Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Unusual compilation across 2 labels - but has its moments!
So why 4 stars when, as noted by the previous reviewer, this is yet another Japan compilation that doesn't include anything unusual?

In part I bought this when I heard Amazon sample of the 12" version of "Life In Tokyo", as it is not the 7.09min version listed on the sleeve (presumably meant to be to 1982 Moroder 'dance' retweak from his 1979 original mix of...
Published on 25 Aug. 2009 by M. B. Wilson

versus
1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not bad
It's ok a bit of a strange cd but I do like Japan but it does sound dated you can tell
Published 21 months ago by peter muckle


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Unusual compilation across 2 labels - but has its moments!, 25 Aug. 2009
By 
M. B. Wilson "crushtrash" (Bristol) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Collection (Audio CD)
So why 4 stars when, as noted by the previous reviewer, this is yet another Japan compilation that doesn't include anything unusual?

In part I bought this when I heard Amazon sample of the 12" version of "Life In Tokyo", as it is not the 7.09min version listed on the sleeve (presumably meant to be to 1982 Moroder 'dance' retweak from his 1979 original mix of the same length). It is the rarer slower 6.14 remix with oriental sounding keyboard stabs that replace most of the original sequencer in these other extended versions.

This 6.14 mix appeared on the recent jewel case remaster of Assemblage (albeit with last 5 seconds of fade-out hideously cut off) but not on all of the previous digipack version of the same remaster (instead its the 7.09 remix).So, if you haven't yet located this mix on CD (the chorus vocals distort slightly on all sources I've come across), this is the compilation to buy - as it even boasts the full fade-out this time round!

Aside from that tracklisting error (arguably a good thing) the timings of the 2 mixes of "All Tomorrows Parties" are swapped round, which is a very minor slip .

One of the main reasons I like this compilation is that it includes a couple of Virgin era tracks, and also the slightly quirky reverse chronology of the tracks. However I feel "Adolescent" sits a little uncomfortably after the previous smoother production, but that's down to personal taste. The choice of older album tracks makes it quite a different animal from the excellent "Assemblage" compilation, and it includes two favourites of mine, "In Vogue" and "Halloween". Sound quality indicates the tracks are taken from various recent remasters, as it sounds consistently crisp and fresh.

Artwork is basic, but informative enough, although no production/mixer credits.

So even though this is almost certainly another attempt to get even more funds out of Japan fans, this compilation is still worth investigating, particularly at its current budget price. The music is great and varied. Usually I'm a 'reissue/best of' cynic, but this selection deserves its 4 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I'm just reviewing the music, 26 Aug. 2009
By 
D. L. Wilkinson "Dean" (London,UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Collection (Audio CD)
Who would have thought that a group such as Japan could have originated from the dump know as Lewisham,Sarf London(I live there).Such a sensitive beautiful organism,given the status of new romantic leaders in the early 80's,from such a faceless rough enviroment.Even more interesting is that Richard Barbieri,Japan's keyboard player,is now a member of the great neo-prog band Porcupine Tree,who have worked with Mikael from death metal legends Opeth.Who would have guessed.

The tracks here have been released in many ways but they are all brilliant,but maybe the other compilations have a slightly better selection.
They only had five albums and they are all available cheapish,why not get them all,but don't forget the singles Life in Tokyo and European Son only available on the compilations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Forgotten Classic, 8 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Collection (MP3 Download)
I'd forgotten the beautiful vocals of David Sylvian and the haunting melodies. This album was an 80's classic and continues to inspire even today.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic, 25 Jan. 2013
By 
Andy (Lerwick, Shetland United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Collection (Audio CD)
When I was younger and better looking Japan was one of my favourite groups. The track that I particularly liked was Quiet Life. The trouble was that I could never listen to it undistubed by the wife. She always had to chip in. The CD went long ago, and later the wife followed, not sold at a car boot sale as well you understand! So I decided as a guy living alone perhaps this was the time to re-buy the CD. When I played Quite Life all the memories of an earlier era in my life came flooding back, but thankfully no little woman chipping in spoiling the listening experience this time!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of my favourite bands......., 16 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Collection (Audio CD)
The 80's were very strange and JAPAN where one of my girlfriend and mine favourite bands of the time, they are as good now as they were then, for me at any rate.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars worth a few quid !, 27 Sept. 2012
By 
Graham Spafford (newcastle under lyme Staffordshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Collection (Audio CD)
affter remembering Japan from years ago i use to like them or some of there stuff ,
i thought go on give this one a go !
im glad i did thhis cd is great all there single s and extra remixes on here really brings back how good they really where
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars 6 Out of 16 IS good!!!, 20 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Collection (Audio CD)
Japan-the collection, mmm Well i gave this CD 6 out of 16, which sounds poor, BUT if you, like me loved the "singles" then this is well worth the £4 odd i paid for it inc. free shipping!!
The C.D. starts with the 6 hit singles such as the brilliant "Ghosts" "Quiet Life" and "Visions of China". thereafter the album goes into more lesser known tracks such as adolessent sex and All tomorrows partys.
If you were a serious Japan fan buy this, if you simply enjoyed "the hits" buy this and listen with nostalga at the first 6 songs, and remember just how good the 80's music scene was to become
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great album by a really fantastic synth sound band., 7 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Collection (Audio CD)
Just had to have this album for my collection, A superb selection of their very best material. Excellent quality Cd and all the services related to this brilliant purchase. So very many huge THANKS!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Best of Japan, 31 May 2014
By 
Emmabemma (Southampton, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Collection (Audio CD)
I have been going on a real 80s binge and had to include the best of Japan and Sylvian's haunting lyrics. The 80s were big on haunting lyrics.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 27 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Collection (MP3 Download)
Old changing music,in my days at secondary school
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Collection
Buy MP3 Album£7.09
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews