Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just buy it. You won't regret it for a second.
I've been listening to this album over and over on the way to and from work since the day it came out, which is a 45 minutes drive each way, and I am still showing absolutely no sign of getting bored with any of it.

The problem with some reviews of this album is that the reviewers get hung up on the history of some of the people in this band, and try to compare...
Published on 28 Oct 2009 by morebasheder

versus
18 of 27 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars sounds exactly how you fear and hope at exactly the same time
At least you can never say that Bernard Sumner ever really put his feet up for an extended retirement. With around 17 albums of original material over the past thirty years (and more if you count the numerous odds and ends of the discography and compilations), the problem here is that Bernard is a musician, and he makes music without necessarily considering the internal...
Published on 16 Sep 2009 by Mr. M. A. Reed


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just buy it. You won't regret it for a second., 28 Oct 2009
This review is from: Never Cry Another Tear (Audio CD)
I've been listening to this album over and over on the way to and from work since the day it came out, which is a 45 minutes drive each way, and I am still showing absolutely no sign of getting bored with any of it.

The problem with some reviews of this album is that the reviewers get hung up on the history of some of the people in this band, and try to compare and contrast, rather than just enjoying it for what it is:

A masterpiece of an album that suits every mood, without one duff track on it.

Which is a marvel, in these days of people picking and choosing the one or two tunes from an album that they've heard on the radio.

Just buy it. You won't regret it for a second.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Bad Lieutenant: Not New Order. Not a Harvey Keitel movie. Not bad at all, 2 Oct 2009
This review is from: Never Cry Another Tear (Audio CD)
Bernard Sumner and New Order bandmates Steve Morris and Phil Cunningham return sans bassist Peter Hook (following the seemingly bitter and irrevocable 2007 New Order breakup) but with the additions of Alex James (Blur) and Jake Evans (Rambo and Leroy) as Bad Lieutenant. Hook let it be know that he didn't want the New Order moniker used without him involved and Sumner took the new band name from that old Keitel movie when he saw it playing at former Electronic partner Johny Marr's house.

The new album sounds a little bit like a blast from the New Order past ("without the bass," as Hook has observed). In a good way, it's also bit like Electronic. Reading the track list, you might think someone had raided Paul Weller's wastebasket during the Wild Wood recordings. And so what? As Sumner sings on Summer Days: "1993 was a special time for me."

Don't expect anything too new or different. "Head Into Tomorrow," sports not only a Weller-esque title, but an Oasis-like delivery from the band's second vocalist Jake Evans.

But for new New Order fans, especially those who can't wait to hear Sumner singing again, NEVER CRY ANOTHER TEAR may cause a few happy tears to be spilled.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars suprisingly good, 4 Nov 2009
By 
This review is from: Never Cry Another Tear (Audio CD)
Having heard the single"sink of swim" i have to admit i wasnt expecting much, but was pleasantly suprised by how good this album is, its a real "grower", and in my opinion is brenard sumners best work since his debut electronic album back in 1991,

i think the stand out tracks are Twist Of Fate ,This Is Home, Running Out Of Luck , Shine Like The Sun, Runaway, Falling Trees .

yes it does lack hookys bass, and there is a lack of synths, but there are some great melodies,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Bernard Sumner release since technique, 4 Oct 2009
This review is from: Never Cry Another Tear (Audio CD)
I loved New Order, I mean REALLY loved New Order - quite simply the best band ever in my opinion. So i was gutted when they finally split but I needn't have worried as the split seems to have given Bernard a new lease of life and with his new project Bad Lieutenant he has delivered his best album since Technique.
Less keyboards and more lush guitars give the album a sumptious troubadour feel, and first single "Sink or Swim" is the Bernard at his songwriting best!"Twist of Fate" is surely destined to become a classic also. Newcomer Jake adds lead vocals to a few songs on the album to great effect - all in all a real return to form
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Let's Pretend ...., 17 Oct 2009
By 
The Wolf (uk) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Never Cry Another Tear (Audio CD)
Let's play a game.

Let's pretend for a little while that we know nothing at all about the
remarkable lineage of this fine ensemble's illustrious main protagonists.

Difficult I know but the suspension of knowledge and prior expectations
can sometimes reap rich rewards. No more so than with Bad Lieutenant's
new album 'Never Cry Another Tear'. It is a revelation.

This is not just a good album, it is a great album in every way.
The fourteen songs in this collection are among the very best
you will hear this year.

In no particular order and without reference to specific individual
contributions, stand-out tracks would have to include 'Twist Of Fate',
an ecstatically rich composition with a strong central melody and glowing
supporting harmonies, all contained within a strong driving rhythmic
framework. Perfectly conceived and performed.

The chiming chords and elastic bass of 'This Is Home' support another
uplifting sonic experience. The simple construction of the song
has much to do with its big impact.

In other hands 'Running Out Of Luck' might well have been a tad
brittle and twee. Here, however, incipient sentimentality is transcended
to deliver a truly heart-warming highlight. It is an alluring tune.
Songwriting of the very highest order.

Uncluttered simplicity is maintained throughout the project.
The economy of purpose and vision serves the material well.

'These Changes' is a slower-paced eco-anthem which wears its
heart on its sleeve. The lyrical sentiment is strong without
ever drifting into bathos.

'Shine Like The Sun' does just what it says on the tin.
A shiny, sparkly no-frills piece of warm-fuzzy perfection.
Endearingly naive but very much alive.

So too 'Runaway'. A little voice in my ear whispers that it
really shouldn't work. It is perilously close to the edge of
something which could have been insufferably bland but these
fine musicians manage to drag it back from the brink and breathe
warm life into its lungs. It is lovely song and the world could
do with a little loveliness now and again !

'Head Into Tomorrow' is nothing less than glorious.

For those too young to remember and for those too old to care
there is everything to gain from listening to this wonderful album.
Music really doesn't get much better.

Essential.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sumner's Gold, 18 Sep 2009
By 
L. solanki "Sumner" (Brooklyn NY 11219 USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Never Cry Another Tear (Audio CD)
I had a chance to listen to this album and all I have to say that it is a great album. If you like great guitar playing, nice synths and great melodies you will love this album. I liked Sink Or Swim, This Is Home, Runaway and many more, I don't think that thers is one bad song on this album. Bernard Sumner is a musical genius, he has worked with New Order, Electronic and Joy Division. Give this album a listen and you will be charmed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 27 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars sounds exactly how you fear and hope at exactly the same time, 16 Sep 2009
By 
Mr. M. A. Reed (Argleton, GB) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Never Cry Another Tear (Audio CD)
At least you can never say that Bernard Sumner ever really put his feet up for an extended retirement. With around 17 albums of original material over the past thirty years (and more if you count the numerous odds and ends of the discography and compilations), the problem here is that Bernard is a musician, and he makes music without necessarily considering the internal editor - mistaking saying something with having something to say.

"Never Cry Another Tear" sounds exactly how you fear and hope it sounds at exactly the same time - in one way, Bad Lieutenant sound just like New Order without the bassist. But also, Bad Lieutenant are missing the elusive, invisible magic chemistry that made New Order more than the sum of the parts : oil and water separate, and oil and fire explode. There's promise, talent and good songs, but that isn't enough on it's own. A great band needs something more.

Overall, Bad Lieutenant, made of Bernard Sumner (New Order, Joy Division, Electronic), Stephen Morris (New Order, Joy Division, the woefully underrecognised The Other Two, who is also mysteriously absent from the 'official' promo photographs but all over the record and the live shows), Phil Cunningham of the latter period New Order and, um, Marion, alongside two new Sleeperblokes, are a strange band. Quite how Bernard's bandmate and equal of the past thirty three years became an anonymous session musician at the back is baffling to me. Even though he doesn't play on every song on the record due to family illness, this is no need or reason to relegate the human metronome that is Stephen Morris to a bit part. This is, of course, no debut album, but a continuation of a previous existence in a new phase.

In short, they sound like a bunch of Electronic album tracks with the tempo dialled down slightly. The compelling dynamic of pacey rhythms, the driving bass, and the intricately simple electronics that underpinned the best of New Order's material are all absent here. Listening to it, and maybe this is because I spent too long listening to Joy Division/New Order, I can hear the bars where Hooky would fill the gaps in the sound with warm, familiar bass tones. Here there's no such comfort, just a slight emptiness, a space where the mysterious X factor should be. There's nothing here as great and immortal, as goddamn breathtakingly thrilling on first listen as "True Faith", "Regret", "Crystal", "Temptation", "The Perfect Kiss" or even "Round & Round". At it's best, Bad Lieutenant's best song is about equal to a good New Order song from their latter years ; "Krafty" or "Times' Change".

Is it a bad record? Well,no, not at all. At best it has moments of being pretty good - resembling some elements of New Order's maudlin and under-valued "Republic" : with dramatic keyboard stabs of tension and release, adding a much needed vitality to the musical palette. "Dynamo", the terrific "Poisonous Intent" which races with the kind of vague menace that populated "Get Ready", and the superior "Sink Or Swim" would all sit comfortably on a New Order record. But there's not enough here to make me whole-heartedly recommend this. "This Is Home" and "Shine Like The Sun", both of which prominently feature the new vocalist, sit uncomfortably with these ears : the voice is unfamiliar, and also not quite strong enough to suggest taking a lead.

Great singers, as soon as they open their mouths, you can hear the timbre of, the quality of the voice, and know that that sound is THEM. A voice with personality is rare, and distinctive, the signature stamp of the band, and this new guy, well, he can sing, but he isn't a great lead vocalist : he can write songs, sing them, and do so well and with talent, but the voice isn't compelling to me.

It doesn't help that "Summer Days On Holiday" opening thirty seconds are, note for note, "I Am The Resurrection". And "Running Out Of Luck" sounds oddly like Electronic's "Warning Sign" or "A New Religion", that is, a pedestrian b-side that would not have seen a previous album.

What I did not want to do, and cannot in all conscience do, is damn this record and judge it on its weakest parts. It is occasionally maudlin, dull, unmemorable, but often it is fun, compelling, and vibrant. I'm sure that soon, and in time, the record will grow on me, and perhaps reveal previously obscure intricacies and textures. But I'm not counting on it now. In all honesty, I suspect this will be a record I return to rarely in the future. For now, it is an interesting diversion, that promises more than it delivers. Maybe soon Bad Lieutenant will master the art of the album. These are the baby steps, and, as many debuts prove, it is what follows that is the main event.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not bad (lieutenent) but not great, 5 Nov 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Never Cry Another Tear (Audio CD)
The songs are nice, it's competently cobbled together, it's a New Order spinoff... it should be great but it's just OK, which is even more disappointing than something that is awful because you know it could have been so much more exciting. The production is slick but unimaginative. Apart from the opening track the rest of the songs blend together in a very samey sort of way. Even the inclusion of important guest artists - Joy Division drummer Stephen Morris and the distinctive Blur bassist Alex James - has been rendered a total waste as their contributions are buried in the guitar-heavy mix, and without reading the sleeve notes you'd be hard-pushed to guess which tracks they'd worked on. A big shame. We're going to have to wait for Hooky's Freebass album for our kicks instead (when he decides to pull his finger out and stops pretending to be a DJ).

On a positive note, Bernard Sumner's songwriting and singing is as pleasant as ever and as I say it is good to have another New Order spinoff album released, however anticlimactic it may have turned out to be. Singer/songwriter Jake Evans makes a very complementary partner. His songs and voice sound a little like Doves or Noel Gallagher.

I really hope they stick together and do another album, and if they're going to use revered guest artists again get in a producer who will turn it into more of an event instead of sausage-filling everyone into the same casing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Alright, 13 Oct 2009
By 
This review is from: Never Cry Another Tear (Audio CD)
Probably a bit more consistent song wise than the last couple of New Order albums if a bit MOR.
At least there's no rock the shacks or 'guest' appearances from Ana Matronic to contend with this time.
Nice barney vocals and arrangements overall.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Rare surprise treat, 5 Jan 2010
By 
S. BRANSBY - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Never Cry Another Tear (Audio CD)
Went to see Pet Shop Boys in December 2009 in Manchester and as usual wasn't aware of the support band until they started to play.
I knew I had heard the voice before and was amazed when Bernard Sumner announced his new band , being a New Order fan from the 80's was very surprised and pleased , they do sound similar to New Order which isn't a bad thing but very much enjoyed the guitars and the musicianship of his new band.
Bought their CD as soon as I returned home and am not disappointed with my purchase.

Steve Lancaster.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Never Cry Another Tear
Never Cry Another Tear by Bad Lieutenant (Audio CD - 2009)
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews