite short series seems well thought out,and the emphasis on the different historical strands well balanced .
Berlin fascinates because it contains the full story of the 20th. century - war ,revolution, the rise of Fascism,utopian planning, advances in science and art, the Cold War and the collapse of Communism,and now the pan-European project. Frei illustrates all these aspects,bringing them to life with well chosen interviews and archive film.
This is a gem of a programme,a tribute to informed journalism, and represents the best of the BBC .( Hard to believe this is the same organisation which tortures us with Strictly Come Dancing and The Weakest Link.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Better 2nd Time Around, 21 Mar 2011
By 
C. M. Cotton "Chris Cotton" (Europe and USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Berlin [DVD] (DVD)
I have stayed in Berlin many times and find it to be a city of many contrasts. I have a fascination for modern history and International Relations, as I teach these subjects at an American University. For me Berlin is the epicentre of modern European history. Berlin has seen many changes from Bismark through to the 1st World War. The communist uprising 1918/1919 in Berlin to the weakness of Weimar Republic helping to put the Nazis back into power, who then re-established Berlin as their Capital, to the Cold War division and fall of the Berlin wall 1989. Modern Berlin has all the scars of these past events for all to see.

Matt Frei, looks at all these stages of Berlin's history in this 3 part series. Each episode is almost an hour long and intermingles historical footage, with modern day interviews of Berliners with a fascinating look at modern day Berlin, its buildings, streets and Squares.

The first time I watched the series I did not like the modern documentary style, using special effects with images of Berlin. Occasionally I felt Matt Frei's style a touch superficial, introducing an interesting topic, but stopping short of explaining its full significance. The second time I watched the series, I saw things I did not see from the first viewing and his style and the modern editing grew on me.

Whilst this is not a comprehensive history of Berlin, it is nonetheless very interesting within the selected fields of,1. Berlin's History, 2. Division and 3. What it is to be a Berliner. Once you get used to the funky editing with graphics and the somewhat superficial explanations given, this is an immensely enjoyable 3 hours for anyone at all interested in Berlin as a City, its history and its residents.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Berlin [DVD]
Berlin [DVD] (DVD - 2009)
£6.10
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews