Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars No Doubt !!
Let there be absolutely no doubt. Beverley Knight is a national treasure !!

No more - No less.

'100%' is a fantastic album. 2007's 'Music City Soul' was too but this new
collection of 13 songs really is the finest work she has produced in a long
and consummately distinguished career.

Listen to 'Soul Survivor' (a marvelous duet...
Published on 12 Sep 2009 by The Wolf

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars not 100%
Beverly Night is brill and the songs on this cd are excelent BUT the quality of the cd is poor i really couldn`t be bothered sending it back it was only 4 somthink but in future i will not buy any cd`s online
Published on 19 Dec 2011 by ladyasda1


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars No Doubt !!, 12 Sep 2009
By 
The Wolf (uk) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: 100% (Audio CD)
Let there be absolutely no doubt. Beverley Knight is a national treasure !!

No more - No less.

'100%' is a fantastic album. 2007's 'Music City Soul' was too but this new
collection of 13 songs really is the finest work she has produced in a long
and consummately distinguished career.

Listen to 'Soul Survivor' (a marvelous duet with Chaka Khan) if you require
any kind of proof of her worth. R&B doesn't get much better than this.

Ms Knight's voice is a naturally and wonderfully expressive instrument.
Never forced - always graceful, powerful and masterfully considered.

If quality was measured as a percentage then the title track
completely lives up to its moniker. A superb composition.

In 'Bare' she delivers one of her most radiant performances.
Experience and maturity and rock-solid good judgement shine
through here with uplifting and truly magical conviction.

'Square Peg' made an Old Wolf's hair stand up on end.

You want credible hot funk? You got it! 'Gold Chain' generates
enough heat to melt a Wolverhampton manhole cover in December.

'Moneyback' is a sly and slinky personal favorite but you will find your own.

'Too Much Heaven', with its simply gorgeous harmonies, brings this
magisterial album to a meltingly beautiful conclusion.

Absolutely Essential !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hold on to the beautiful Knight, 17 Sep 2009
By 
Brida "izumi" (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 100% (Audio CD)
Beverley Knight has for a long time, in my opinion, been the best female soul singer we have in this country. 100% goes to prove that that assertion can justifyingly be made.
The first single, "Beautiful Night" was an instant hit for me. As soon as I heard it on the radio I knew it was her and I knew that that I had to get my hands on the new album.
In my opinion, Knight's best work is often the ballady type songs - they are always packed with emotion and they very often speak to me, putting lyrics and music to feelings / thoughts that I have often had myself. "Bare" is one of the most fantastic song on this offering. It perfectly showcases her voice; the range, depth and force of it. My other personal favourites include, "100%", "Soul Survivor", "Turned to Stone", "Square Peg", "Gold Chain", "Moneyback" and "Too Much Heaven".

Beverley is an amazing artist. Just goes to show that it's not only the Americans who can produce brilliant soul singers.
Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars QUEEN OF BRITISH SOUL!, 1 Oct 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 100% (Audio CD)
Beverley Knight is easily the Queen of British Soul, consistently delivering amazing album after amazing album and this album is definitely no different. With a great tracklist, Beverley delivers each song with such ease and minimum effort, it leaves you amazed at how underrated this artist actually is within music, despite being in the industry for over fifteen years.

The first single, 'Beautiful Night', starts off the album well and then slams straight into what I think is one of the best songs on the album, 'Breakout'. Of course all of the songs bring something very different to this project and Beverley even has the legendary Chaka Khan (providing vocals on the song 'Soul Survivor') on this album, which is a definite plus. The cover version of a classic Bee Gee's song, 'Too Much Heaven', brings something different to the album also. The bonus song, 'Force Of Nature', available for download through Play is definitely one of the best songs from this project.

Only Beverley Knight could deliver an album this good and although I still prefer her previous album, 'Music City Soul', this album is definitely worth every penny.

Beverley Knight is a talent that deserves so much more love within music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars this is 100%..and so much more, 8 Sep 2009
By 
R. Storer "beachcomber" (blackpool. england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 100% (Audio CD)
Fantastic album, thank you beverley...where to begin?
Not one duff track, spoilt for choice as to which is best. We have always known that Beverley has many strings to her bow. She certainly shows it here. This will hopefully ensure her longevity as a truly great artist.Cant wait for the Bristol concert. the last one i saw was in Preston which was a great night and hope she get the same brilliant reception again when she plays there this time round.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 100% is one of her best yet!, 21 Aug 2009
By 
S. J. ROBERTSON (Essex) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 100% (Audio CD)
After a good couple of years, Beverley Knight is back with a fabulous new album. The UK's soul queen has taken the best of her back catalogue and made an eclectic and fresh new record that will appeal to all her fans and more!

`In Your Shoes' is one of the massive highlights on this album, reminiscent to the days of `Greatest Day' and `Made It Back '99', sampling Orange Juice's `Rip It Up'. This track is one of those feel good songs that's screaming for release!

Other highlights include the Chaka Khan collaboration `Soul Survivor' which is very gospel/rock, a real soul sister anthem! `Square Peg' a very contemporary pop song, very dramatic, pianos and the very pretty `Painted Pony', Christmas single me thinks! `Bare' is an instant Bev classic, and 'Turned To Stone' is incredibly addictive.

Only negative would be the inclusion of `Too Much Heaven', it's very similar to the original, would fit better on a Bee Gees compilation album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Queen of Soul is BACK!, 18 Aug 2009
This review is from: 100% (Audio CD)
Bursting with a fresh and current soulful vibe. Mixed to perfection.

'100%' is the brand new offering from Ms Beverley Knight MBE, due to be released on September 7th 2009, and signals the welcome return of the Queen of Soul, this time with her own record label Hurricane Records. She has enlisted the help of some of the big names in the business, including Guy Chambers, Jam & Lewis and of course, DJ Munro!

The girl has done good! I have been listening to the album for almost a week and am still utterly ecstatic about it!

Without giving too much away and spoiling the surprise, standout tracks for me so far are 'Soul Survivor', 'Bare', 'Every Step', 'Square Peg' and 'Turned To Stone'.

We were promised a big duet and you will not be disappointed! The legendary Chaka Khan joins Bev on 'Soul Survivor'. With its thumping disco beat, this is a solid feel-good song that screams HIT! It promises to be an incredible addition to the live set and will blow away any cobwebs. Wow! Hoping to see Chaka perform it live with Beverley at least on one occasion.

I am absolutely in love with the ballad 'Bare' with it's meaningful lyrics and gospel feel that leaves you with goosebumps! It really showcases Beverley's beautiful tone and range.

The lead single 'Beautiful Night' is a very pretty tune, and is very radio friendly. Loved it from the first time I heard it.

Square Peg - an odd title I thought, until I heard the lyrics, and then it made sense. Such a beautifully written song that I think many people will be able to relate to.

Gold Chain really reminds me of Anastacia in style and voice.

Without doubt, Beverley deserves to be up there. This is repeated time and again in reviews and interviews but I will say it again, Beverley Knight is one of the most talented female artists the UK has produced and it baffles me why she doesn't have more global commerical success. But this new record should turn a few heads and get her noticed more!

If you get a chance to go and see this lovely lady live on her tour this winter, don't miss out!
Her vocal ability is faultless and her lyrics touch your heart. Her live shows are an incredible experience, backed by a superb band! Once will not be enough!

I highly recommend you buy this album. You will love it - I am 100% sure of that!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars not 100%, 19 Dec 2011
This review is from: 100% (Audio CD)
Beverly Night is brill and the songs on this cd are excelent BUT the quality of the cd is poor i really couldn`t be bothered sending it back it was only 4 somthink but in future i will not buy any cd`s online
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Beverley Knight shines once again, 2 Aug 2011
By 
Amillionmiles (Hove, East Sussex) - See all my reviews
This review is from: 100% (Audio CD)
I was quite disappointed with Beverley's previous album "Music City Soul" as it seemed to lack energy even though most of the songs were quite uptempo. "100%" is quite the opposite and is filled with catchy pop influenced R&B tracks and has lots of variety. This is Beverley's first release on her own label, Hurricane Records, after her departure from Parlophone. This seems to have worked in her favour as the album oozes self confidence and quality.

The lead single "Beautiful Night" is a lovely slice of soul and pop, with an infectious hook, great vocals and is one of the highlights. It is followed by two more uptempo dance influenced tracks, "Breakout" and the single "In Your Shoes" which bring some fun to the mix. "100%" is a nice slow jam co-written by Guy Chambers. "Every Step" is a really happy sweet midtempo R&B track which reminds me of "Doesn't Really Matter" by Janet Jackson and is the second highlight. The following track, "Soul Survivor", a wonderful uptempo soulful duet with Chaka Khan, is the third great track, mainly because their vocals blend so well together. "Turned To Stone" is another catchy rock influenced pop song and "Bare" is a quiet piano led ballad where Beverley really sings her heart out towards the end of the song. "Square Peg" is really great pop tune, and is the fourth highlight. "Gold Chain" is very funky and the phrasing reminds me of how she sung on "Get Up!". The next tune, "Moneyback", is just as funky. The second ballad on the album is "Painted Pony" and is just as effective as the first. After 12 great tracks, the only very minor disappointment comes with the cover of "Too Much Heaven" by the Bee Gees. It is too cheesy and I am really not a fan of their songs.

This sixth studio album by Miss Knight is one her finest to date and she has certainly surprised me on this one. If I was not fully convinced before, I definitely am now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars 100% Beverly Knight, 21 Oct 2010
By 
Deborah Vose (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 100% (Audio CD)
A much anticipated wait & well worth it.Cant stop playing it in car,me & my 8yr old daughter love it.What more can we say "its brilliant""
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars She's a "Soul Survivor", 27 April 2010
This review is from: 100% (Audio CD)
Well, what can I say? This album is fantastic. The inimitable Beverley Knight has done it yet again. She's back, with even better material than before. This album cannot be put to fault. Fantastic tracks including "Beautiful Night", "In Your Shoes", "Soul Survivor", "Turned To Stone and "Too Much Heaven. Every single song is great! One of the greatest being Bee Gees cover "Too Much Heaven", it's even better than the original version.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

100%
100% by Beverley Knight (Audio CD - 2011)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews