Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Thoughtful compilation in the series - even if one or two are mastered from vinyl
Ever since volume 1 (released by Family Recordings) this series has always been one of the more thoughtful compilation projects out there, rather than chucking every one-hit wonder pop 12" from the decade onto CD.

Volumes 1 and 2 in particular were a nicely eclectic mix, including some rarities and unexpected inclusions (which you'd often forgotten how good...
Published on 25 Sep 2009 by M. B. Wilson

versus
3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good Fun But...
Interestingly the earlier bits of electro-pop (Human League, Simple Minds) are much more interesting and have lasted better then some of the latter (FGTH for example!). Why they have included some tracks, for example the Cure track on here, is beyond me as there is hardly a shortage of classy 80's electro pop to choose from. The one thing this series proves, more than...
Published on 6 Nov 2009 by Christopher Hunter


Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Thoughtful compilation in the series - even if one or two are mastered from vinyl, 25 Sep 2009
By 
M. B. Wilson "crushtrash" (Bristol) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 12"80s Electro:pop (Audio CD)
Ever since volume 1 (released by Family Recordings) this series has always been one of the more thoughtful compilation projects out there, rather than chucking every one-hit wonder pop 12" from the decade onto CD.

Volumes 1 and 2 in particular were a nicely eclectic mix, including some rarities and unexpected inclusions (which you'd often forgotten how good they were). Volumes 1 and 2 also had the odd tracklisting error, or in one case, the track jumped in mastering (Aztec Camera) and was also not the mix listed (but a much rarer one).

This volume is again superbly focussed and compiled, even if some initial circulated tracklistings were completey wrong. We get a disc of classics, a breakbeat influenced disc and a disc that crosses electronic and indie/funk genres (is "Wheel Me Out" really electro-pop?). So generally top marks to the compiler, as this concept works really well.

However as with previous volumes there are some minor issues, the aforementioned track-time errors ("White Horse" is listed as a US Edit, but is only 3.50, not 5.50, and "Wheel Me Out" also suffers from a duration typo). Then there is the hint of mastering the odd track from vinyl. I guess there was no way around this, and the sources are clean/sympathetically-mastered, so it's still great to have Associates' "Club Country" original 12" on CD for the first time (I think) even with the odd quiet pop. The vast majority are from masters/digital sources ofcourse, so don't qorry!

Highlights also includes the rarer '2nd' 12" remix of "Close To The Edit" (does not feature any Prodigy-sampled "Hey Hey"s), an unusual choice, "Pleasure Boys" Dance Mix (for those who were rightly peeved it was missed off "The Anvil" reissue) and "Einstein A Go-Go 12"" (again, omitted from the bonuses on "From The Tea Rooms Of Mars..." 2005 reissue). Class acts aplenty across quite a diverse spectrum on this set, and really great sequencing/balancing of the songs.

If you are buying one 80s compilation set this year, then this is definitely the one to choose (4.5 stars really)!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the strongest compilations from this series..., 10 Feb 2012
By 
BD "bigdave2020" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 12"80s Electro:pop (Audio CD)
I make no apology for wearing the rose tinted specs when writing this review, after all I was probably wearing them when I decided to buy it! I own a few of these 12" 80's collections now and whilst some can I admit be a bit hit or miss, this Electro Pop edition is a good solid addition to the series.

For me the series of 12" 80's era CD box sets highlight just what a rich tapestry of output this period had for better or worse. Dealing with the track listing issue, I won't be doing a track by track analysis as I reckon if you are looking at the items page, the track listing, and mine and other reviews for this album, you will already know if this album is what you want, and if you know or like the tracks or not.

The albums in the 12" series seem to average between 30-40 tracks, so back in the day (let alone now at collectors' fairs) to buy all of the tracks included here would cost at least a 100 or more by my own reckoning. You can now buy a collection like this for around tenth of that price. So, if you buy any of these compilations and you have only a few that you like, or get hold of a rare old favourite that is totally unavailable by any other means, you are quid's in and so these collections represent excellent value. For me the ultimate compliment to this series, are the other pale imitators that have been subsequently released by other labels, in a bid to cash in on the success and quality of the 12" series of albums.

Ignore the critics, these albums represent outstanding value for money, and so I can accept the odd duffer, and for those of us who where around at the time that owned and lost these rare treasures from an increasingly appreciated era, didn't have the funds to buy them at the time, or are someone that wishes they were around at the time, the 12" series of CD's represent an outstanding opportunity to acquire a collection of quality tracks that realistically, would be otherwise virtually impossible to achieve.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic 80s Pop, 19 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 12"80s Electro:pop (Audio CD)
It's a great collection with a few mixes I was not familiar with. It is also one of the only compilation's that features the original 12" Mix of Hard Times / Love Action by the Human League. To be honest I would have bought this CD just for that track.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Your No 1 choice for that 80's party, 23 Nov 2009
By 
F. Lewis (Oslo Norway) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 12"80s Electro:pop (Audio CD)
Not only that but your no 1 choice for any party that is choosy about it's music. Very varied compilation, the mixes are great and the sound quality is superb, no tape-hiss, just clean 80's synth sounds. I'd forgotten about the good 80's music! Shame on me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars electro pop at the top, 7 Nov 2009
By 
Patrick Pearson "pp" (mk uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 12"80s Electro:pop (Audio CD)
well done,3 discs of pure magic mixtures ,from hip hop beginnings to remade but reconisably eighties pure electro pop classics...clearer and crisper than i remember them.highly rated but beware !you may need to buy two copies,one for the car ,one for the house.more japan,heaven 17,tin tin duffy and is there any other mixes of the fantastic homosapien by pete shelly?i felt like a small excited child when the package was delivered and was not dissapointed on hearing this collection.thankyou.more of the same...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good Fun But..., 6 Nov 2009
By 
Christopher Hunter "cjhunter2001uk" (Farnham UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 12"80s Electro:pop (Audio CD)
Interestingly the earlier bits of electro-pop (Human League, Simple Minds) are much more interesting and have lasted better then some of the latter (FGTH for example!). Why they have included some tracks, for example the Cure track on here, is beyond me as there is hardly a shortage of classy 80's electro pop to choose from. The one thing this series proves, more than anything else, is that the 12" format could be the biggest blessing or worst curse to a track depending on who got to work on it and what the purpose of the format was. The 'Talk Talk' 12" included just wrecks the track. 'Love Action' by the Human League is very good as the band have actually thought about what they are doing and did something imaginative with the 'B' side.

The 'street sounds' stuff is OK but just sounds like the rip off most of it was and really has dated badly. All in all a mixed bag and to a large extent a missed opportunity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Attention...., 25 Sep 2009
By 
Antonio Manuel Araujo "Santana" (Porto, Portugal) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 12"80s Electro:pop (Audio CD)
Attention since the actual size of the tracks is not what's listed on the reviews. On the back of the CD or inlay.

track 10, on CD 3 white horse - real time is 3.55, not the 12 inch. (Two minutes shorter!!!!!!!!!!)
track 11, on cd 3 - wheel me out is just 7.03 (30 secnds shorter!!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars best collection by far...., 17 Oct 2009
By 
David Tiberi "Anthony999" (Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 12"80s Electro:pop (Audio CD)
I have a few of the other 12' 80s compilations by this company, and I must say that this is the BEST one they have put out...bar none!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unusual Track Choices, 13 Sep 2009
By 
David Crane "Spongmonkeys" (Bedford, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 12"80s Electro:pop (Audio CD)
recommended as there's some exceptionally rare to CD tracks on here - probably not available elsewhere, so top marks for the compilers - except for one glaring error............
The track by Trio is just called "Da Da Da" - not all that other rubbish that someone's included - I should know, I have the original 7 and 12 inch singles.
Still apart from this stupidity, a great compilation so well worth the price for 3 discs of 80's 12 inchers...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

12"80s Electro:pop
12"80s Electro:pop by Various Artists (Audio CD - 2009)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews