Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning!
This has to be, in my long a varied experience with games, the best I have ever played. Bioshock is one of those games that will have you saying `wow' at the end. It's like a great book that you just have to finish quickly to know how it concludes. When it does you're rewarded with a truly great ending (which, don't worry, I have no intention of giving away)...
Published on 3 Mar 2010 by Max

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Bit of a shock
Finally got around to completing this puppy. It was good but not the masterpiece I expected.

Firstly, the Art Deco style is superb and a great choice. Secondly, the graphics, sound and score are superb. Thirdly, found the game difficult to get into, frustrating to play and a bit tedious at times. You might not.

Marooned in an underground...
Published on 3 May 2011 by Duncan McDonald


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning!, 3 Mar 2010
By 
Max (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Bioshock - Classics Edition (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
This has to be, in my long a varied experience with games, the best I have ever played. Bioshock is one of those games that will have you saying `wow' at the end. It's like a great book that you just have to finish quickly to know how it concludes. When it does you're rewarded with a truly great ending (which, don't worry, I have no intention of giving away).

The story of Bioshock is very unique to gaming. This is far removed from your typical Call of Duty get-in-get-out war game, or your Gears of War sci-fi shooter. It's an original story (with some basing in existing works) that stars a cast of garish humans trying to build a utopia to explore the reaches of human's creativity in an underwater city called Rapture. You are just an ordinary man who finds the gateway to Rapture after surviving a plane crash. What follows is your discovery of Rapture and of your character.

The gameplay is superb. Although not as pin-point accurate as Call of Duty it's use of plasmids and weapons creates a duel two-punch style combat system that's very rewarding. Graphically Bioshock is stunning, the underwater 1950's city (including Art Deco architecture and period music) is one of the main factors that absorb you into this game.

The story is immensely good and well deserving of all the praise it gets. Throughout the game you are forced to make choices (which affect the ending and how you progress) which further draws you in.

Thoroughly recommended. This is my desert Island game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One great game not to be missed in your game library!, 10 Mar 2010
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Bioshock - Classics Edition (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Before playing this game, I had no idea of the story I would get to encounter. In it, you play a survivor of a plane crash who also happens to find by some strange stroke of luck an underground city called Rapture lying deep down the Atlantic Ocean. The first minutes of the game are just simply amazing and frightening as you try to make sense of what is going on. One of the most frightening moment is when you enter and encounter face to face the founder of the city as he talks to you for the first time. Personally this was one of the many goosebumps I got. But the most frightening is in the surgery room when you find some tonic, you look behind you and then...

From the start, the atmosphere immerses you into the game, from the creepy fifties' music to the spooky and morbid lighting around this strange ghost town and the very impressive voice acting to the animation of the character's which are excellent. Loved the powers that you get during the game, especially the telekinesis and the one with the bees. Though you never are to sure of what your character really looks like, if you are very careful, just before you get to meet Andrew Ryan, the founder of Rapture, you find photos of you and also learn a shocking revelation.

Happy to see that the public responded well to this game, which was not the case for certain masterpieces like Beyond Good and Evil which got great reviews, but not enough attention from the public for it was released between prince of Persia, The sands of Time and another Tom Clancy's game whose name I forget. I am happy to see that the sequel Bioshock 2 is out and I hope it will be awesome.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome!!!, 13 Feb 2010
By 
Ioannis Haralabopoulos "Mourloz" (Athens,Greece) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bioshock - Classics Edition (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
A true lesson to how games should be delivered! Great gameplay, great story, great graphics and atmospheric sound. Must have for everyone!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Bit of a shock, 3 May 2011
By 
Duncan McDonald "Dunk" (Dundee) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Bioshock - Classics Edition (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Finally got around to completing this puppy. It was good but not the masterpiece I expected.

Firstly, the Art Deco style is superb and a great choice. Secondly, the graphics, sound and score are superb. Thirdly, found the game difficult to get into, frustrating to play and a bit tedious at times. You might not.

Marooned in an underground metropolis called Rapture, you have to undertake a series of tasks relayed to you by your unseen buddy over the radio. The game is a first person shooter with the usual weapons of the day, machine gun, shotgun etc. You also get plasmids which is kinda magic skills topped up with a juice called eve. Plus you can harvest or rescue little girls and get Adam. This bit did nothing for me or the game.

Loved the setting and as a straight forward shooter it was good. The plasmids and little sister thing did nothing for me and added nothing to the game. Story was a bit played out and I think the whole atmosphere of the game was tarnished by the game having a 'craziness' about it.

Overall, good, different and enjoyable at times but careful it might not be your cup of tea?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Bio shock - more than just a shoot em up, 2 Jun 2010
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bioshock - Classics Edition (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Having read the reviews on this product I was really interested in getting the first in the series of the Bioshock stories to tempt me to get into the 2nd series if and when I get the time!! I have to say I have been blown away by how good this game is. Being the old sceptic that I am I felt this could be a same old shoot em up which is fun for the first hour and then you get bored. Far from it - this game has many different levels, is very engaging and you get emersed in it very easily. It is a testament to the good games when you start playing them and completely lose track of time and realise you should have gone to bed hours ago!!

The storyline is a bit far fetched as you are both back in time and undersea in a world of weird bio science and mutations, but once you get your head round it the game play is very good with problem solving and development to make you stronger and less susceptible to attack. The amount of time and effort that has clearly gone in to developing this game is amazing and I would recommend this to anyone wanting a decent Xbox game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Its a mixed bag, 3 Jan 2011
By 
MrE (E Midlands, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bioshock - Classics Edition (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Its a good game but i found it a bit boring after a while, the fun goes out of it after a few hours so still not completed it and probably never will. Can't fault the game for the quality and the length and depth of it..just not my cup of tea
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Delivered, 18 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bioshock - Classics Edition (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
The package was just as it described and the disk runs smoothly!
I'm happy with my purchase it's a great game. :P
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good price for a good game, 5 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bioshock - Classics Edition (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Great game! Can't wait to play the 2nd and 3nd one! Took a bit long to get to me but it was worth the wait.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant game, definitely a classic, 1 May 2012
By 
N. Carter "Nick" (Bristol) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bioshock - Classics Edition (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Would recommend this game to anyone who has any real interest in gaming. It's gameplay is fun, it's story is brilliant, the world and its inhabitants are great. 5 stars
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Just sheer brilliance, 26 April 2010
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Bioshock - Classics Edition (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
I love this game, I love the sequel..... I am on pins waiting for Bioshock 3. The most enjoyable and addictive game series I have ever played. The setting, the story, the weapons and the gameplay are awesome. This series has the potential to go on for a very long time. Buy it, play it, love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xaf817564)

This product

Bioshock - Classics Edition (Xbox 360)
Bioshock - Classics Edition (Xbox 360) by Take 2 Interactive (Xbox 360)
17.25
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews