Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Disco CD
I've been buying Disco compilations for many a year and have got to say that this album is one of the best. There are so many on the market that just recycle the same old tracks and in their 7" versions. Here is a double album of the full length versions which makes it good for the collectors. It features some hard to find tracks like `Gone Gone Gone' by Johnny Mathis and...
Published on 5 Oct 2009 by DJ

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars slightly strange selection
there are certainly some good tracks here but also quite a few (like cheryl lynn "got to be real") that have been on loads of compilations already, while almost all of the lesser known cuts (companion, double discovery etc) are just plain average and i'm not sure why they've been included on a cd entitled classic disco
Published on 15 Mar 2011 by roger barlow


Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Disco CD, 5 Oct 2009
This review is from: Disco Discharge - Classic Disco (Audio CD)
I've been buying Disco compilations for many a year and have got to say that this album is one of the best. There are so many on the market that just recycle the same old tracks and in their 7" versions. Here is a double album of the full length versions which makes it good for the collectors. It features some hard to find tracks like `Gone Gone Gone' by Johnny Mathis and `It Burns Me Up' by Change plus a re edit of the Glitter Band's `Makes You Blind.' My favourite is `Thanks For Loving Me' by Double Discovery which I've never heard before. The rest of the track listing is just as strong and if you're into classic dance music you won't go far wrong with this album. You've probably guessed by now that I love this album. Give it a go, you won't be disappointed! Looking forward to the rest in this series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well Worth Waiting For, 13 Dec 2009
This review is from: Disco Discharge - Classic Disco (Audio CD)
No complaints from the neighbours yet, but CLASSIC DISCO 2CD set has been
on my player since receiving it and the 2CD set of DISCO LADIES , also from
Demon Music Group/Harmless Records.
If you are a Disco fan and love to dance, this one will make you smile and
forget your troubles while dancing up a storm. They have done their homework
and rare extended dance tracks by Johnny Mathis (Gone Gone Gone)Cerrone ( Look
for Love)Esther Phillips (What A Difference a Day Makes) are just a start.
Throw in Dr. Buzzard's Original Savannah Band (Cherchez La Femme/Se St. Bon),
Don Ray (Got to Have Loving) and Grey & Hanks (Dancin) and Gary's Gang (Keep
on Dancin') and your set. Great job guys............keep it up and give
us more. When l travelled to San Francisco, there are "underground" dance
songs yet to be heard. Power Records had numerous ones, go digging, they
are out there somewhere.

Cheers
Don McParlan
Edmonton,Canada
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another jem, 3 Mar 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Disco Discharge - Classic Disco (Audio CD)
This is disco heaven.

Fab selection of tracks with some real disco jems.

Can't stop playing this.

A must for anybody's collection.

5 stars +

More please from this company. These are the best compilations that I have seen for a long time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars more and more good old days..., 21 Jan 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Disco Discharge - Classic Disco (Audio CD)
Disco Discharge - Classic Disco... this is the 3rd, disco discharge cd set i now have and the next one is on its way....lol. because i was born at the very start of the 60s, i was very lucky to be around when great music was being made, from 60s.70s,80s,90..this cd along with the others is just great and i can still recall what i was doing when great dance tracks like CHERYL LYNN..GOT TO BE REAL. ROSE ROYCE..DO YOUR DANCE..PETER JACQUES BAND..COUNTING ON LOVE..all hit the dance floors. GREY & HANKS..DANCIN..CERRONE..LOOK FOR LOVE.. and i dare you not to sit still when MANHATTEN TRANSFER...TWILIGHT ZONE starts to play, all the tracks are just so great to hear again and a joy, well done to the group who put this together, lets have lots more, i can think of many more and have plenty of my own.. so go get this great 2 cd set, turn the clock back to the good old days and just have fun.............enjoy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding collection, 24 Nov 2009
By 
BP (Netherlands) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Disco Discharge - Classic Disco (Audio CD)
This collection of disco and HiNRG tracks stands out compared to the usual disco compilation. A lot of tracks are a bit difficult to get on cd, like Harlow. The tracks are all the long or 12 inch versions (cruisin' the streets by the Boystown gang stretches over 13 minutes). Together with the other three double cd's in the 'Disco Discharge' serie, this collection is a pleasure (nice layout, informative notes, and a very very reasonable price). If you like disco, or if you want to know the origins of contempory dance, do yourself a favour and buy this album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 22 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A great cd, a real blast from the past. The full and extended versions make it even better. Get your flares out and get down !!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars slightly strange selection, 15 Mar 2011
This review is from: Disco Discharge - Classic Disco (Audio CD)
there are certainly some good tracks here but also quite a few (like cheryl lynn "got to be real") that have been on loads of compilations already, while almost all of the lesser known cuts (companion, double discovery etc) are just plain average and i'm not sure why they've been included on a cd entitled classic disco
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Glorious!, 31 Jan 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Once again the at Disco Discharge have delivered the goods,by mixing huge hits and hidden gems.If you love soaring strings, catchy hooks,soulful arrangements ,heartfelt vocals and uplifting music;then do purchase Disco classic and enjoy the glorious perfection of" got to be real",the incredibly funky groove of the "the glitter band",the jazzy "cherchez la femme" and many others...sampled a thousand time over.Glorious!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars ESTHER PHILLIPS, JOHNNY MATHIS? WHAT NO ETHEL MERMAN?, 26 Jun 2013
By 
This review is from: Disco Discharge - Classic Disco (Audio CD)
I have been reassessing the whole disco movement and there is a lot of great disco out there. This one is nothing but a reminder of why disco crashed and burned. The few good tracks most people already have and the rest are just plain awful music. If this is classic, I hate to hear the rest of this series. This is not `classic' it is already a race to, and scraping, the bottom.

Esther Phillips, Johnny Mathis? What no Ethel Merman? Or Andy Griffith? If memory does not fail me, I think Andy Griffith did a disco version of White Rabbit, no?

Another thing that really burns me up about this series: the sound quality is absolutely superb. This from Harmless who gave us the so-so sounding (but great) Backbeats series and the absolutely horrendous sounding (but equally great) Mixology Salsoul set. It's enough to make you believe in conspiracies.

Try any of the Backbeats series, Soul of Disco, Disco Horse Meat, Deep Disco Culture, Deep Disco and Boogie, Private Wax, Journey to Paradise, Disco Juice, Under the Influence, etc...now that is some good disco. Musical quality is everything. Avoid the minefield that this genre really is and you may have forgotten because some good stuff has spoiled us. Cripes, what have I done to myself?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars disco cd, 2 Jun 2010
By 
Ms. Karen J. Williams (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Disco Discharge - Classic Disco (Audio CD)
Not that impressed with the cd, lots of tracks previously unknown to me, great delivery time though
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Disco Discharge - Classic Disco
Disco Discharge - Classic Disco by Various Artists (Audio CD - 2009)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews