Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Top 'X' rated tunes
Many people will buy this album on the strength of latest single 'Just a Little', and won't be dissapointed. This album contains three hit singles already, all of which are extremely listenable.
Liberty X have done for me what Hear'say did not - convinced me that they really are Popstars! The vocals are really good - these guys have really cool voices - and the...
Published on 28 May 2002 by Gregg Nicholson

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Shows Promise
This album starts so well with the three singles one after the other, which are all very good and improve the more you listen to them. With the sexy 'Just a little' and 'Doin it' opening the album you are lead to believe this will be the feel of the whole album but as it continues there are very few and out tracks except for the singles, undeniably better than Hearsay and...
Published on 29 May 2002


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Top 'X' rated tunes, 28 May 2002
By 
Gregg Nicholson (Norwich, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Thinking It Over (Audio CD)
Many people will buy this album on the strength of latest single 'Just a Little', and won't be dissapointed. This album contains three hit singles already, all of which are extremely listenable.
Liberty X have done for me what Hear'say did not - convinced me that they really are Popstars! The vocals are really good - these guys have really cool voices - and the productions has not been rushed.
The garage tinged influence of first single, 'Thinking It Over', is largely abandoned for the rest of the album which is mainly R'n'B.
'Got To Have Your Love' jumps out and bites you on the nose - a cover that is extremely groovy and radio friendly - a future dancefloor hit for certain. 'Holding On For You' is a beautiful ballad - one of the best I have heard in years - and the harmonies and lyrics are really sweet. There are plenty of other good songs in the mid tempo R'n'B style and the sound never gets cheesy.
I'm really pleased for Liberty X - they have proved many people wrong and this album shows that the time taken to release this collection was well spent. They are going to have long term appeal. If you are unsure of whether to buy this - don't be - BUY IT!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars EXCELLENT!!, 26 Dec 2002
This review is from: Thinking It Over (Audio CD)
1. Thinking It Over
Great track to kick off the album with. It gives you a sort of taster of what to expect from the rest of the record, with its garage beats and top harmonies! This is probably one of my favourites! 9/10
2. Just A Little
Amazing track! I knew it'd go straight to number 1 from the second i heard it. Very sexy with raunchy lyrics and vocals. You can't help but dancing along to this beat. Great come back single! 10/10
3. Doin It
This song has a sort of Spanish feel to it. Again very raunchy as you might of guessed from the title. Top vocals and great sound effects. Fairly upbeat. 8/10
4. Wanting Me Tonight
This is song is definitely one of my favourites. Its sort of a mix between RnB and garage. Much better than the Wookie Remix on the 'Just A Little' CD 2.You'll be singing the chorus in no time! 10/10
5. Got To Have Your Love
This is a cover of Manotrix's hit. It remains pretty similar to the original but its still brill! Kelli's singing is top! This is a grower as at first I couldn't really see myself singing along to it, but now im totally addicted to it. I personally think its one of the strongest songs on the album despite what some people have said. It does seem a bit out of place as the majority of the album is Rnb/Pop/Garage influenced and this is very discoteque and funky. But it gives the album a wide musical variety! 9/10
6. No Clouds
This first appeared as a b-side to the 'Thinking It Over' CD. However it has been adgusted slightly for the album release. This time round, the vocals are more clear and effective. Definitely the poppiest song on the album, but still you wont be able to get the catchy chorus out of your head. Great song to listen to first thing on a sunny Saturday morning. Kelli also has a go at MCing on this. Not bad at all. 7/10
7. Everyday
Kevin and Tony take lead vocals in this song. This has a far more mature sound to it and its again a big favourite of mine. The verses start of quite RnBish and laid back and then the chorus comes in and it brings a slight rocky feel with it. The violins in the background sound like Destiny's Child 'Survivor'. 9/10
8. Saturday
This is a great party song. You'll know the chorus in no time. This'll get you in the mood in no time. Thing I like about this one, is all the members have a go at singing. Michelle's voice is wicked! Edgy Pop/ RnB. Definite number 1 if released. 10/10
9. Holding On For You
This is the only ballad on the album and yet it isnt that slow. Its got a very Atomic Kitten 'Whole Again' feel to it. Jessica sings most, but all the members get a go. Nice tune and vocals. 8/10
10. I Got What You Want
This starts of with a classical violin intro and then it suddenly zooms into Tony singing. Very upbeat and very RnB. Great song! You'll be dancing in no time. This is personally my overall favourite! 10/10
11. Feel The Rush
This song nearlly didnt make the UK version of this album, and thank God it did!! Great rhythm and tune. Michelle singing in this is ace!! Its sort of Edgy Pop. This is also a great party track and also a definite number 1! 10/10
12. Right Here Right Now
This is a great chill out song, great choice to start closing the album. Kevin sings lead with again great vocals. RnB laid back feel to it. I wouldnt suggest releasing it but still wicked track! 8/10
13. Dream About It
This song starts off with Michelle and Kevin talking outside a club. Its suddenly goes straight into the song. The chours is similar to 'Thinking It Over' in how the girls sing a part then the boys 'reply'. Great party and pop track with wicked sound effects! 8/10
14. Never Give Up
This is an outro in which they talk about how they chose to not listen to what people said and go their own way. Its only 1m27s, but a good way to conclude a brill well thought over album!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A WICKED DEBUT ALBUM FROM THE FUNKY LIBERTY X, 28 May 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Thinking It Over (Audio CD)
Finally Liberty X have released their funky and fresh debut album which is well written and smoothly produced with a nice blend of musical styles. Liberty X have chosen to go for a mature sound which is pulled off well with some great harmonies and backing tracks. Kelly's vocals sound amazing and Kevin has one of the most distinctive male voices in pop.
Some heavyweight producers worked on this album, Pete Devereux of artful dodger fame, K-Gee and Michelle Escoffery to name a few.
The first three tracks are the first three fantastic singles that they have released, the garage influenced debut single "Thinking it over", the no 1 smash "Just a little Bit" and the funky "Doin it" There are another 11 tracks on top of that, a mixture of pop/rnb and uk garage.
Apart from the three singles, stand out tracks for me are "No clouds" a slow/mid tempo track with a nice melody for the chorus. "Holding on for you" is a beautiful ballad which features fantastic vocals and has a real feel good factor about it, "Feel the rush" is a really funky up tempo number" and "Right here right now" is a really cool garage track. All of the tracks on this album are very strong, and could be considered to be released as a single. We get to hear all members on lead vocals on this album which is always nice with a group.
The 1 disappointment for me on this album is the lack of slow songs! Theres only really the above-mentioned "Holding on for you" which really showcases their vocal talent. Apart from that the pace is pretty much mid/up tempo tunes!
It goes to show the best things come to those who wait! It's hard to believe these 5 were turned away in favour of Noel, Kym Danny, Myleene and Suzanne on the TV show popstars! But hey I'm glad they were not chosen and I bet they are now too. Now they truly are "Doin It"
Liberty X have shown that they are the TRUE winners of Popstars!!
All I can say is GIVE ME JUST A LITTLE BIT MORE!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply ooozes class, 17 Jan 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Thinking It Over (Audio CD)
Well, this album has been out for nearly a year now and, having thought it over, it's safe to say that it was definitley one of the best albums of last year. Just A Little should have won Record of The Year (twas a shame the top five had three pop idols, two covers, and a cheesy Glaswegian - but hey, we all know what song we'll be humming over the next few years). This LP has found the magic knack of getting better each time you listen to it - every song revealing something more that you hadn't noticed before. It's a classy record, by a classy band. I know that Holding on For You will always be the song that reminds me of last xmas. Lets hope that 2003 sees the release of an even bigger album, and that the much-hyped collaboration lives up to expectation. Liberty X have achieved the impossible - they have managed to rid themselves of the Pop Stars stigma - well done guys!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The X Factor, 28 Mar 2003
By 
Philip Roberts (Brighton - UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Thinking It Over (Audio CD)
After their Nemesis, Hear'say have had 2 albums, and died an embarrassing death, Liberty X are going stronger than ever, and still pulling hits from their first album...!
the turning point has to be the massive hit 'Just a little' which spun Liberty X like a whirlwind into the number one slot with an amazing song and a funky video, and there would appear to be no turning back. They have made it to the top and can be taken seriously as a pop entity with an edge.
This album has a certain demand for respect, I mean the majority of the tracks have been co-written by the band, in an age of commercially propelled 'bands' who are handed songs on a plate, and all they have to do is sing it, Liberty X deserve applause for putting pen to paper and taping into their own creative spark. And this album really does spark!
Side by side with their established hits, Thinking it over, Doin' it, got to have your love, holding on for you and of course, Just a little are tracks that could climb the chart tree. 'Feel the Rush' I think is a particular number 1 contender.
But there is more! Liberty X are a hit in the clubs, and as soon as some of the mixes of their songs are spun,, the dance floor will fill, and on this album we get to enjoy some of the remixes which will get you in the mood before a night out, or help you chill when you have come home!
Liberty X, have found the X factor. This album shines.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars classic, 31 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Thinking It Over (Audio CD)
if u like classic pop then youll love this full of good songs to move to and good sing along u can have too
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars :), 15 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Thinking It Over (Audio CD)
Brings back all the memories of my teenage years when i listen to their songs, Love having a dance to them too
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great cd and price, 19 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Thinking It Over (Audio CD)
great cd, i enjoyed listening to it , great price , service, one to add to my cd collection , great music... thanks...!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good old pop, 29 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Thinking It Over (Audio CD)
If you liked the nineties, you'll enjoy this hurly naughties vibes with its simplicity... It was good to hear those good old pop vibes...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Just how I remembered them :), 17 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Thinking It Over (Audio CD)
Great to hear the tunes again. Perfect for a summers eve or when getting ready for a night out. Great :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Thinking It Over
Thinking It Over by Liberty X
Buy MP3 Album7.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews