Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


39 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A violin celebration
I've long enjoyed the repertoire on this disc and the performances of Jascha Heifetz in some of this repertoire hold a special place in my heart for the effortless way in which they balance technical accomplishment with real musical communication.

On this disc Benedetti completely achieves that balance. Her playing is technically brilliant. Some of the...
Published on 14 Sept. 2009 by M. Ash

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars not my favourite
Thought it would be better
Published 5 months ago by Joanne Wilson


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

39 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A violin celebration, 14 Sept. 2009
By 
M. Ash (Lancashire, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Fantasie (Audio CD)
I've long enjoyed the repertoire on this disc and the performances of Jascha Heifetz in some of this repertoire hold a special place in my heart for the effortless way in which they balance technical accomplishment with real musical communication.

On this disc Benedetti completely achieves that balance. Her playing is technically brilliant. Some of the passages in the Saint-Saens sparkle with virtuosity. Yet the playing never fails to be musical. The technical accomplishment is always at the service of musical communication, with a wonderful delicacy to some of the quieter, more intimate moments. Her phrasing in the Vocalise is exquisite and she maintains a wonderfully full but clean tone throughout, that strikes the difficult balance between sounding overly thin and overly syrupy.

DG's recording is excellent and Benedetti's playing is admirably served by excellent orchestral and piano accompaniments.

A CD of familiar repertoire that is well worth buying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful: Fantastic Disc, 10 Sept. 2009
This review is from: Fantasie (Audio CD)
This album is a beautifully composed and beautifully performed album. Without question Nicola is playing with more passion and with a different approach to her music. Spiegel im Spiegel is the mosssst beautiful recording I have ever heard. In my opinion Fantasie is an essential buy for any violin enthusiast but equally for a first timer to classical music this is THE album I would recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quite brilliant, 15 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fantasie (Audio CD)
Heard Nicola Benedetti recording of Spiegel Im Spiegel on Classic FM and immediately went to Amazon and found this CD. Am excited with her talent that shines on this CD. Not to be missed - and a bargain for a fiver!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic musician, 24 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fantasie (Audio CD)
You don't need to be told that Nicola Beneditti is a great violinist: she certainly is and this CD certainly underlines that fact. Am really pleased to have purchased this disc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good recordings, 3 Mar. 2014
By 
Flyboy (North West England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fantasie (Audio CD)
She plays with feeling and the tone of the violin is wonderful. A nice choice and combination of works on this disc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 18 April 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fantasie (Audio CD)
Bit of a change for my musical taste but this didn't disappoint. Mood music - excellent quality of sound & playing
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An artist true to the music, 19 Sept. 2009
By 
John Byrne (Cork, Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Fantasie (Audio CD)
When you hear a soloist live, it sparks an interest in their musical careers. Such was my own experience having heard Nicola performing live twice in Ireland (Mendelssohn and Sibelius Concerti). I therefore made it my business to buy her three CDs and was delighted to purchase this fourth one recently.
In both her live performances and in these recordings, I feel that the music is Nicola's primary reward rather than financial gain, the opposite so often being the case with other performers.
Her playing is warm, true and full of love for each piece she plays. Reading the CD sleeve, one can see the amount of research and thought put into these recordings, before finally putting her own personality into each piece. The CD would appeal to both the serious collector and the beginner.
The only thing preventing a five star rating here is that it is slightly disappointing to find repeats from her earlier CDs.
Difficult to pick a favourite track but I would go for the Vocalise.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A STUNNING ARTIST, 22 Sept. 2009
By 
I. R. Phillips (Marlow, Engalnd) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Fantasie (Audio CD)
Well I just was totally amazed when I heard Nicola play. The music is so lyrical and her feeling comes through the lovely recording. I may not know much about music especially classical but this CD is just wonderful. Please listen to her then decided. I highly recommended this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 6 Jun. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fantasie (Audio CD)
Excellent delivery time.
Wonderful performance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars not my favourite, 14 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fantasie (Audio CD)
Thought it would be better
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Fantasie
Fantasie by Nicola Benedetti (Audio CD - 2009)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews