Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
22
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£7.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 20 June 2010
Worth the purchase for House of Flying Daggers, let alone tracks like Nu Wu...loving it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 March 2011
The Chef cooks up another tastey Album, this time its a sequel to his 1995 classic "Only Built For Cuban Linx", but you already knew that.

Rather than the RZA produce this from start to finish, he recruites alot of producers to make this album [including the RZA, Alchemist, Dr.Dre, Pete Rock, Scram Jones, the late J Dilla and new comers BT] Now one would fear over this, would it sound like Part 1? Wil it flow together like Part 1 did?
But he done it, this disc is a worthy follow up to Cuban Linx and holds the mafioso/coke rap style of the first.

For your "Ice Cream" we get "New Wu", for your "Guilletine Swords" we get "House Of The Flying Daggers", for your "Rainy Days" we get "Cold Outside" and for your "Criminology" we get "Penitentiary" for Rae n Ghost to throw verses at each other and as you can see from the titles he really does make this a proper follow up.

Other highlights are Ghostface Killahs dirty and quite funny "Gihad" verse, "Ason Jones" a rememberance of the late ODB, the coked up "Pyrex Vision" beat, RZAs return to form on "Black Mozarts" production, but in all honestly i loved all tracks.

I cant recommend this enough. Also look out for Raekwons Shaolin Vs Wu-tang coming March 2011!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 January 2010
one of the best rap cds in long time !
good follow up from the first album
recommended too everyone who listens too good rap
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 October 2009
Chef is back with a stand up performance on this sequel to a classic album. OB4CL2 is a real important album for hip hop and it meet up to all my expectations. Keep making great music Rae!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 September 2009
First thing I have to say is that I am by no means a big Wu-Tang Clan fan. I have no full albums by either the group or any of the individual solo efforts. The exception to this is 1995s `Only Built 4 Cuban Linx', which I only downloaded recently after learning it was similar in sound and style to NaS and Mobb Deep's early albums. Indeed from what I read it was seminal in influencing albums such as `It Was Written', `Hell On Earth' and even `Reasonable Doubt' (all among my favourite albums!). OB4CL has some great songs - `Knuckleheadz', `Criminology' `Verbal Intercouse' and `Heaven & Hell' are classics. But personally the rest of the album didn't compare to `Infamy' or `Hell On Earth'.

14 years later Raekwon returns with `Only Built 4 Cuban Linx II' - in my opinion an album that at least is on a par with its predecessor if not in fact surpassing it. The album starts exactly where OB4CL left off and from that point onwards there is nearly not one misplaced step. In fact almost ever song on the album is an instant classic. I guess with production from RZA, Pete Rock, The Alchemist and the late, great J Dilla it was always going to be hard to go too far wrong. Even Dr. Dre pops up with production on `Catalina' and `About Me'. Stand out tracks include `House Of Flying Daggers', `Canal Street', `Ason Jones' and `Kiss The Ring' - but to be honest there are so many its hard to pick just a few out. If I had to pick out any negative points with OB4CLII they are 1) that Rae couldn't get NaS to collaborate with a follow up to `Verbal Intercourse' (though from what I read he tried his best so that is poor form from NaS) and 2) that `Criminology `09' wasn't included on the LP. But with an album of this quality they are merely side issues.

Overall, `Only Built 4 Cuban Linx II' is not just a great Wu-Tang album or rap album it is a great album full stop. Wu-Tang fans will love this but as someone who has no particular interest in the Wu-Tang Clan I guarantee this album does not disappoint. Jay-Z recently tried to emulate his `Blueprint' album with a distinctly average `Blueprint 3'...this however is a sequel worthy of its predecessor!
11 comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 September 2009
Great Album By Raekwon Not As Good As The First Ob4cl But Definality The Best Album Relase Of 2009
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 August 2014
Utter garbage, avoid. What happened to Raekwon's flow? Now he just mumbles his way over tedious and boring beats dribbling utter fantasy rubbish about his most recent drug dealing "endeavours". Really Raekwon? Maybe you should have stuck with the Rza producing, at least then we'd have the instrumental album to enjoy eh? I threw this tat out of my car window after listening to it once.
11 comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 November 2009
Having waited about 14 yrs to the follow up to Cuban linx..the follow up is just mearly average unfortunately. Raekwon sounds as tight as ever but the production by a roster of big producers is pretty weak. Surprising as r dre,pete rock and j dilla are all normamly dope but they deliver substandard beats here..in fact pete rocks beat isnt actually new anyway,it has been recycled from one of his instrumental albums. Only Alchemists track is excellent. There are a few good tracks but they are few and far between.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 January 2012
Always wanted to get this but never got a chance to so was very pleased to get it now at such a bargain, plus delivery was prompt
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 October 2009
Raekwon has come back with another classic. This album is worth every penny, so make sure that you buy this - IT'S A MUST!!!!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)