Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Budget not the highest but expertly used well worth a view
This movie is not the highest budget horror movie but it performs extremely well within it's budget & unlike many other movies it's limited budget is not an issue.
The cast is bad acting free & there is not an overly used cheap CGI.
The movie I found entertaining in the story & delivery of it but if your looking for a gore fest then this is not the movie for...
Published 9 months ago by ANDREW1971

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fairly generic (but decent enough) jungle monster movie
The story is fairly clichéd. A TV crew go to a jungle island, explore a little, find out about a local monster, and then start to get picked off. The creature effects and acting (though, to be fair, there isn't that much they could do with a script like this) are both about average. The monsters (there are more than one) themselves, are okay (mainly humanoid with...
Published on 2 April 2013 by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fairly generic (but decent enough) jungle monster movie, 2 April 2013
By 
Amazon Customer (Lancashire, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Surviving Evil [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
The story is fairly clichéd. A TV crew go to a jungle island, explore a little, find out about a local monster, and then start to get picked off. The creature effects and acting (though, to be fair, there isn't that much they could do with a script like this) are both about average. The monsters (there are more than one) themselves, are okay (mainly humanoid with mutant faces) and the tension and gore is similar to other movies of this type (it isn't excessively scary or bloody).

Well worth a look for something to switch off to, especially if you like this sort of thing. It is far better than many of the cheap monster movies around (it does have proper actors and there are proper effects--not just cheap CGI). It just isn't amazing in any area.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Billy Zane gets lame, 23 Aug. 2014
ass-wang depicts a mythical oriental demonic creature that lives off the unborn fetus of pregnant women,Surviving Evil depicts a balding Zane who once had a talentless creature with a big pair of tits living off his once thriving career,poor Zane is left with 3 blades and a few lines,but bravely makes it all the way to the end almost without using the trees to practice auto asphyxiation in a film that chokes itself out and has 1987's predator throw its egg whites all over it,Remember when you watch this and your on your deathbed thinking ' if only i had more time as 1hr and 26 minutes is took with no mercy from your life like hair has been snatched from poor Billy's short back and slap',poor unfortunate soul
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Budget not the highest but expertly used well worth a view, 8 Sept. 2014
This movie is not the highest budget horror movie but it performs extremely well within it's budget & unlike many other movies it's limited budget is not an issue.
The cast is bad acting free & there is not an overly used cheap CGI.
The movie I found entertaining in the story & delivery of it but if your looking for a gore fest then this is not the movie for you.
There is no nudity in this movie so it relies more on the story line which I have already stated as good.
Well worth the time to watch & please do not pay too much attention to the bad reviews or it's rather awful trailer as to do so would deprive you of a movie worth a view.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Monkey magic., 10 Mar. 2013
By 
Arch Stanton (Cornwall, England.) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Surviving Evil [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
A film crew out in the Philippines get attacked by vampiric shape~shifters, who're out to snatch pregnant women, so that they can corrupt their fetuses and continue their race of evil, ugly, were~monkey dudes..
Low budget British co~production, filmed in Durban, that is much more entertaining than you would expect, looking at the box. Takes a little while to get going but once it does, it's fairly action packed with some effective monster make~up and silliness. It's biggest flaw probably being that half of the cast are a bunch of whinging duffers. There's a sub plot involving Japanese gold and ultimately, the really nasty idea of vicious creatures that can change into anything, hunting you down in a jungle, is never fully explored but for it's relatively short run time, I had a lot of fun watching this and I've certainly seen much worse. The similarities made by other reviewers to Surviving Evil and The Descent are quite accurate, albeit Marshall's effort is superior. No nudity but some cheap, grisly moments should please horror fans and Zane, the films biggest star, gives a very relaxed performance. Against its peers I'd give it 3.5/5.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good., 2 Oct. 2014
I think was good, not great, but it entertained me for 1 1/2 hours. At least the acting wasn't awful in it and few faces recognised from other films.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Film Go see, 17 Sept. 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Surviving Evil [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
Saw this film in South Africa on the big screen and enjoyed it very much. I hope it gets on the big screen here in the UK but if not buy it.

Its a nice little horror and great date movie

The actors and scarry stuff is good and both Billy Zane and Natalie Mendoza look great. Builds up nicely and the end is very interesting.

Weaknesses...very British and the dialogue sometimes sags....but that being said its a horror and you get your moneys worth

Go see
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Surprisingly Ok, 26 Nov. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Surviving Evil [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
Billy Zane is one of those actors I dislike but in this he is more of a supporting character so I did find this quite watchable. If you like the island/monster horror films then this is worth a watch. Not scary but some gore.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars This is well worth your time., 31 Jan. 2015
By 
Mr. T. Gettins (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
A terrifying thriller on a low budget. It has great camera-work and acting. The early dialog is suprisingly good and the end is delightfully sinister.

Things I learnt: rifles have pump actions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Decent old style British horror, 7 Aug. 2010
This review is from: Surviving Evil [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
I had never heard of this film and was not expecting much (too many dismal unwatchable horror films being made nowadays) but was pleasantly surprised.This British/South African co production reminded me of old style British horror films from the 1950s-70s with a decent storyline,ancient mythology/superstition and sympathetic characters.Its not a classic but definitely well above average.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "..GOOD FUN HORROR..", 24 April 2012
By 
S. Drury "SDX-800" (U.K) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Surviving Evil [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
I was surprised when I watched this film, it is indeed very good, it has a pretty fun and original storyline, the cast were all brilliant, the pacing of the movie was good, for a low budget film the effects are pretty excellent quality too. This is an enjoyable creature feature worth checking out; it's a bit like "The Descent" but out in the open instead of in a cave.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Surviving Evil [DVD] [2008]
Surviving Evil [DVD] [2008] by Terence Daw (DVD - 2009)
£2.25
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews