Customer Reviews


70 Reviews
5 star:
 (33)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (12)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Editors and Ellis/Hillier or Ellis/Hillier and Editors?
I think it's a bit of both. Guitars replaced with synths. It sounds very close to Depeche Mode. "Papillon" is a
sonic example of this area. "Bricks and Mortar" melody reminds me something of Joy Division. The ghost of Ian Curtis sings "You were the truth when you lied..." on "You Don't Know Love". I'm not trying to say that I'm not
happy it sounds like it...
Published on 13 Oct 2009 by M. Pisarczyk

versus
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars The words 'bitten', 'chew' and 'more' spring to mind!
Editors are a great band. While they at first seemed to be a British answer to New York's own Interpol, through their debut and followup albums, they became so much more.
And they turn out to be a band that can not only sound good through the hifi circuits, but can also deliver from front of house.
While there have been a spate of bands that have tried to...
Published on 27 Nov 2009 by slimeburger


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Editors and Ellis/Hillier or Ellis/Hillier and Editors?, 13 Oct 2009
By 
M. Pisarczyk - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I think it's a bit of both. Guitars replaced with synths. It sounds very close to Depeche Mode. "Papillon" is a
sonic example of this area. "Bricks and Mortar" melody reminds me something of Joy Division. The ghost of Ian Curtis sings "You were the truth when you lied..." on "You Don't Know Love". I'm not trying to say that I'm not
happy it sounds like it sounds. Guys did really good record here. I like it very much.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


57 of 64 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A welcome change of sound and step forward..., 17 Sep 2009
By 
A. Squires (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: In This Light And On This Evening (Audio CD)
I'll be honest - A End Has a Start left me just a little underwhelmed after loving The Back Room, as it felt like a coda to the first album ('Smokers' notwithstanding) rather than a step forward.

Having heard the majority of these new tracks live more than once now, I'm pleased to say that this time Tom Smith and his merry (ok, maybe not so merry) men have taken two steps forward in one go. Analogue type synths everywhere giving recognisable song structures a fresh new twist.

There's no substitute for seeing this band 'live', as CD never seems to quite capture that indefinable something that makes them great in that environment, but this new album will be the next best thing. You might have already heard the lead off single, Papillon. If you haven't make every effort to do so - it's one hell of a song.

No doubt the usual 'sounds like Joy Division' knockers will be out again, and fresh accusations of jumping on the retro-80's bandwagon with the new layer of sound. So what? I'm old enough to have loved Joy Divison, Gary Numan et al first time around. EVERY band sounds like someone else one way or another - just accept these as a damn fine set of songs from a band who genuinely look like they might be able to adapt and stay around for the long term, which is a rarity these days.

Buy the album, play it loud, and if you can, make every effort to see them live.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic album, maybe even better than The Back Room, 14 Jan 2010
This review is from: In This Light And On This Evening (Audio CD)
It's a bit different than the first two albums, some people can't get over that, maybe the same people that like generic indie bore material that bands churn out consistently, and U2. However, Editors decided they needed a change of direction, I agree. The Back Room is probably in the top 10 albums of the last decade, however, An End Has A Start is mediocre, some fantastic songs, but some that were basically boring.

Boring, however, is not one word that can be used to describe In This Light and on This Evening, The intensity of the opening track, and album title lets you know where we are heading, the slow-burn, the crashing drums and bass-line at the end for me makes it the perfect start to the album (also the live set) and is a bold intent of the direction Ed's have taken.
Bricks & Mortar with it's synth hook that wouldn't have been out of place in Blade Runner and the pre-release single Papillon - probably the most dance orientated song Editors have ever done. It kicks like a sleep twitch..." indeed.

Mid way through we have The Boxer which is more down-tempo than most of the preceding tracks, and one that turns into one of my favourites - just beautiful.
A future single has to be Eat Raw Meat = Blood Drool - an unrelenting beat drives the song, whilst Tom's drawling vocals make this an instant favourites.
Finally Walk The Fleet Road - An intro that sounds like it was literally taken from Terminator turns into a most beautiful and calming song after some relentless synth hooks and deep vocals, a much needed light song after 8 previous dark, unforgiving tracks - it's a great ending to the record.

Of course if you get the special editors - which I urge anyone to do so - you have five more on Cuttings II, including the fantastic The House Is Full of Noise and A Life as a Ghost (Dance F**ker Dance) and in my opinion many of these songs would have been just as welcome on the album.

Probably my favourite album of 2009, a bold move from Editors, and one which makes them in my opinion one of the best and important bands of the last ten years - frankly the Interpol / Joy Division comparisons are boring, way off the mark and plain incorrect... Give it a try, it clearly isn't for everybody, as even Tom Smith said himself, for me, those who don't like it... see you...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


34 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars In Their Own Division, 29 Sep 2009
By 
Toby Staunton "dancing mole" (Derbyshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: In This Light And On This Evening (Audio CD)
Two years ago Editors delivered on the promise of their debut album with the phenomenal `An End Has a Start'. It was filled with a combination of Joy Division inspired atmosphere and tom Smith's brand of snarling vocals. It was a triumph. Now two years on the band returns with third album `In This Night and On This Evening' and the sound has developed again. This time around Tom Smith and company have taken their old Joy Division influence, put it through the blender added a seasoning of synths and gothic harmonies and branded the result with seven big shiny new letters E D I T O R S.

So this brand new monster starts in ominous form with the title track. It's all pulsing synth and gentle piano lines. Smith's vocals are like those of a witness at a trial all monotone and almost spoken. It builds gently for almost three minutes before a menacing distorted riff kicks in with a pounding drum line that compels you to pay attention to the chaos swirling around it that eventually returns to that pulsing synth. The second track then feels open and charming in comparison. It is lead by gently rising synths accompanied by a bouncing drum line. For the first time on this track you also hear the new addition of choir like harmonies on the chorus. Again as this track progresses it seems to build towards the end.

When you reach track three you are greeted by the familiar sound first single `Papillon'. Only one thing sums this track up and it's Smith's own lyric of "It kicks like a sleep twitch". This lyric seems to conduct the song as it develops from simple synths in the first verse into the chorus with its more intense sound and simple harmonies. This is a beautifully crafted song which even though six minutes long is demanding of your attention throughout. It's a fantastic listen. To follow this then Editors have to pull another masterpiece out and they do. `You Don't Know Love' starts once again with that stripped back synth line with nice supporting bass and drum lines. The choir like harmonies are used much more obviously in this track which helps to set it apart and keep the interest. The energy of the chorus is fantastic echoing the opening lyrics of the track it will be a great crowd favourite when the band tour this October. `The Big Exit' is a really surprising track. The first thing you hear on the track is a sound like a paper shredder. Once this fades you are left with the expected drum and synth combination and Smith's echoing and mournful vocals. He uses his voice to great effect in this track sweeping from melancholy to stretched highs. The track twists and turns elegantly building and almost falling silent before building once again to a menacing crescendo lead by layered vocals repeating themselves over and over.

`The Boxer' adds a change of direction in the album. It opens with a popping lead line which is slowly absorbed into a combination of gentle piano and atmospheric vocals. It is a soft track that doesn't build to the crescendos which drive those before. `Like Treasure' starts in a clear and atmospheric mood with Smith's voice echoing gently in amongst the mix. This is followed by a track which has one of the best track titles I have read this year, `Eat Raw Meat = Blood Drool'. It is just fantastically strange. The track itself matches the name. It opens with a synth line like a broken warning siren backed by a gently bouncing bass line. Smith's lyrics are brilliant on this track with lines like "Your blood drool attracts the flies". The whole thing seems strangely communal somehow with the chorus of "I give a little to you. I give a little to him. I give a little to her." The album then closes out with `Walk the Fleet Road'. This is a softly swelling track that opens with beeps and brushes of synths. Smith's vocals echo on the verses and feel like the high pitched whisper of the wind on the choruses. The carefully placed backing vocals and hummed harmonies add a slightly desolate dimension to the track which then fades into the background and leaves you alone once more.

So at the end of it all Editors have managed to take a running jump forward. It is an album that throws off the last remnants of any Joy Division comparisons and leaves you with a distinct impression of who this band truly are. It has been beautifully crafted to maintain interest and originality throughout. They have not allowed a moment of filler into the album and kept it at a phenomenally high standard. Editors now stand apart as the truly talented artists that they are.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Give it a chance it is a big grower, 19 Oct 2009
By 
Got the album on the 12th October and had tickets to see them live on the 16th October so knew I had to play it over and over.

First impression was I liked it, after a few plays wasn't so sure, after listening to it for the 10th or so time I love it and hearing the tracks performed live just adds to it.

The new material stands up with the previous 2 albums and does sit well when intermingled in a live set.

Yes it is different and yes some of it is maybe a bit darker than usual. I applaud them for trying a new direction and as a big fan I am pleased to say I really love the new stuff.

And Papillon goes down an absolute storm live !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Suddenly it all makes sense., 15 Dec 2009
By 
Ian Truin - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I never got it before. I have often thought that I should like Editors but it never quite happened. I'd see them on coverage of the festivals and not quite connect. I just didn't get it. Now I do. This album is immediately involving and utterly likeable. It reeks of the 80's in the vocals and musically but it's of today. The Boxer is the standout track for me but the strengths of the melodies and hooks are evident throughout. I have now hastened back to "An end has a start", a brilliant album, and their solid debut "The back room". I'm hooked.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Back with a bang, 16 Oct 2009
In my opinion this can only be described as a triumphant return!

Its a departure from the Editors old stuff - but that doesn't make it any less impressive - Papillon is a great track and others on this are just as good.

A lot of bands are going down the synth path - Snow Patrols new one uses it in spades - for me this can't be a bad thing!

Loved it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Grower, 14 Oct 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I'll update this in a weeks time as I can already tell after a couple of listens that this one needs more time, but I do feel it will become my favourite Editors album over An End Has A Start and even more so over The Back Room. The first track builds in a gorgeous way, really outstanding and by the second listen i was hooked. 3rd track the single, stands out above the rest currently only because of the airplay so i've heard it maybe 40 times already including the awesome Tiesto remix which I think does something superb with the song. Check it out on here Papillon (Tiėsto Remix) There is another track on the album later on, could be track 8 which sounds awesome, maybe slightly numan or nin sounding. Great chorus hook which I could see as being the next single. Ok I'll leave that for now, but this is a great album so far, brilliant in fact, off to listen to it again and I'll update in more detail after the weekend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good one!, 25 Oct 2009
By 
Abel Israel Cruz Ayuso (Barcelona, Spain) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Not that it's a masterpiece but, after "An End has a start" where most of us, Editors followers, thought they'd turn into a much better version of Coldplay (but a Coldplay version anyway), here they go back to some of the darkest songs of "The Back Room" (Camera and Distance) and they have picked it up from there. Expect a mix of electronic and kinda krautrock tunes, including the massive hit "Papillon". This sounds retro but not old, epic but not Muse-like, Dark but not depressing... And in the second cd, don't miss "I want a Forest" a song that should've been in the main record... They do what they want and play what they want and for that, they're exciting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars editors, 18 Oct 2009
By 
M. black "barriebb3" (scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
i'l keep this review short ,editors have ditched the guitars that dominated their first two (very good) albums and embraced synths.smart move.sounds like violator era depeche mode with added new order.a new fresh sound and one of the years best albums.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

In This Light And On This Evening
In This Light And On This Evening by Editors (Audio CD - 2009)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews