Customer Reviews


36 Reviews
5 star:
 (26)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exceptional singer
Behind the very irritating TV personality Cilla Black can be with all her esoteric mumbo-jumbo actually lies a very talented singer and that is something that has unfortunately been forgotten over the times, although Emma Bunton has actualöly covered a few of Cilla's songs in the past. Cilla has an amazing voice but also a great feeling for hopw to intepret songs...
Published on 10 Aug 2010 by TKr

versus
12 of 18 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Sounds Interesring
As this CD and DVD set is not out yet as I write this review may seem strange but I have seen the track listing and I am dissapointed.The 1st cd contains all the hits and a couple of "rare" singles,this is where I have a problem.Two of the songs (He was a writer and I wanted to call it off) are available on the 2002 cd THE BEST OF CILLA so not very rare,I would have liked...
Published on 29 July 2009 by C. J. Walker


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exceptional singer, 10 Aug 2010
This review is from: The Definitive Collection (A Life in Music) [2CD + DVD] (Audio CD)
Behind the very irritating TV personality Cilla Black can be with all her esoteric mumbo-jumbo actually lies a very talented singer and that is something that has unfortunately been forgotten over the times, although Emma Bunton has actualöly covered a few of Cilla's songs in the past. Cilla has an amazing voice but also a great feeling for hopw to intepret songs specifically the cover versions she has done. The first CD contains a history of Cilla's hits in very good sound quality. My only misgiving about that is that she sometimes early in her career had the tendency to more or less start screaming during her songs which is a great shame. So maybe some re-recordings of a maore mature Cilla would be interesting project for the future. The second CD with cover versions is just superb! Every song is carefully selected and Cilla turns each song into something very special and even gets away with doing a cover version of a Sinatra song. I think her genius really shines through in the cover version of Kiss you All over. How easily could a mioddle aged singer turned that songinto a parody of itself but Cilla treats it as raw material and comes up with her own very good and very special version. The third CD contains video clips of her show from the 60s which really is a pleasure as so many 60s shows have been wiped.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars EXCELLENT OVERVIEW OF CILLA'S CAREER ON DISC AND ON TELEVISION, 13 Nov 2009
By 
A. POLLOCK (PLYMOUTH, DEVON United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Definitive Collection (A Life in Music) [2CD + DVD] (Audio CD)
Career and family responsibilities meant the so-called Swingin' Sixties somehow passed me by, so I now retrospectively derive pleasure from the explosion of talent that prevailed during that decade through various anthologies which, thoroughly researched with wisdom of hindsight, give a balanced view of an artiste's recorded output. Cilla Black, princess of Merseyside pop with close links with The Beatles, eventually became queen of game shows and now rules as dowager duchess of celebrity, so it's easy to forget she once outsold most UK girl singers with fifteen studio albums (now available as downloads) and thirty-six singles - of which two reached number one (ANYONE WHO HAD A HEART and YOU'RE MY WORLD) amongst her nineteen Top Forty hits. Those hits join Cilla's classic covers, other essential tracks, five songs new to CD and previously unreleased cuts to make this two-disc overview totally absorbing.

Of course, Cilla was fortunate to have Sir George Martin as inspiring record producer from the outset of her career in 1963 until 1973, with his creative insight enabling her continuing popularity. HITS + RARE SINGLES, the title of the first CD, naturally includes Cilla's debut recording LOVE OF THE LOVED, penned by Lennon & McCartney; then moves forward through those heavyweight emotional ballads with Continental origins that were best suited to Cilla's stratospheric stridency. However STEP INSIDE LOVE (Lennon & McCartney) and the winsome LIVERPOOL LULLABY demonstrate her ability to take a mellower path without losing expressive depth. The second disc, CLASSIC COVERS + ESSENTIALS gives a wider view of Cilla's abilities with I DON'T KNOW HOW TO LOVE HIM (JESUS CHRIST SUPERSTAR), THEY LONG TO BE (CLOSE TO YOU), GOIN' OUT OF MY HEAD, AQUARIUS, FOR ONCE IN MY LIFE and SING A RAINBOW amongst the covers and the essential OH PLEASURE MAN, THE APRIL FOOLS and OH MY LOVE particularly appealing to my taste. A diversionary reminder of Cilla's only feature movie comes via its title song - WORK IS A FOUR-LETTER WORD whilst a few remixes will no doubt delight her fans as will the detailed recording dates and album sources where applicable.

Saving the best for last, the added DVD - CILLA AT THE BBC - 1964-76 features two-dozen television appearances in black and white and colour with many of the entertainer's hits proving to be visually stimulating while showing how well music shows were presented during the period with each segment identified with date etc. and just one duet (THE LOOK OF LOVE/WALK ON BY) with Cliff Richard. Bonus features add two more songs plus discography, biography and photo gallery.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars LONG OVERDUE RELEASE FROM CILLA, 1 Aug 2009
By 
Mr. G. Lane (Castleford Uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Definitive Collection (A Life in Music) [2CD + DVD] (Audio CD)
This Definative collection from The Wonderfull Cilla Black is long overdue. All the hits are here. with a few bonus track released for the first time on CD. but the gem in the collection is Cilla's first DVD release, mostly taken from her variety series CILLA of the 60's and 70's. Not seen the DVD yet. but remember all these shows. This collection is a must for anyone who is a fan of Cilla Black or anyone who ever doubted Cilla's talent as a singer or performer. A true british institute. finally getting the recognition she deserves from EMI. Who are releasing all her studio albums on download in september.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Step inside, 7 Jan 2011
By 
This review is from: The Definitive Collection (A Life in Music) [2CD + DVD] (Audio CD)
Not my favorite girl singer off that time but was one of the best England had to offer, seems like yesterday watching TOP of the POPS and squeezing into smoke filled clubs, before the discos took off, well worth a listern
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cilla is best, 22 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Definitive Collection (A Life in Music) [2CD + DVD] (Audio CD)
Good combination with having the dvd as well. Brings back memories of past loves and losses. If over 50 would recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cilla Black - The Definitive Collection (A Life in Music) [2CD + DVD], 10 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Definitive Collection (A Life in Music) [2CD + DVD] (Audio CD)
Excellent package. A true gamut of Cilla's career. The sound quality has been preserved impeccably on the CDs. George Martin's work is superb. As a foreign admirer of Cilla, I really got to finally hear the treasures that we did not get a chance to hear growing up in the USA in the 60s, except for "You're My World", her only record I remember hearing during that time. The DVD is also of excellent quality, with many of the presentations in color. What a wonderful package. And Cilla's personal message at the end is touching. Congratulations to her and to EMI for putting this together.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One Of Her Best Collections, 7 Nov 2011
This review is from: The Definitive Collection (A Life in Music) [2CD + DVD] (Audio CD)
The reason why I purchased this product (The Definitive Collection) because it has all her original hits on the 2cds and the dvd was a bonus. Cilla was an ikon through the 60s eara and is still going strong. I enjoyed watching the dvd it took me back with the fashion of hair and cloths. I rated this as 5 stars as all the tracks on the cd are original, and thats what I look for when I purchase. Everyone that purchases this product will not be dissapointed, with the price and the cd and dvd.

Billy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WOW, cilla can sing., 15 Dec 2010
This review is from: The Definitive Collection (A Life in Music) [2CD + DVD] (Audio CD)
I'm only 16 and really I only ever knew Cilla from 'Blind Date' I knew she'd been a singer back in the sixties and so I decided to check some of her music out ( I love sixties music) and WOW shes pretty good! This cd has everything you need on! its full of sixties beats and ballads, as well as some pretty awesome covers! Anybody who doubts or ever doubted her talent should really listen to this! shes paved the way for british female singers! A great collection of great quality and jam packed..and for the price lets be honest, you can't complain..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cilla Black CD/DVD, 13 April 2010
By 
I. Robertson - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Definitive Collection (A Life in Music) [2CD + DVD] (Audio CD)
This is an excellent product at a rock bottom price. Great music and a DVD full of nostalgia from her TV shows. A "must buy" for all Cilla fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars cilla black ...definitive collection, 17 Feb 2010
By 
L. G. Dodds (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Definitive Collection (A Life in Music) [2CD + DVD] (Audio CD)
great collection of old and new tracks ...real nostalgia for those of us who grew up in the mersey beat era
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews